Thought this week was about right bar one. I'd reduce Jy's numbers and increase George's. Thought Jy's best football this year was when he played high HFF.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Thought this week was about right bar one. I'd reduce Jy's numbers and increase George's. Thought Jy's best football this year was when he played high HFF.
Indeed! As brilliant as Jy was busting through tackles and winning 3 on 1 contests (and therefore winning us a clearance stat), I'm not sure it's a sustainable thing for us to rely on long term. We need to do the bread and butter work much, much better.Great analysis Themanbun and I strongly concur.
I told people our midfield was poor this week, especially throughout the 2nd and 3rd quarters, only to have people come back with "but we smashed them in the clearance numbers!" as if that proved anything.
So I'm very pleased to see you identified the issues and saw them as well.
Good work as always mate.
Great analysis Themanbun and I strongly concur.
I told people our midfield was poor this week, especially throughout the 2nd and 3rd quarters, only to have people come back with "but we smashed them in the clearance numbers!" as if that proved anything.
So I'm very pleased to see you identified the issues and saw them as well.
Good work as always mate.
Love this TMB!!!North Melbourne vs Richmond Post!!!
We got lucky
You know how after I watched the match, I posted in the autopsy thread that it wasn't that bad?
Upon review, I was wrong. The beautiful mental application and selflessness we showed last week was completely absent this week. If last week's post was all about how the selfless things allowed us to 'win' (draw) the game against a really good side. This week's post is the opposite. Even in our dominant first quarter - we gained ascendancy through individual brilliance despite poor midfield craft and function. Frankly? It's not good enough, and is a perfect example of clearance aggregates flattering us.
I'll illustrate this through a number of first quarter bounces and stoppages, then one right towards the end when the usual suspect(s) put the team above themselves.
Centre Bounce 1
This one, with the scores at 0-0, starts very promisingly, then two senior players let it fall apart.
Image 1 - the setup
Pretty standard setup here - Powell as sweeper to the left of screen, LDU in Xerri's hit zone, and Jy at the front of the stoppage.
View attachment 2320049
Image 2
The ball goes up and falls to Nankervis' side of the square. Powell begins to track his man inward smartly. As sweeper I usually prefer someone to hold their position, but there is a lot of space directly in front of the umpire where we need at least some representation. Jy has seen this space too and is very, very crafty here.
View attachment 2320050
Image 3
Jy reads this tap light years ahead of everyone else at this bounce. LDU jostles his opponent, while Jy gains a lot of separation very quickly on Taranto, who still has no clue where the tap is going.
View attachment 2320051
Image 4
And we're out. The ball has fallen to the back of our stoppage. It would have gone right into Powell's arms had he held his space as sweeper, but regardless, he does the next best thing and pushes his man through and out the other side of the stoppage.
This is where it looks so promising. The ball has fallen to where we have 3x players representing. This is the perfect opportunity to lay some blocks and work the ball out through either the mids spreading laterally or the half backers bursting up off the back of the square.
View attachment 2320052
Image 5
And this is where it starts to break down. This ball is Jy's. It has his name written all over it. He is in prime position. Yet still LDU appears intent on trying to get there first (it's not a race against your own teammate) instead of turning his mental attention to how he can start to make life easier for Jy. He can either block the Richmond player in pursuit, or he can spread laterally to be a receive option and call a half back through.
He does neither.
View attachment 2320054
Image 6
LDU continues to run in no man's land. Because he was so intent on beating Jy to that ball, probably through good intentions, he is now too close to be a receive option.
To add to this very ordinary lapse from our senior players - Caleb Danielalso does not read this well at all, and runs way too close to the Richmond player to be a decent receive option. You either block for Jy or you spread to receive. Those are the only two acceptable options for a senior player here.PLAYERCARDSTART5Caleb Daniel
- Ht
- 171cm
- Wt
- 72kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- CL
- 3star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 2star
PLAYERCARDEND
We've gone from what was effectively a 3-1 with 2 of our blokes having a clear run at the footy, to being on the cusp of losing this clearance through a holding the ball.
View attachment 2320055
Image 7
And the tackle gets laid. LDU and Daniel are still ball watching. I don't know how or why, but they are. We're cooked here through no fault but our own. Daniel positions himself where he cannot influence at all, and LDU is still 1m away screaming for a handball while not facing the play. Remember we're going backwards here, and handballing to a bloke who has to u turn is a cardinal sin.
View attachment 2320056
Image 8
I don't think people appreciate how good Jy's work is here. Our only hope out of this contest is for him to break the tackle and that's exactly what he does.
