Preview Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 30th March, 4:35PM AEDT

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Bombers

Votes: 26 32.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 67.1%

Currently, Long is nowhere near good enough a footballer to get away with that crap. Needs to focus on his footy.

He let his team mates down. All that hard work to get a shot on goal and the reversal.

It was a 12 point play.
To be fair the reversed free was soft as ****. The kid has talent and x factor... we need that! Shouldn't be dropped based on that.

The umpire should have got a week not long.

Considering the ongoing free kick deficit against us we don’t need to give the umps any more excuses to free kick us. Nothing wrong with aggression, but it must be well directed.

The possible goal taken off Stuv was very costly. He’ll be back soon, I imagine.

Disappointed for Long but i like the ins and if the reason he was likely dropped was for his undisciplined acts then i get it. I like the campaigner he brings but ill like it even more when he can control it.

Not sure why so many upset about Clarke. He's the new Acres on this board honestly. Second year player who played okay in the JLT and last week in the VFL. Hardly banging down the door. He's gonna get more midfield minutes in the VFL anyway and he'll play in the 1's eventually. He's probably one of the last to miss out. More concerned with Coffield who doesn't look anywhere near close to getting picked.

No melting here - I'm happy with that side. Sincs/Sav lucky to stay in for Clark and Joyce stiff; but overall it's a good side and we're giving ourselves every chance to win.

Still have 3 players < 10 games and Marshall barely over that, it's not like we're throwing away development to chase a cheap win.
Just realised Battle is still under 10 games. Smokey for the Rising Star?

Are our supporters the only ones that don’t except players from opposing clubs ? Brown not liked Kent not liked Steele took 2 years to be excepted by BF posters just except the side & stop whinging all the time.

Steele became instantly more likeable when we found out how many best mates he had that were certainties to follow him to the Saints.

Yeah. I had Joyce & Pierce missing for Brown & Marshall. I had Clark coming in, but Acres is okay too. Looking forward to seeing how he goes.

Overall I'm happy with the changes. It's a strong side.

Looked a bit fatigued to me George.

Viewing at probable’s vs possible’s match simulation today George Savage , Kent & Sinclair need a big one.
pressure is coming lots of pressure for spots.
Steven looked lot better this week .

Stronger, fitter (both Long and Pierce were underdone), more balanced team.

We weren't going too far with the team we had out there last week, but this is a team that will give us more of a chance against more sides.

Just swapping Roma for Pierce is a big upgrade.

Agree with the Long omission. Should have been dropped for that 12 point turnaround that cost us all the momentum.

Marshall for Pierce a no brainer.

Interesting where Acres plays. Hope it is forward, will stretch the Essendon defence.

It just amazes me that we have a bloke with the amount of talent that Hunter as and we don't play him because he isn't ready but we are happy to play blokes like Dunstan and Savage who aren't AFL standard.

Show a bit of backbone St.Kilda.

Sav has played 143 games and was two kicks away from a flag in 2012 (in the best side of modern AFL) but he's not AFL standard? I know the last couple of years he's been a fair way off the standard of his 2015-2016; but give me a spell.

Disappointed for Long but i like the ins and if the reason he was likely dropped was for his undisciplined acts then i get it. I like the campaigner he brings but ill like it even more when he can control it.

Not sure why so many upset about Clarke. He's the new Acres on this board honestly. Second year player who played okay in the JLT and last week in the VFL. Hardly banging down the door. He's gonna get more midfield minutes in the VFL anyway and he'll play in the 1's eventually. He's probably one of the last to miss out. More concerned with Coffield who doesn't look anywhere near close to getting picked.
It's pretty simple mate. He is very talented and we want him to play games so in the future we have elite players running around instead of plodders.

Agree with the Long omission. Should have been dropped for that 12 point turnaround that cost us all the momentum.

Marshall for Pierce a no brainer.

Interesting where Acres plays. Hope it is forward, will stretch the Essendon defence.
I’m not convinced like other that long was dropped for discipline. I think it’s to make the forward line slightly taller. Expecting acres to play mostly there

Sav has played 143 games and was two kicks away from a flag in 2012 (in the best side of modern AFL) but he's not AFL standard? I know the last couple of years he's been a fair way off the standard of his 2015-2016; but give me a spell.
He is a one trick pony and isn't even elite at that one trick.

I think they also want Long to add midfield play to his bow, but he needs to hone that in the reserves.

Nah, he isn't our best user of the ball so I'd be more inclined having Savage, Webster or Battle clearing it out rather than having him be responsible for exit out of D50. Gears is an endurance king, our best endurance runner at the club, so having him through the middle I reckon is a good call.
Perhaps its a bit like the game against Hawks last year where he put his hand up to do the tag on Smith. How about a run with role on Shiels?

I'll tell you what though - for all the talk about the Bombers being finalists - that lineup is a bit underwhelming.

I like the rumours that are swirling about a "new game plan" at Essendon and that Whoosher has lost the players. Lets hope they are a bit like us at the start of last season.

I suspect I'll be disillusioned but I think this is seriously winnable

Free kick was soft. Common sense says he shouldn't have put himself in that position.

Let your footy do the talking.
Maybe he shouldn't.. but I want players with a bit of mongrel. We need to develop him as he has talent... it's about the long game IMO.
Dropping him is way to harsh and hurts us. Don't like it.

Maybe he shouldn't.. but I want players with a bit of mongrel. We need to develop him as he has talent... it's about the long game IMO.
Dropping him is way to harsh and hurts us. Don't like it.

Mongrel? Whaif we lost the game. How does mongrel help and I bet not one opposition players is going to think long may get me when they go for the ball. I want smart players