RDFNL 2025 Season discussion

Players leaving Riddell and Melton South pillaging the Bloods like a Trojan Horse at the gates of Troy.
Another interesting Off-Season looming.
Riddell will be sweet, they could lose 7-8-9 but will already know that and have it covered.
Outside the year they tapped out and had a spell they're rarely not in contention.

I reckon the comp needs to talk up a few of its young players. Hay from Riddell wins the B and F in a premiership year, Pritchard at 18 comes third in a league medal…..there are probably more at other clubs - surely VFL clubs should be sniffing around these kids

Hey mate, my assessment of this league is it’s a great competition for younger players to play senior footy vs metro footy. Bigger grounds and less stoppage congestion footy helps the younger players. Plus clubs potentially save $$ investing in the youth rather than recruiting extra players but it’s a mix of experience, home growns, and younger types. Think it’s an excellent blend..

Some good examples you mentioned as well as Harry Ryan from Kyneton. Could Harry do what he did in EDFL premier? Less likely as smaller grounds, slower entries inside forward 50, potentially 3rd defender gets across more times. Better playing surfaces allows him to run and jump.

Pritchard more prominent on drier bigger grounds allows him to use his speed. Coach using his strengths to advantage and development ahead of win at all costs of some EDFL sides..

Speaking of that a young bloke from Woodend, Oli Watt has been invited to do a preseason with North Melbourne VFL

He also won the Cannons B&F, a young star. Not to mention his Woodend Hesket teammate Cooper Duff-Tyler will be in the AFL system next season.
Hearing another RDFL club has signed a VFL regular over night. Taking there total to 3 now.

Could we see 6 + players next year on VFL list aligned with RDFL clubs.
Huge for the league

He also won the Cannons B&F, a young star. Not to mention his Woodend Hesket teammate Cooper Duff-Tyler will be in the AFL system next season.
Goes to show that if you’re any good, you’ll get noticed, regardless of what league you’re in, or what division you play. Makes a bit of a mockery of the thoughts that you need to play in the highest division, of the “best” comp, to get noticed.

Agree there Mad one

Lachie Hay couldn’t get a look in at CTL level, nor young Pritchard who just won the Rising Star award

Same with last years RDFL Rising Star despite his output

It’s a topic that’s close to my heart and I’d encourage any young bloke to be up for the fight, and don’t let CTL be the panacea it once was, as there are actually 5-6 in the comp currently who posess VFL traits who weren’t in the pathways as 18yo’s

Hearing another RDFL club has signed a VFL regular over night. Taking there total to 3 now.

Could we see 6 + players next year on VFL list aligned with RDFL clubs.
Huge for the league
Who was the last junior player drafted into the AFL from this league? Paul Curtis? Josh Goater? It’s great to see lads getting a go from this competition.