List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
a measly 5 pages behind

but am liking this hawks potential shift from merrett,its clearly for a shot at butters if they exchange picks,dont like idea of them getting him,but do like them depriving the dogs and merrett and essendon stuck with each other

happy to deprive geelong also,so happy for us to do zero today,bonus if we clear butler out for a pick handy for fincher

Have been going for about 5 years now, very social. 6 pm Merv Edwards fields. Every Monday of the year. Bring a couple of cold ones for after. Non contact 9's style footy. Men's shed with a ball.
Thanks mate, I'll try to make it down some time.

Hurts me to say but Hird has been brilliant on trade radio.

In this opening segment Tom Morris was basically saying that Zach Merrett needs to go nuclear today and Hird just talked common sense and said “why can’t Hawthorn just offer more”

Talked about how adding a deadline to Essendon to accept a mediocre deal was just pointless as well.

In this opening segment Tom Morris was basically saying that Zach Merrett needs to go nuclear today and Hird just talked common sense and said “why can’t Hawthorn just offer more”

Talked about how adding a deadline to Essendon to accept a mediocre deal was just pointless as well.
Honestly outside of the supplement scandal and the year or so after that where he went off the rails (somewhat understandable) he comes across as a pretty sincere and intelligent guy

Couldn't stand either Walls or Smith. A couple of blokes who stomped on our club every chance they got, and they got plenty. RIP but don't miss their commentary one bit.
Agree, entirely. The original nasty journos?

Me and my mates still have a saying of “Thanks Wallsy” when someone says something very obvious.

For me, the best listen during the trade period has been 9's podcast with Bartell & Lloyd.

Never been a fan of Lloyd but when it comes to the basic stuff of trades and doesn't get involved in stuff thats too theoretical hes decent and Bartell is very competent and informative.

They are the First Crack of the trade period and its good to hear good stuff from ex players rather than nuffie journos.

Plus these guys just wearing regular clothes looks so much better than the bullshit suits they have to wear for "Old Man Media" as Gorringe calls it - suits for sports media is such an old fashioned trend that needs to end, no one's fooled.

Jeez there was some real salt in Cleary’s voice on channel 7 last night. Nothing over the top or anything but I’ve never heard him like that before. Obviously really wants Marshall at Geelong and that club is used to just getting it their way so he’s sooking it up.
I think you'll find Cleary is actually the older brother of Leek Aleer, their mum is making him say all this stuff

Curious how you reckon we're getting pick 9. But if it was on the table, yes, in a heartbeat.
It was offered by Hawthorn for Merrett, and Essendon need a ruckman with Draper gone.

But I asked the question to get an idea of what people thought about Row's value, and opinion was fairly well divided.

GWS going to delist and rookie Conor Stone… what are the odds we rookie him just for shits and gigs

He actually looks quite talented. You could do much worse. Goldy did that to Freo when they delisted Knobel to put him on the rookie list. Just grabbed him first.

Stone is a reasonable Jimmy Webster replacement.

Agree, entirely. The original nasty journos?

Me and my mates still have a saying of “Thanks Wallsy” when someone says something very obvious.
Literally my only recollection of Wallsy as a commentator was suggesting any player over 5'9" who hadnt gotten many touches "having a spell in the ruck, to get into game".

Genius stuff from him.
For me, the best listen during the trade period has been 9's podcast with Bartell & Lloyd.

Never been a fan of Lloyd but when it comes to the basic stuff of trades and doesn't get involved in stuff thats too theoretical hes decent and Bartell is very competent and informative.

They are the First Crack of the trade period and its good to hear good stuff from ex players rather than nuffie journos.

Plus these guys just wearing regular clothes looks so much better than the bullshit suits they have to wear for "Old Man Media" as Gorringe calls it - suits for sports media is such an old fashioned trend that needs to end, no one's fooled.
Hirdy and Bartel have both been really explicit about what is pure made up speculation versus what is rumored/legit.

I appreciate that so that i can tune out when theyre just making shit up.

Time to sit back and watch the melts from the clubs around us!

Some observations on us (from a long way away):
1. We did our business early, and while it hasn't been clean, we didn't hold back. We did the deals we wanted to do and with Steele staying, I think we have kept the crew together.
2. What Exodus...
3. We finally have a star, now we have to keep him. Finals does that in my opinion, and this trade period shows this path.
4. doing our business early means we can let stuff come to us, we may get nothing, but we are now in the box seat to get anything that comes our way.
5. RWB needs to step back to head coach and just that... NOW!!!!

Some observations of general trends:
1. Clubs in the lower parts of the ladder are starting to bite back at the clubs of entitlement. Not letting go of contracted players that want to move, unless the deal is in their favour. This needs to happen more, you want him... pay the price. This is important because the draft is not an easy way to rebuild anymore.
2. Bigger clubs or recently successful ones still think they should get whatever they want. I think the entry of GWS and Gold Coast only increased this unappealing trait, but its got to stop.
3. Team favouritism needs to be taken out of the Media, if your a Geelong supporter (or player) growing up and your commenting on Geelong, you need to say you were a Geelong supporter or just not comment. Journo's are not allowed to do this, my wife os a Journo, she is told all the time (and often backs out of) what she is not allowed to comment on.
4. Long contracts are not good for anyone! It seems to go wrong more often than not.

Im not expecting anything (maybe Marshall goes for the right deal) but its going to be fun!!!!

Tasmania entering the competition is going to change the landscape and as critical as I am of the club we are on the front foot and planning for what is coming. We have both stacked the youth in and continue to trying to bring more in while getting a younger core side without losing ground and chasing players to fill holes now.

Sides at the bottom of the ladder are going to be stuck down for an extended period without a lot of luck once we start to have compromised drafts and thin out existing talent.

If we have done it well we should be competitive which will give us an advantage in attracting existing talent in. We also have enough youth to have a serious amount of internal growth.

Honestly outside of the supplement scandal and the year or so after that where he went off the rails (somewhat understandable) he comes across as a pretty sincere and intelligent guy
And the year that he almost got deregistered for umpire abuse as a player, and all the other times he felt entitled to having the world as his oyster as a player and the absolute failure to take any meaningful responsibility for the drug cheating (which is not a supplements scandal it’s Essendon’s systematic drug cheating scandal) and even the time he decided he was allowed to play the final quarter of the match that was delayed by a power outage despite not playing in the match to that point in time. Besides all those times he’s great. Well not great, just less objectionable and punchable. And he still needs a haircut and to look less like the twin of his ex-wife. Anyway, back to waiting for trades to happen.

Morris keeps saying this, but not once have I heard anywhere Marshall has said that.
Obviously Saints are just ignoring Geelong, as I have heard from multiple sources that Saints are ' flat batting' ( their new hip and cool catch phrase I take it) any approach from Geelong.