LDU still doesn't consider laying a block on the Richmond pursuer. Again, unacceptable.
View attachment 2320058
Images 9 and 10
Again...no block. I won't say anything.
Thankfully, someone who can read the play intervenes. LMac comes streaming off the half back flank for a handball receive, and pumps the ball for the clearance.
Despite our best attempts to **** that up, we somehow came away with a pretty good clearance thanks to Simpkin and McDonald.
View attachment 2320059
View attachment 2320060
Stoppage 1
This one only needs one image. Again, we got saved. A poor throw in means the ball goes straight out of bounds again.
Scott and Daniel here...no communication whatsoever. Look at that dangerous space directly behind the ruckmen, in the corridor, close to Richmond's half forward flank. If that ball falls to the back, either through tap or other means, we're cooked.
Thankfully that didn't happen and the ball went out of bounds for a reset.
View attachment 2320068
Stoppage 2
This stoppage is another example of...wtf. As you can see, it's early in the game as well. So there's no reason for us to be this lazy and switched off.
Image 1
The setup immediately after the previous one is better. Stephens and Sheezel move to cover dangerous corridor space.
View attachment 2320071
Image 2
We've got a heavily defensively weight setup (to the left of screen), our best bet is to take this out the back of the stoppage and then move inboard. Powell and Daniel will need to work hard to be able to do so, yet I'm not sure they've realised the play, and what they need to do, as you'll see when this unfolds.
View attachment 2320072
Image 3
The ball kind of falls to the feet and spits out to the defensive side. LDU has misread it, which happens. It keeps rolling leftward.
View attachment 2320073
Images 4 and 5
Powell was our out the back representation at that stoppage and it gets past him. Luckily we have Scott there who collects.
Unfortunately with LDU's misread and Powell being covered, the onus here is on Daniel first and then Jy to provide an option.
Daniel doesn't spread. He just stands there, facing backwards but not moving (not a good spot for a receive). Jy presents the best option which you'll see in the following images.
View attachment 2320076
View attachment 2320077
Image 6
Now Jy has received - Powell and Daniel REALLY need to work to get out the back of the stoppage and provide a release. Scott needs to lay a shepherd.
None of this happen.
Powell and Daniel position themselves behind two Richmond players and just simply do not work hard enough to be an option. Powell needs to work about two metres to his left. Scott just fades out of the contest.
View attachment 2320079
Image 7
Powell stamps his feet here when he is correctly not used, and as you can see, he's still not in a position for a handball receive. A bizarre misunderstanding of what's required here. Jy has to u-turn back into 3 Richmond players.
View attachment 2320081
Image 8
Not for the first time, Jy manages to do what was close to impossible. With no outlets at the back of the contest, he just breaks the tackle and u-turns. He gets a kick down the line which gets spoiled out of play.
What could have been a really clean inboard corridor/switch exit turns into a down-the-line through selfish acts and blokes not working hard enough for their mates, again.
View attachment 2320083
Image 9
And he either lets them know, or expresses confusion about them trying to pretend they were an actual option to help him out in that contest.
View attachment 2320084
Centre bounce 2
This one is actually a pretty clean exit. I like to show the good stuff we do as well. The crucial element to this is holding position as a sweeper.
Image 1:
The setup is pretty standard, although there's an absolute paddock behind the ruckmen toward Stephens' wing. Richmond will intend to run through there, and Jy should let them do it as sweeper, and trust his mates to pressure up ahead.
View attachment 2320095
Image 2
And that's where the ball goes. It's forward for us, and Richmond will have to exit out the back if they want to get this clearance.
View attachment 2320094
Images 3 and 4
Xerri, the animal, beats everyone out to to the ball. His value can't be understated here. A less savvy ruckman gets beaten out by the mids and they use their wing to exit. You'll see Jy is letting his man drift into the contest, and three Richmond players get sucked into trying to beat out Xerri. This is the bees to a honeypot stuff you normally see us doing, except this time we're backing our player in to win the footy.
View attachment 2320096
View attachment 2320097
Image 5
Something inexplicable happens - the ball somehow just shoots backward.
Thankfully we have a sweeper who held his space at the back of the contest, right?
View attachment 2320098
Image 6
Right.
Here he is, and he gets a clean receive. Parker then laid a shepherd for him, and he exits well. This is a really good example of two smart midfielders working with each other rather than playing for themselves.
View attachment 2320100
Part 2 below!
It's an interesting question and one we'll battle with for years I reckon.Love this TMB
Had be nodding and agreeing as I read all the way through.
