Preview Rnd 4 - Carlton v GC Sunday 14th April 2.40PM @ Metricon Stadium - Final Team - Post #1332

• Thread starter Thread starter Wickzki

This is an important game for us to put some confidence back in the team and supporters.

Our forward pressure must improve and our run from defensive needs to improve.

I’m concern with GC fast forward line. The GC played well of turnovers.

Kennedy and JSOS will most likely come in however these players are slow.

Instresting selections for bolts this week who we bring in.

Maybe someone like Daisy in the forward like could help out.

I really hope Kennedy plays. Cripps needs some help.
It is not just helping Cripps it is freeing up fish and sps to spread. We have been smashed in uncontested by 100 possessions 2 weeks in a row. I hope O'brien and Marchbank blew out the cob webs and can have 20+ posseession games

No, he should get automatic selection because he's the heart and soul of the club. Willo had achieved jack all to replace him.

And I can't agree with you on that. Consistently through our dark years pre-Judd, he was one of the very few players who'd try to inspire the team not just through words, but selfless acts of bravery which he is known for. He's one of the most underrated players in the competition and has been a rock for us, despite his small frame. Where have you been in the last several years? Every one of those years he's been a consistent, reliable performer. But suddenly after a couple of games he's cactus?

Do you even watch him play? I know he's not in the best form right now, but neither are 80% of our team. It's not like he's the weakest link. Dropping him would mean dropping his experience, leadership and bravery - it's a stupid move. He'll prove you wrong, like he usually does to the two or three people who like to bitch about him every year around this time.

No, he shouldn't get an automatic start.:rolleyes:

It is not just helping Cripps it is freeing up fish and sps to spread. We have been smashed in uncontested by 100 possessions 2 weeks in a row. I hope O'brien and Marchbank blew out the cob webs and can have 20+ posseession games
And yet small margins. Which shows posessions is not such a big deal. We could have...I wont say should have because we arent quite there yet...won both. Really whats interesting is how much wasted meaningless posessions there are in a game of footy these days.
To the detriment of the game as a spectacle in my view.

Which fit players are you going to replace Dow, Fisher and Setterfield with?
Anyone who is willing to chase and pressure. Look at Gold Coast. Everyone expected them to be a basket case yet they're 3-0. We're already talking about 2nd and 3rd year players being "unfit" it not ready three games into the season??Yet we look at finding excuses to justify ordinary performances. Perfect example is Walsh 1st year player and is showing others what is required to play at this level.
Our list is severley unbalanced. We had options to bring in a mature mid to assist Crippa via the rookie draft and we selected Cotrell and Gibbons. Why? So many KPP and not enough mature midfielders.

Too many variables. I’ve said it along, games into younger players and development.

Wins is not the gauge for success this year. That’s media stuff
No , and what happens next year when the same happens And Cripps contract is due for renewal.....destination club my arse.

With the list we got we should be all over the Suns....

We do have some excellent drafts over each year since 2015....

a lot of them are underachieving........why?
why do we consistently show no mongrel...no fight....is this not the Blues way? have we officially become a charity ??

Bolton is of a similar Mould to Barker ......very mellow,very polite...would make good politicians
It is new territory to genuinely rebuild for CFC...and early indications are its going to be a long road...there is no guarantee
For suns game we should restack midfield,Walsh,Cripps,Ed,Murph,Samo......number one is midfield
Bolts dabbling with various switches of players with exception of rediscovery of Jones has been a failure we need Ed in middle on the ball for 4 quarters

I can partially answer the draft kids question.

A few have battled chronic injury problems (Williamson and Macreadie) which stunts the immediate result, Weitering, McKay and Charlie have shown a lot but they're in the 4th year.

We expect the world from Dow, LOB, SPS, Fisher and Walsh/Stocker that may be ultimately unrealistic for today. SPS and Fish will be fine but not every pick works.

Good on Gold Coast for winning today, but let's be honest, the dog's were putrid for 3 and a half quarters. Played 20 min of footy and nearly won. We match up ok against them. When they've beaten us it's been on the back of Lynch who isn't there.

I don't expect victories anymore, hence I'm not as shattered as I once was after a loss. This is one id expect to win.

News Headlines.....Carlton close the doors.
Big footy posters to blame. The club now believe it's all without hope and will disband after a day spent reading BigFooty.

Nunawading had their first win in 1300 days this weekend. Why are they doing better than us?

Good on Gold Coast for winning today, but let's be honest, the dog's were putrid for 3 and a half quarters. Played 20 min of footy and nearly won. We match up ok against them. When they've beaten us it's been on the back of Lynch who isn't there.

I don't expect victories anymore, hence I'm not as shattered as I once was after a loss. This is one id expect to win.
At last some common sense. Yes of course the dogs are rubbish. At the bottom of the slope they climbed up now. Gold coast have a lot of young players around 3-5 seasons in. Mostly not as talented as our young ones I feel. But good enough against poor sides on the day.

Anyone who is willing to chase and pressure. Look at Gold Coast. Everyone expected them to be a basket case yet they're 3-0. We're already talking about 2nd and 3rd year players being "unfit" it not ready three games into the season??Yet we look at finding excuses to justify ordinary performances. Perfect example is Walsh 1st year player and is showing others what is required to play at this level.
Our list is severley unbalanced. We had options to bring in a mature mid to assist Crippa via the rookie draft and we selected Cotrell and Gibbons. Why? So many KPP and not enough mature midfielders.
Which players specifically?

Nunawading had their first win in 1300 days this weekend. Why are they doing better than us?
There really isn't much point in coming on here until at least Tuesday, up until then the usual suspects just revel in their bile.

I wonder how many "Ed's not a forward" comments we will get this week

There really isn't much point in coming on here until at least Tuesday, up until then the usual suspects just revel in their bile.

I wonder how many "Ed's not a forward" comments we will get this week

Been a really bad 24 hours. The melts and excuses to complain have reached a new level. Some really sad people and I have a heap blocked.

I fondly remember back on one 1995 weekend when my gf said to me "let me guess, Carlton won again"? I replied with a smug grin "yeah, of course".

Reckon struggling teams have more chance for an upset than perceived gettable games.

Back to the story. Only two teams beat us in 95. Sydney(11th) and St Kilda (bottom). Swans won 8 that year equaling their combined tally for the last 3 seasons! They went on to play in the GF in 96. Paul Kelly won the Brownlow - Cripps this year? and they bought some guy in named Plugger - Charlie & Gov?
Things can change quick and i believe we are getting closer to the tipping point despite yesterday's speed hump. We'll get more speed humps but feel we're now at least on the right road.

This week, same as yesterday- gettable... so i'm cautiously optimistic. McKay to kick 5. (hope Gov & Charlie play) Blues by 15.

I fondly remember back on one 1995 weekend when my gf said to me "let me guess, Carlton won again"? I replied with a smug grin "yeah, of course".

Reckon struggling teams have more chance for an upset than perceived gettable games.

Back to the story. Only two teams beat us in 95. Sydney(11th) and St Kilda (bottom). Swans won 8 that year equaling their combined tally for the last 3 seasons! They went on to play in the GF in 96. Paul Kelly won the Brownlow - Cripps this year? and they bought some guy in named Plugger - Charlie & Gov?
Things can change quick and i believe we are getting closer to the tipping point despite yesterday's speed hump. We'll get more speed humps but feel we're now at least on the right road.

This week, same as yesterday- gettable... so i'm cautiously optimistic. McKay to kick 5. (hope Gov & Charlie play) Blues by 15.
Need Cuningham as well, big upgrade on Polson or Gibbons