Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVII

Uggh.
Footage on First Crack of how defence left Toby free.
Also spoke about our non-modern game style for whoever was questioning if anyone besides BF'ers thought that.🤣 Pretty much every major media commentator has commented on it for quite some time.

And a few weeks back those media commentators were declaring us finals locks and the best defense in the comp.

They're as fickle as a fart in a hurricane.

And a few weeks back those media commentators were declaring us finals locks and the best defense in the comp.

Our defence is great because every bloody player floods back to make it cactus for any movement. That tactic inflated the statistic and creates this stupid narrative in the media that our defence has been rock solid. When you’re seeing your key forwards up in defence it’s s problem.

Agree but it’s not what we’re hearing.
They still want to keep the hope alive, in particular if the next few games Bering about soft kills (depleted Dons, ditto West Coast and patchy Roos). Whilst I don’t think any of those games are guarantees, the bs spin of “we’re back” will manifest itself if we secure 3 wins. Then Port up there, followed by pies and Brisbane will see us crash back down to earth:

The list doesn’t need a full blown rebuild.

There’s a young enough core that should allow a quick 2-3 year reset on the run without bottoming out.

Thats about a quarter of the time for our usual rebuilds.

In 3 years time we could have the following core group.

FB X - Weitering - OFarrell
HB X - Silvagni - X

C X - Cerra - OHollands
OB X - Jagga - Walsh/Walker/Lord

HF X - McKay - EHollands
FF X - Curnow - Kemp

If we can fill those Xs with some quality instead of passengers - we could be in a similar position to Geelong/Collingwood with an older list.

Some run, carry and kicking skills would be ideal for those Xs.

There’s not a world where we trade Charlie.Carlton has all the power.Contracted.

Not as easy to go ask Petracca or Clarry.

TDK and Walsh is carnage enough.Both have been well down on form for whatever reasons will probably thrive at other clubs.

Walsh at cats will get back to his best.

TDK not so sure but the money is ridiculous.
Exactly there’s no way the club is letting TDK and Charlie leaving the club at seasons end.

I don’t believe the rumours at all of Charlie leaving the club.

Not really

We have almost an all-time easy fixture this year. Despite horrible form we still have 6 matches left against Essendon, Port, West Coast and North. If Port don't find form, that on its own could get us to 10 wins.

Assuming 13 gets into finals, that's a tough ask, but we also play Melbourne (in better form, but winnable), Collingwood (struggling with injury and we typically play them close), Hawthorn, both Brisbane and the Suns in Melbourne (if we are going to beat them, it'll be here) and Freo away (they have hit form, but we also play ok in Perth).

Up to last week, we ranked top 3 in ball movement, top 3 in defending ball movement, top 3 in contested possessions and... stone last in scores from each inside 50. We have two weeks now to freshen up a bit, shake off the woes of the last two weeks, and to figure out inside 50s - if we can get that to even league average, I think we are a chance at the above.

We also did exactly this two years ago, so its not like it is unprecedented.

On another note it is crazy how badly we have messed up this dream fixture. Sydney last week were ripe fort he taking, and Richmond in round 1 should also have been a win. Flip those two results and we are 6-5 and that same equation above (9 wins from 12) gets us to the top 4. Ah, what might have been...

Can I ask, what value do you think we get from beating the weaker teams?

I know the "anything can happen once you make finals" cliche... but seriously, our midfield is not capable of matching the best teams. Finals to me just means we'd be making up the numbers.

Exactly there’s no way the club is letting TDK and Charlie leaving the club at seasons end.

I don’t believe the rumours at all of Charlie leaving the club.
If they did they better have some serious trades lined up in their place.

Unless we were getting Reid or something in the club would be in absolute free fall with supporters.

If they did they better have some serious trades lined up in their place.

Unless we were getting Reid or something in the club would be in absolute free fall with supporters.
It’s just not happening, we aren’t getting in return what Charlie is worth and draft picks in a weak draft there’s no chance.

Charlie is untouchable in my eyes. Crippa, Weiters, Charlie and Jagga.

It’s just not happening, we aren’t getting in return what Charlie is worth and draft picks in a weak draft there’s no chance.

Charlie is untouchable in my eyes. Crippa, Weiters, Charlie and Jagga.
I would agree with that, but I'm more talking the hypothetical disaster of if he requests to leave along with TDK and possibly Walsh.

Not even the clubs spin doctors would be able to put sell that outcome to the members as a positive.

