Preview Rnd 4 - Carlton v GC Sunday 14th April 2.40PM @ Metricon Stadium - Final Team - Post #1332

• Thread starter Thread starter Wickzki

It’s funny you know Chunky. You’re always looking for snags and pitfalls. Your definitely not someone who I’d like to play footy with.
Insightful and thought provoking - nice one mate. If you can explain what 'snags and pitfalls' are and how it relates to playing footy with me that'd sweet.

Apologies too I posted the wrong link. Give it a read (if you have the attention span).

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...f-2020-23-5-18.1109015/page-247#post-60227092

Plenty of positives in my current view of the club, in fact mostly positive.

GC 2-1 (stiff not to 3-0) and looking pretty sharp, Blues 0-3 playing away against the Suns, no reason to fear the worst though eh.

Insightful and thought provoking - nice one mate. If you can explain what 'snags and pitfalls' are and how it relates to playing footy with me that'd sweet.

Apologies too I posted the wrong link. Give it a read (if you have the attention span).

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...f-2020-23-5-18.1109015/page-247#post-60227092

Plenty of positives in my current view of the club, in fact mostly positive.

GC 2-1 (stiff not to 3-0) and looking pretty sharp, Blues 0-3 playing away against the Suns, no reason to fear the worst though eh.
See first rule of footy. Never criticise your teammates.

A: That's not the first rule of footy
B: How can one improve without constructive criticism
C: They're not really my teammates are they
D: Blind optimism and faith can be dangerous.
E: Go Blues.

With the list we got we should be all over the Suns....

We do have some excellent drafts over each year since 2015....

a lot of them are underachieving........why?
why do we consistently show no mongrel...no fight....is this not the Blues way? have we officially become a charity ??

Bolton is of a similar Mould to Barker ......very mellow,very polite...would make good politicians
It is new territory to genuinely rebuild for CFC...and early indications are its going to be a long road...there is no guarantee
For suns game we should restack midfield,Walsh,Cripps,Ed,Murph,Samo......number one is midfield
Bolts dabbling with various switches of players with exception of rediscovery of Jones has been a failure we need Ed in middle on the ball for 4 quarters

Simmo did a great impersonation of a battering ram after being decked earlier on in the game....most unlike him to unleash the cannonball

A: That's not the first rule of footy
B: How can one improve without constructive criticism
C: They're not really my teammates are they
D: Blind optimism and faith can be dangerous.
E: Go Blues.
I can tell from your viewing audience which demographic you’re aiming for. I look forward to reading your constructive commentary in the future. Go Blues!

Gold Coast always start of the season in a blaze of glory (they always thrash us early in the season, then we get them back next time around).

They're playing with youthful exuberance at present and a stick it up everyone attitude... something we should be looking at.. the only thing is that everyone in the media hasn't been sticking it up us.... so Bolton has to inspire this group to actually want to succeed without needing external assistance.

I can tell from your viewing audience which demographic you’re aiming for. I look forward to reading your constructive commentary in the future. Go Blues!
Thanks for the assumption that I'm aiming for a particular audience but you have completely missed the mark. Happy to engage with anyone and everyone given the opportunity of a good discussion or debate.

Enjoy your Sunday evening.

Just on Bolts, did anyone else think there was something very weird about his presser after the game yesterday? To me he was like a man who has run out of answers.
N.a. was fine. Bette than his normal one o thought. Actually answered questions without it all being repeated cliches

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

It’s ideal that GCS performing so well and go in firm favourites next week, last thing we need is our boys going in half cocked thinking this is a supposedly certain win. We can win but it will be a big challenge.

Be something really wrong if a side 0-3 ever went in half cocked

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Good point. It seemed a lot different from his previous pressers. Maybe a good thing.
I think its good. He is getting past the Mr nice guy only mode into being sick of stupid questions and also of the time it takes for his players to gel.
And demonstrating his deep understanding of the game. Which is really wasted on the kids with microphones and notepads.

Thanks for the assumption that I'm aiming for a particular audience but you have completely missed the mark. Happy to engage with anyone and everyone given the opportunity of a good discussion or debate.

Enjoy your Sunday evening.
In what way have I missed the mark? You’re the kind of guy who offers feint praise and then smacks the conditional however in the sentence. It makes you appeal to those looking for hope and those who thrive on despair. You’ve got the whole demographic covered.

No, he should get automatic selection because he's the heart and soul of the club. Willo had achieved jack all to replace him.

And I can't agree with you on that. Consistently through our dark years pre-Judd, he was one of the very few players who'd try to inspire the team not just through words, but selfless acts of bravery which he is known for. He's one of the most underrated players in the competition and has been a rock for us, despite his small frame. Where have you been in the last several years? Every one of those years he's been a consistent, reliable performer. But suddenly after a couple of games he's cactus?

Do you even watch him play? I know he's not in the best form right now, but neither are 80% of our team. It's not like he's the weakest link. Dropping him would mean dropping his experience, leadership and bravery - it's a stupid move. He'll prove you wrong, like he usually does to the two or three people who like to bitch about him every year around this time.

And this is part of the reason why we can’t win games, I love Simmons’s contributions over the years just as much as anyone, same as I love Murphy’s or Ed etc etc.
But this damn ****ing mentality of players deserving games because of what they have given to the club in the past is why we are a below mediocre team and continue to lose.

The only criteria to whether a player gets a game is how they performed in the couple previous games.
You want to be the best club in the league then you start adopting a ruthless mentality, don’t let any player get comfortable with there spot so that they are driven each and every game to play their best to keep their spot.

Unfortunately, our Current win/loss records reflects the comfortableness that both senior players and supporters have with ‘honourable losses’.

In what way have I missed the mark? You’re the kind of guy who offers feint praise and then smacks the conditional however in the sentence. It makes you appeal to those looking for hope and those who thrive on despair. You’ve got the who demographic covered.
So am I aiming for a particular audience and demographic or have I got all demographics covered? Stop contradicting yourself.

If it's a post that involves some form of dissecting then yes there will be a positive followed by what you would call a negative - it creates discussion and allows me and other to dissect all angles properly. If it's reactionary to a positive result for the Blues (like a win), chances are it will be positive. If it's a reaction to a negative result for the Blues (like GC just winning), chances are my post will be a bit negative. All sounds pretty reasonable don't you think?

So am I aiming for a particular audience and demographic or have I got all demographics covered? Stop contradicting yourself.

If it's a post that involves some form of dissecting then yes there will be a positive followed by what you would call a negative - it creates discussion and allows me and other to dissect all angles properly. If it's reactionary to a positive result for the Blues (like a win), chances are it will be positive. If it's a reaction to a negative result for the Blues (like GC just winning), chances are my post will be a bit negative. All sounds pretty reasonable don't you think?
It’s all fine Chunky. I know where you’re coming from. It’s cool. Just know your role.

GC are not a great contested ball side but skilled on the spread
Witts is a worry-We need phillips back to nullify the tap outs.
Kennedy to come in to allow SPS and Fish to play outside.
Sexton needs to be tagged.