I just couldn't bring myself to be super happy at the end of the fourth quarter on Sunday as I knew we got away with one.
One thing I said was we were going to get angry Jy in the first quarter and I am glad we did as he set up a few of our attacks.
Angry Jy is the best Jy.
As we can see through the numbers you posted around CBA attendances, we took Wardlaw out to accommodate Sheezel and more of Powell.
We also saw less of LDU and Parker.
My belief is that Parker should always be in there with X, LDU has to be by default and then George. We need to make this mix work.
Clearly the club wants Sheezel in there and Powell as well, and then Jy demands a run - don't mind the idea but is this practical? Are we setting ourselves up for success?
And here's the other question. Do we have too many midfielders in the side?
LDU hardly saw any influence in the 2nd quarter and I wonder if he was stuck at half forward. Same for Parker.
He was so influential in the middle against Brisbane and then was nowhere to be seen against Richmond.
Cant have blokes like LDU and Parker being quiet for so long.
Fingers crossed we sort this out and there is a correction on the weekend again, but the midfield unit is far from a perfect combination and we're up against a side this week who will get you in the middle or off half back. Choose your poison.
The other side of the coin is rotating more players through the midfield we seem to be running out the fourth quarter better. giantroo posted the centre bounce attendance stats and you can see the shift the past few weeks.
Looking at those 4 - George is probably 100% midfielder when he's on the ground. Otherwise he is having a spell. Clarko said post game he wasn't his best, but I think he wasn't his impactful self due to reduced minutes in the middle. He was just out of the action for too long IMO.It's an interesting question and one we'll battle with for years I reckon.
Of the blokes who've had a decent run in the guts this year, for me a top 4 has emerged (in their midfield work, not as general players) and then there's daylight between them and the rest.
Wardlaw
LDU
Jy
Parker
Jy has performed better than Parker but Parker sets us up better. I'd say Jy is probably Parker's successor in that role that Parker plays as the blocker so that buys us 3-6 years there.
Those four should, IMO, be getting the most minutes, and if any of Sheezel, Powell, Phillips miss out on midfield minutes then I'm not too fussed.
We seem to be training Powell and Sheezel as a defensive and outlet type sweeper at the back of a contest but neither of them look natural in that role.
Colby will soon demand midfield minutes (and IMO should already be) and probably FOS as well.
The elephant in the room is that for the sake of youth we are probably squeezing two mids into that top 4 mid rotation, who don't really deserve to be there on performance to date. But as you say, are we setting ourselves up for success through that? I dunno. I have more questions than answers about what the best mix is.
LDU is a gun but is also hard for other mids to play around. Some weeks he's a selfless defensive animal and then other weeks he hangs his mates out to dry so he can ball hunt. It even fluctuates within games. But I agree, he's too good to just leave out of that mix.
Love your work as always mate!
If you get a chance have a look at some of the stoppages on our half forward line early in the last quarter, the way in which Collingwood cut us to pieces and how unaccountable our midfielder and half forwards were. It was embarrassing to say the least.
Do you feel like our midfielders are far slower to react on the turnover compared to other midfielders? I feel like we are very proactive when we win around the stoppages but don't have that same intent when the ball is in the oppositions hands.
Also, on a side note, I blooooooody hate when I see Simpkin in the middle as a sweeper. He is the worst at it and far too often gets sucked into the contest and leaves us short on the defensive side. It happens in the center and around the ground stoppages. He gets caught ball watching way too much.
Alongside my man Rick the best weekly analysis you can consume. Hope all is well and I’m interested to know how we turned out contest advantage from a limited benefit to setting up our victory in the last qtr.Bit going on in the life of Themanbun at the moment. Will hopefully get to this later in the week.
Sheezel has been a bit off this year so makes sense we haven't gone hard on him in the middle. I do wonder whether he also is more likely to impact late 2nd quarter and later in the game as he has great endurance and not the greatest top line speed. Might be worth playing him Fwd/HHF or HBF for part of games then rolling him in strategically - if the game is the bag for us (ha!) we can keep him out and preserve the body a bit, whilst putting him in there when it counts and wins are available.I've previously been pretty vocal that I prefer Sheezel in the back six and setting us up moving forward on the rebound, but I thought he was very good on the ball in that 4th quarter so I'm happy to cop that I might be wrong about that one.
Exactly what we did and Jeff explains thisAlongside my man Rick the best weekly analysis you can consume. Hope all is well and I’m interested to know how we turned out contest advantage from a limited benefit to setting up our victory in the last qtr.
Felt like we used our hands more in the contest rather than dump kicking.