Unofficial Preview Semi Final Saturday 7:35pm vs Gold Coast @ GABBA

any chance the club could request certain umpires? I rate the umpire who gave cam the two free kicks. Not an umpire fan by any means, but I would happy to have him unpiring our games any day of the week. Top guy.

Not a big fan of #12 Andrew Stephens. Ever since he gave that 50metre penalty against Harris Andrews at the Gabba against the pies for arms out decent he completely lost me. He even stated on the ground to Andrews " arms out is a 50 metre penailty " then on a footy show they showed 6 incidents with players in the same round holding arms out and not one was payed. Dont like him sorry.

Arms out mate

I actually don’t mind him; but what I’ve found is because he’s from QLD, he seems to unconsciously be trying to compensate for a perceived bias that he thinks he might have; ends up paying (or not paying) quite a few 50/50s that don’t go our way. Whenever I’ve seen him umpiring other games I’ve liked him.

Given this is a QClash I imagine the above won’t be an issue

Hoping to see

In: McInerney
Out: Day

In: McKenna
Out: Gallop

In: Reville
Out: Neale

Keep Marshall as the sub

Bailey as the 4th midfielder with Rayner going into centre bounces occasionally

Smaller forward line will put a lot of pressure on our ball movement working so we don't need to bomb it long but will help us lock the ball inside 50

Gold Coast aren't tall in the forward line so shifting Dizzy forward is a backup option and even starting him forward might be a better option than Gallop

Marshall stays the sub. Isn't strong enough in the contest to stand up in finals pressure. Reville isnt much better but at this stage hes a slightly better option. Was hoping Tunstill could be an option but his finish to the season was poor

Oscar for Day is a hail Mary but hopefully the team walks a bit taller with Oscar out there

Feeling more optimistic as the week goes on. I fully appreciate that finals football is a completely different kettle of fish, however the side that flogged Geelong and beat Collingwood during the H&A season is not too dissimilar to the side that lost on Friday night.

Although Hipwood's absence cannot be overstated, I feel the emotional benefit of having Big O might actually work in our favour.

Having an underdone Berry and Neale in the guts might have been enough for Geelong to overpower us. Dare I say it, but I feel having an underdone Neale miss might actually be better for us and inspire the midfield group to take a bit of ownership.

i fully agree. The mid-field without Neale had significant growth in the last 4 weeks of the season, and good wins. Perhaps getting him back against Geelong was a bit of a step-back mentally (though you would rather go into a game with a fit Lachie, than without). Getting that chance again, i reckon they’ll be out to prove themselves again.

Ashcroft and Bailey still got plenty of the footy. Just couldn't handle the pressure.

Don't see how that changes without Neale out there

You would assume with Big O potentially coming in that Sam Day will be the one to make way. Could even see us go real small ball and go without Gallop as well.

Neale second game back would have been a lot better than playing without him. He still got plenty of it but a lot of disposals were a sign of rustiness.

The only benefit is having Levi potentially play his more natural role in the middle which helps team balance. He's done ok on the wing but we have a better balance playing a gut runner in Marshall there.

Reville as sub is a good impact option.

Without a strong berry I’m worried we are one bull short in the midfield defensively, and this is why I think playing Rayner forward will be a costly mistake.

Ashcrofts and Bailey just don’t have enough aggression tackling and suns will exploit them. Dunkley is not enough.

Ashcroft and Bailey still got plenty of the footy. Just couldn't handle the pressure.

Don't see how that changes without Neale out there
Except it's a different game.

Yep can’t believe anyone is giving any parking or eating tips to any Suns - screw em, let them starve and get parking fines or better yet; walk.

Ah ive gotten all the info i need now, im going to come and eat and drink in your best establishments, park in your secret car parks, and walk away with a Suns 6 goal win :P

In all seriousness, thanks for the couple of tips, hoping for a cracking high pressure game.

Maybe we should drop Andrews so Dizzy and Starce will play better
Not exactly what i was suggesting…

People can step up when there’s an opportunity presented. Players should go just as hard regardless of who is standing beside them, but for whatever reason they don’t. The same as the suggestion that the team may stand a little taller with Oscar playing Saturday.

100% we are a better side with a fully fit Lachie Neale, but him out does present an opportunity to the next players in the midfield queue. Instead of relying in Lachie to do what he’s always done, someone else gets a chance to take that role.
Classic case - I highly doubt Bailey would have been selected in the AA team if Lachie has played out the H&A season.

Not exactly what i was suggesting…

People can step up when there’s an opportunity presented. Players should go just as hard regardless of who is standing beside them, but for whatever reason they don’t. The same as the suggestion that the team may stand a little taller with Oscar playing Saturday.

100% we are a better side with a fully fit Lachie Neale, but him out does present an opportunity to the next players in the midfield queue. Instead of relying in Lachie to do what he’s always done, someone else gets a chance to take that role.
Classic case - I highly doubt Bailey would have been selected in the AA team if Lachie has played out the H&A season.

Yeah so if they play more midfield they play a better midfield game

"The weekend (against the Cats) was a very physical game … and it was fine.

"If it's going to go, it's going to go.

"I've done all the work to strengthen it and have confidence so now it's just about me getting out there and executing."

any chance the club could request certain umpires? I rate the umpire who gave cam the two free kicks. Not an umpire fan by any means, but I would happy to have him umpiring our games any day of the week. Top guy.
Brent Wallace. I know him and he is a genuinely nice guy. I found the media 'pile on' miles over the top.

Hoping to see

In: McInerney
Out: Day

In: McKenna
Out: Gallop

In: Reville
Out: Neale

Keep Marshall as the sub

Bailey as the 4th midfielder with Rayner going into centre bounces occasionally

Smaller forward line will put a lot of pressure on our ball movement working so we don't need to bomb it long but will help us lock the ball inside 50

Gold Coast aren't tall in the forward line so shifting Dizzy forward is a backup option and even starting him forward might be a better option than Gallop

Marshall stays the sub. Isn't strong enough in the contest to stand up in finals pressure. Reville isnt much better but at this stage hes a slightly better option. Was hoping Tunstill could be an option but his finish to the season was poor

Oscar for Day is a hail Mary but hopefully the team walks a bit taller with Oscar out there

I really like these changes and hope that's what we get, but I feel like we will only make two of them.

Without a strong berry I’m worried we are one bull short in the midfield defensively, and this is why I think playing Rayner forward will be a costly mistake.

Ashcrofts and Bailey just don’t have enough aggression tackling and suns will exploit them. Dunkley is not enough.
Are you suggesting your boy.
I have been thinking of this , but there is zero being mentioned about Dev from the club or the players or the seconds watchers.
So maybe not him , Starce? Need him down back unfortunately, so he's a no.
Rayner needs to spend quality moments in the middlle , use his body to hurt them, but with Hippy out we need him forward as well.
Talk about trying to spread the quality.
Anyhow Levi might surprise us , I hope he can tackle and pressure when they win the ball as well as extract the ball.
Back to Rayner , I wonder do we use him in the middle when Humphrey lines up there or when he's not.
Humphrey does worry me when he's added to the middle..