Preview Round 2, 2019: Essendon v St.Kilda - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 30th March, 4:35PM AEDT

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Bombers

Votes: 26 32.9%
  • Saints

Votes: 53 67.1%

Our midfield looks pretty slow against their’s however we should flog them in contested possessions.

Their forward line is extremely small. I wouldn’t be surprised to see either Wilkie or Battle spend a bit of time forward especially if Bruce rucks & Marshall is resting on the bench.

GOAT makes us a 12-15 goal better team. Saints by 130+

Hard to complain about any selection.

I rate Marshall personally and think he has big potential so great to see him get a crack before Billy is fit.

Acres is the GOAT: point of difference player in our midfield that hopefully has put his injuries behind him and is ready to play like he started last year.

Brown for Joyce is a no-brainer. Think Joyce has a big future with us but he has to learn how to not give away free kicks. That'll take awhile for someone just learning the game, he can learn to use his body at Sandy and be ready to come back in when the chance arises.

I'm quietly confident going into this one.

Wish Hunter was out there but he needs to absolutely demand a spot with at least 1 dominating display in the 2s.

Currently, Long is nowhere near good enough a footballer to get away with that crap. Needs to focus on his footy.

He let his team mates down. All that hard work to get a shot on goal and the reversal.

It was a 12 point play.
Yeah its was interesting to watch Parker in the little melee after he chased down a few GCS players in the forward pocket. Its was very instructive that he didn't even enter into the push and shove - nice to know he has that control despite his aggressive attack on the man with the ball.

I'd be showing Long that clip a few times to reinforce that its attack on the man with the ball that counts not the man.

I’m not convinced like other that long was dropped for discipline. I think it’s to make the forward line slightly taller. Expecting acres to play mostly there
Probably not, but deserved it on that alone IMHO

Mongrel? Whaif we lost the game. How does mongrel help and I bet not one opposition players is going to think long may get me when they go for the ball. I want smart players
You are joking right? You don't need players with a bit of mongrel? Ok

Can’t appease everyone.

I’m happy wth the changes, sends a clear message around standards. Long although stiff did make some dumb decisions that cost us a bit of momentum. From memory Steven has a chance to put us 3 goals up and coasting, Long gives away that free and Gold Coast go up the other end and score bringing it back to a 1 goal game.

Joyce stiff to miss out but Brown looked great in JLT and is in great shape and will provide more leadership. He also raises the overall handsomeness of the team.

Pierce didn’t deserve another go with Marshall worthy of a crack.

Would like to see Clark in but really if I got my way with who played the team would be unbalanced as ****.

Has jack Steven got even the slightest mongrel in him? The answer is no. What if we lost the game. How does that incident help. It only hurts. Doesn’t scare anyone. They probably clapped when the decision was reversed

Mongrel? Whaif we lost the game. How does mongrel help and I bet not one opposition players is going to think long may get me when they go for the ball. I want smart players
Yep Long played dumb footy on the weekend and honestly was surprised he even got selected; considering Kent, Parker and Lonie all showed far more in the JLT and I didn't expect us play that many small forwards (plus Billings, Gresham and even Stuv playing heaps of time down there)

Think he's going to be a prodigious forward but not enough output as of yet to make up for that lack of discipline on the field; almost lost us the game multiple times through idiocy

Shame about Long but I think it’s a good preemptive move.

The 12 point swing came really close to losing us the game. Better to nip that behaviour in the bud before it actually does cost us a game.

He’ll come back firing but more sensible.

For mongrel, see Matty Parker putting 3 Gold Coast players on their arse fairly and forcing a stoppage. Much smarter use of aggression.

I love Ben Long and his aggression, but I prefer him running at defenders and hitting them hard in a pressure sense more than the off ball stuff.

Sound changes this week credence to Richo and the selection committee. I love Longs attitude and attack on the ball but can understand the club wanting to set standards regarding his reversed free. Marshall & Brown are obvious changes. Lets hope Marshall really takes off and makes the ruck his position to keep. Acres versatility will be useful forward and in the centre.

Prediction Saints win by 32 poins.

Has jack Steven got even the slightest mongrel in him? The answer is no. What if we lost the game. How does that incident help. It only hurts. Doesn’t scare anyone. They probably clapped when the decision was reversed
I'm not condoning what he done.. allthough I think the free kick reversal was soft. If it's the reason he was dropped it's silly and harsh IMO. I want to see Long play as he is one of our talented players.
Moving on.

Nah, he isn't our best user of the ball so I'd be more inclined having Savage, Webster or Battle clearing it out rather than having him be responsible for exit out of D50. Gears is an endurance king, our best endurance runner at the club, so having him through the middle I reckon is a good call.
Played a fantastic game tagging Isaac Smith on the wing late last year. Do the Dons have an equivalent player he could be going to?

Let's put some faith in the kid and give him a crack? Several kids from other sides made an impact in rd1. He doesn't need to have 30 in if he comes in.. just show some signs and have an impact which he will do.
He played 15 games last year. We have put faith in him. We need to put out the side that has the best chance of winning and if he isn't in it then he needs to force his way in through good performance in the seconds.

Played a fantastic game tagging Isaac Smith on the wing late last year. Do the Dons have an equivalent player he could be going to?
Would love him to play a negating role on Merrett, Shiel or Heppell. I think he can do it. Would be good against Shiel especially, rough him up a bit, show him why he should've come to us :moustache:

Happy enough with the changes especially Roma. I would however have liked to have seen Joyce given another run, I thought he was very good and no harm in running Brown around in the 2's. Hope the loss of Long doesn't hurt our pressure game. You can't be dropping players each week because of umpire interpretations, you'll wreck their heads.