Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

Alastair Clarkson would be lucky to win 4 games last year with the side we put on the field. Would 5 and 35 change your mind?

I disagree. We have plenty of talent out there. Clarkson would have this group going at a lot more clicks than our current coaching group imo.

David_Teague_2018.1.jpg

I don’t think one needs to fit into the “he can’t coach” or “he can coach” camp. The answer is obviously somewhere in between.
I think it is fair and reasonable to express concern about where we are at.
We are clearly better than we were but I think that what we witnessed yesterday showed if nothing else a lack of confidence to execute basic skills.
It must be incredibly difficult with each loss, it is natural that pressure mounts.
And yes, I do fall into the category of expecting to be further along in the rebuild.
I may even be one of those middle aged ex suburban footballers, albeit I tend to enjoy scotch more than beers these days.
To this simple mind, I’d like to know how in a top heavy forward line we couldn’t find one when it mattered. Coach? Players, I’d like to know...
Still a proud blubagger and will not be microwaving my membership just yet.

I disagree. We have plenty of talent out there. Clarkson would have this group going at a lot more clicks than our current coaching group imo.
Plenty of talent that happens to be under the age of 21. Those teams don't win many football games, look at how long it took GWS to figure it out. Couple that with the injuries we had last year and Clarkson doesn't win 4 games imo.

Walsh- no first year player has ever come in and done this. Generational player. Thank god we have him. Going to be a big part of why our other young mids grow and develop

This is something at least everyone can agree on. What a young champion we are witnessing. Even after Witts clocked and gave him a nasty cork on the back he soldiers on. Who doesn’t love this kid?

In 2016 Boltons first task was fix the defence. He has done that to a large degree.

At the same time they drafted tall kp players as they take longer to develop.
Then in 2017 they started an overhaul of the midfield. This continued in 2018 and this season.

Now they need to get the forward line working. I believe the midfield will develop into one of the best in the comp over the next 3 or so years.
It will happen.

As much as people are frustrated this is the first season the team appears to have a really good list, but it's inexperienced and young. There will be lots of mistakes but I'm content with the approach of Bolts and SOS.

They are trying to build a premiership team, not a finals team. They appear to be doing this.

My only fear is the club bows to pressure and sack Bolts when the 5 year rebuild is only 3.5 years in.

Yesterday was f#%ked. But sacking the coach or telling players to "**** off" is not the answer.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon the forward line is in heaps better shape than the midfield, its just the delivery in that makes it look average. Curnow has had a very slow start but he'll be right, once he, McKay and McGovern get some continuity and play some games together could be very exciting.

By comparison, I think the midfield is still a massive worry. Still just Cripps with no help whatsoever (apologies to Walsh, looks an absolute gun 4 games in but unrealistic to think an 18 year old is gonna play like that all season). Who else do you see coming through in order for us to develop into one of the best midfields in the comp over the next 3 years?

Agree on not sacking Bolts, no point whatsoever with 1 year left to run on his contract.

this was by far the most disappointing win loss of the season so far. We are still unfortunately a rubbish football team.

For mine, the biggest driver to our crappness is a weak midfield, Walsh is making a bunch of boys look pretty B grade. The sps, dow, lob, setterfield and fish group are collectively not getting the job done yet. We have a stoppage play designed for Dow to burst out of the front of the middle, it was worked 3 times in two weeks and Dow just burns himself with his own pace, composure will come but atm its just so frustrating. Front exits from a centre bounce are the best chance to kicks a goal. Get Dow a blue and white striped apron please. Each one of these Dow clangers is at minimum a 3 point clanger.

Gold Coast were equally rubbish, the extend they went to in a effort to loose the game in the last quarter was rivalled only by Carlton's.

where is Kennnedy at?
can Kreuzer run out a full game?
Jsos in this week and get rid of one of the four pillars of bollocks. Charlie would be served well having a run around in the 2's.

i frankly would have rathered stocker than 4 key talls.

I don't think we should be blaming bolton for Gibbons being the marking target deep. I just can imagine his instructions were, "gibbo, you go deep, you other tall boys, just clear out and give him space"

Did we now? Did SOS tell you this did he or is it just your thoughts?
From our squad Levi was always going to be a depth player. We were so top heavy yesterday it was ridiculous.

Hopefully not.

The Dogs will kill us with all their gun smalls with fast hands
We need Kreuzer back badly, and we need Ed to tag Macrae as well.

I don't think we should be blaming bolton for Gibbons being the marking target deep. I just can imagine his instructions were, "gibbo, you go deep, you other tall boys, just clear out and give him space"

Yeah agree, I see Bolts copping some stick for this but its not like he would have instructed blokes to kick to Gibbons. Just a few instances where it looked like that thanks to poor/rushed/pressured deliveries into the forward line (and in one case, miscommunication or mis-read where none of the big blokes lead into the space Cripps chipped it into from a 55 meter set shot).

I said it last week, and I'll say it again, we must, MUST recruit a pure small forward at seasons end, one who is a pure forward, not sure what Luke Bruests contract status is at Hawthorn, but somebody like that would do nicely thanks.
Agree with this, or we could play Garlett there in the meantime

When you have a player consistently one out in the goal square, that is coaching is tructions. Why the hell was that person Michael Gibbons?

Inexcusable coaching
Yes and when our captain takes his time waiting outside 50 to pop it on his head it is 100% an instruction. He was doing exactly what he was told there.

Based off the last three weeks I wouldn’t be against dropping Setterfield to the VFL. All seems a bit too fast for him at the moment.
This is a tricky one as he just needs to play footy. Think he's better playing at AFL level than VFL in my opinion. He'll get better as the season progresses.

People NEED to rewatch the footage from Powells left side. The left arm was free. The player chose to hold the footy instead of protecting. Setterfield NEVER pins both arms. We need to make sure this fact is all over social media. He does NOT deserve a suspension for this.
Spot on arm was free

I reckon the forward line is in heaps better shape than the midfield, its just the delivery in that makes it look average. Curnow has had a very slow start but he'll be right, once he, McKay and McGovern get some continuity and play some games together could be very exciting.

By comparison, I think the midfield is still a massive worry. Still just Cripps with no help whatsoever (apologies to Walsh, looks an absolute gun 4 games in but unrealistic to think an 18 year old is gonna play like that all season). Who else do you see coming through in order for us to develop into one of the best midfields in the comp over the next 3 years?

Agree on not sacking Bolts, no point whatsoever with 1 year left to run on his contract.
The 3 talls need to learn to play together. Having Charlie miss a game and Casboult in for 2 changes the dynamic completely. So they have still only played 1 full game together as the lineup that will take us into the future. Need continuity with just those 3 together.

Playing Gibbons deep doesn't help either, even though he isn't the desired target he is too much of a non factor deep that his man can sag off him completely and double team one of the talls. He needs to lead up at the footy to create space and then turn and crumb with pace if the deep entry is made, same can be said for all our small forwards but it was noticeable yesterday with Gibbons.

Regarding the mids, the names are there they're just a young bunch. Cripps and Kennedy will be the brutes on the front line, Dow the explosive burst clearance player, Setterfield I believe is possibly the most purely talented mid we have but has a lot of work to do to reach that level. O'Brien and Fish to become those link up players generating run (will be a big part once we start taking it on through the middle), SPS is SPS (****ing gun). Walsh has future skip all over him. Would like to add another couple pure all around mids with good run and disposal. All in all I worry about our mids winning this season, but when we are competing, not at all.