List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Morris keeps saying this, but not once have I heard anyway Marshall has said that.
Obviously Saints are just ignoring Geelong, as I have heard from multiple sources that Saints are ' flat batting' ( their new hip and cool catch phrase I take it) any approach from Geelong.
Even if we aren't ignoring Geelong, surely Mackie realises you can't just throw your hands in the air, stamp your feet and demand we accept whatever they originally offered?

They have the ability to offer 3 firsts like they did with Curnow, I find it disrespectful to not pump up your offer if you are so desperate to sign our contracted player.

Do we reckon Row will be THAT upset if he’s made to stay? You can say “ah well he shouldn’t have signed that contract if he didn’t want to stay” “too bad so sad he’ll get over it” but at the end of the day these are human beings and keeping him after spending so large on a younger ruck and using him in positions he rightly doesn’t want to play as a mature player really could make him salty towards the club… and if he is such a big culture piece that could in reality cause big issues in our synergy.
I hope he loves the club enough to move past it but I am worried.

No he didn’t say that. He said tassie should get in touch with Tauru and his management, because Cleary rates him and thinks he’ll be a good and marketable player.
Why make something like that up?
He started the sentence talking angrily about Aleer and ended it talking about how Tassie should go after Tauru because his managers anger towards St Kilda could help get Tauru out.

So he very much linked the two situations. It's not as if he brought up Tauru organically or they were talking about Tassie as it's own topic.

Even if we aren't ignoring Geelong, surely Mackie realises you can't just throw your hands in the air, stamp your feet and demand we accept whatever they originally offered?

They have the ability to offer 3 firsts like they did with Curnow, I find it disrespectful to not pump up your offer if you are so desperate to sign our contracted player.
Unfortunately, that is how Geelong think.

Honestly outside of the supplement scandal and the year or so after that where he went off the rails (somewhat understandable) he comes across as a pretty sincere and intelligent guy

post reported

Do we reckon Row will be THAT upset if he’s made to stay? You can say “ah well he shouldn’t have signed that contract if he didn’t want to stay” “too bad so sad he’ll get over it” but at the end of the day these are human beings and keeping him after spending so large on a younger ruck and using him in positions he rightly doesn’t want to play as a mature player really could make him salty towards the club… and if he is such a big culture piece that could in reality cause big issues in our synergy.
Too bad, if he gets salty, he is on less than average salary for his last two years. No skin off Saints nose.
Was very happy to take the front loading and the 50k bonus.
He stinks it up because he is sooking, enjoy RSEA Park in the VFL and good luck getting a decent contract as an underperforming 32 y.o reserves ruck. Might get gigs like Goldstein or Campbell.
List Managers are acting in the best interest of the STKFC and wont take the insulting shit Geelong arrogantly dished up.

Whatever happens today just don't take a crap deal. Geelong's first and second picks are junk at the end of the day. We are better off with Marshall in the side and frankly I couldn't care that he doesn't want to play for us. He signed a contract and by all reports accepted front ended cash.

I'd be hoping for two firsts at a minimum. Geelong are obviously desperate for him.

Don't take unders or even "fair" value. Rather keep him.

Has Mackie/Geelong ever done a deal that didn't eventuate in the last day of trade week?

I hope we have asked for plenty and bend them over. Its about time these bigger clubs started paying for trades like other clubs have to.

Nah, it seems that the media us being fed by Geelong and just repeating what they're being told. If we aren't saying anything where else is it coming from?
We would have told Ro that we'll try to do a deal with the Cats but if they don't come to the party we'll see you at RSEA park day one of pre season.

Morris keeps saying this, but not once have I heard anywhere Marshall has said that.
Obviously Saints are just ignoring Geelong, as I have heard from multiple sources that Saints are ' flat batting' ( their new hip and cool catch phrase I take it) any approach from Geelong.
It’s become really clear that Morris has very few sources. There is a mix of personal opinion, probably piggy backing off others that do, and a bit of 1 + 1 =3

I wonder how much Marshall is insisting he doesn’t want to play for us and how much is paddle pop Morris’s narrative.
Big difference between saying “Marshall doesn’t want to play for St Kilda” and “Marshall would prefer to play for Geelong”.

Main difference being the former is much more clicks baity.

Has Mackie/Geelong ever done a deal that didn't eventuate in the last day of trade week?

I hope we have asked for plenty and bend them over. Its about time these bigger clubs starting paying for trades like other clubs have to.
They showed a graphic on the Fox trading day show last night. All of Cameron, Smith, Ceglar and a couple of others done within the final minutes of deadline.

Let's have some fun, Gents. My prediction is Steele and Ro are still St Kilda players by the end of the day. What is everyone else's prediction?
Steele stays, Ro gos.. the Price: a F1 and F2, Geelong will not lose a player.

I'd say we've set a price for Marshall, and won't discuss anything with anyone unless that price is met.

We're not a market in Bali, the price is the price. Pay up or GTFO.
I think we have gone the reverse Bali market. There is only one way haggling, we are the seller, saying we will accept when you get to the right price.

Will personally be very surprised if Marshall is a St Kilda player come 7:31pm today
And that's okay. Just needs to be a price that suits us first, not Geelong first. If they don't want to pay up, f*** off. And exactly as others have said, he signed a contract. Enough already of, "Oh but I want something different now. Thanks for all the front loaded cash."

Let's have some fun, Gents. My prediction is Steele and Ro are still St Kilda players by the end of the day. What is everyone else's prediction?
Steele for sure, Rohan 95% staying

And the year that he almost got deregistered for umpire abuse as a player, and all the other times he felt entitled to having the world as his oyster as a player and the absolute failure to take any meaningful responsibility for the drug cheating (which is not a supplements scandal it’s Essendon’s systematic drug cheating scandal) and even the time he decided he was allowed to play the final quarter of the match that was delayed by a power outage despite not playing in the match to that point in time. Besides all those times he’s great. Well not great, just less objectionable and punchable. And he still needs a haircut and to look less like the twin of his ex-wife. Anyway, back to waiting for trades to happen.
Eeesh, you seem like fun.