Always a fun excercise, last year we were talking about Petrecca which then into turned into talking about Adam Cerra being cooked cause of his hamstring, now he looks at his best. (I would assume the new fitness helped him going qatar to get his hamstring fixed)

Walsh looks devolved of confidince, seems the last 2 years being injured with a back and hamstring has made him second guess himself. He has lost a lot of his running power where he would just run all day, now it looks like he is struggling. We also keep changing roles for him, like 1 week he is onballer, next week on the wing and sometimes he starts on the half-forward flank, even I am confused.

Then we go on to draft Jagga Smith who must be played as onballer, then there is Lord who looks terrific. Like we can't fit them all in.

Weve done it the players’ way for too long. I’m sick of sacking coaches to their whim and nothing changing. It’s time for the players to sack up and start doing their ****ing job. Or get out of my navy blue jumper.

I agree mate but changes need to be made there in all departments. Voss isn't the right coach otherwise the players would be playing for him regardless of what was happening around them.

If Charlie wants to go to Geelong all good.

We'll take a kings ransom off them.

The rumour I’ve just been given is Walsh has a professional dispute with Vossy

I can just imagine he response from Wright.
W: ok we’re getting rid of the problem. We’re trading you to the west toast for their first and second round picks.

DEfence is great when Sos is there. Weiters is usually fabulous. Has been a bit off. Backline has been unstable with injuries throwing off balance.
If we played consistent footy we probably were a lock. They make plenty of helpful and astute comments. Too bad we haven't made the needed tweaks.

Can I ask, what value do you think we get from beating the weaker teams?

I know the "anything can happen once you make finals" cliche... but seriously, our midfield is not capable of matching the best teams. Finals to me just means we'd be making up the numbers.
Is this a serious question?

Going on a run to finals will bring us enjoyment, entertainment, confidence, experience, positive reinforcement, money. It is a lot better than losing to the weaker teams.

There’s not a world where we trade Charlie.Carlton has all the power.Contracted.

Not as easy to go ask Petracca or Clarry.

TDK and Walsh is carnage enough.Both have been well down on form for whatever reasons will probably thrive at other clubs.

Walsh at cats will get back to his best.

TDK not so sure but the money is ridiculous.
So if they want him that bad, they pay overs...

The AFL will go along, they need a high profile player up there...

Agreed, but the consensus seems to be that we couldn't match even if we wanted to.
But we shouldn’t even be contemplating the idea in any case (force a trade maybe but sure we could manipulate something).
Sorry Tom, you’re not worth that type of money, son. We’ve been over-generous in providing a competitive contract but in hindsight we regret to advise that we’ll revoke our interest and grant your wish to join STK as a FA.
We’ve made other arrangements for our ruck position moving forward.

Sydney the year before as a pre-agent (Dodoro stopped it & us getting Papley) then the change of mind to BL under FA. Then retired early.

SOS and Dodoro trolling/having fun with each other instead of being professional list managers. That was annoying.

Walsh isn't performing like the player he was. Anyone looking to trade for him will point that out.

But it's all good, given he's contracted for 1 more season with us, we will keep him and he will likely want to go as a FA anyway.

He finished 3rd in the B&F last year, the most recent full season to go off. This season has been down to date but is not even half way through.

Uggh.
Footage on First Crack of how defence left Toby free.
Also spoke about our non-modern game style for whoever was questioning if anyone besides BF'ers thought that.🤣 Pretty much every major media commentator has commented on it for quite some time.
Our defending was pretty ordinary on Saturday (against the grain for the season, like Adelaide & again missing JSOS), Weiters as poor as it gets as a player & leader. Despite this we still had more shots on goal in the last Q but trailed by 1-3 goals before the blow out at the end.

It’s not old if we hit targets and capitalise up forward. Scribes are up and down on our fortunes “like what they’re doing but..”. “Profile is almost there but..”, “2 of 3 pillars there..”

“If Weiters has a bad day, we’re shot” - he did & we were. H did SFA.
We are reliant on our big-money claimers to perform, and they’re not living up to their bit. It’s a top-heavy drop.
So the questions remains why haven’t we done anything about it,are we just too stubborn to think that it will magically click.
We don’t have the right cattle to launch off HBF vs other teams (hence the Houston enquiry. Newman missing as our only real distributor). Class disposal over the park is missing. Small forwards go AWOL. There’s the holes to address but hard to make elite changes in-season. We’ve got other assets that we can work with but that’s inside and mostly slow.

IMO it’s our forward line that is the concern in our game along with the entries in there.
More handball chains
Better decision-making / options
Hit the target
Kick accurately when we get our chances (Sydney is the case in point on this, should have buried them in Q1 with the opportunities created).