AFL Player 7: Indefatigable Zach Merrett - Stepping down as captain for 2026

On paper, of course.

But in reality, depends how you use them.

This draft is rated by all and sundry to be weak at the top end.

With five picks at the top end we’re already hugely exposed to it.

If it was packed with talent and there were 10 top prospects we love and want, those picks are worth more to us.
the deal offered was overs. the draft is irrelevant. you can spread your risk and that's the job of a pragmatic and responsible club/list manager (as was done re: kako last year).

Don’t understand how this can work.

Merrett has lost faith in club, players have lost trust in Merrett. We had to move on, I don’t think the relationships can be mended.

Zach stitched us up by going with one club but we needed to manage that and get something done.

Merrett has lost faith in club, players have lost trust in Merrett. We had to move on, I don’t think the relationships can be mended.

Zach stitched us up by going with one club but we needed to manage that and get something done.
zach went to the only competing club with a top 10 pick. he did all he could (as ever).

It's on Zach now I reckon. Be professional or play in the twos.

They needed to make a valid offer, they never did.

In their arrogance they assumed we were desperate to rid of him and would take any crap they offered.

That arrogance is why a deal never got done.

We will move on by replacing him as captain.

Damo reporting we wanted a player, even upto the last few minutes but Hawthorn didn't want to give us one.
Hawthorne only have themselves to blame, they approached a contracted player knowing they'd have to cough up something pretty good and I guess they just thought we'd blink or something.

I think what was offered was ok and it wouldn't surprise me if we regret taking it, but I also don't blame Rosa etc for digging their heels in over it. The horks certainly had the ability to get a better deal done if they wanted to

Merrett simply isn’t worth 4 first rounders. How deluded are we to even suggest that.
It’s far from a legit 4 first rounders given the two offered this year, next year based on their projected finish and 2027 with tassie coming in. It’s more like a first (in an average draft) a 2nd, a 2nd next year and aa 3rd in 27

He’s just a player now. Play him where the clubs needs him, not where is best for Merrett. He will still perform because his performance has always been the most important thing to him.
There was talk that Essendon players prefer McGrath as a leader to Merrett anyways. Let’s keep him his final two years unless we get a haul next year.

Because dignity is worth more than a W in a trade.

oh hell yeah

ilxQoE5.jpeg

Agree. Those that think he'll turn up on day one with the right attitude might be in for a shock. But hey, we 'won' and that's what's important, apparently.
What do we do about the captaincy? Take it off an already disgruntled player?

Mate, Hawthorne needed to get something done. The onus was on them. We didn’t ask for a trade. Sure, we have some work to do to get a cohesive playing group but I’m not sure that Zach socialises with anyone but Sam Mitchell anyway. The players might be relieved they don’t have to tolerate his awful attempts at off-field leadership anymore. It might bring a sense of levity, you never know 🤞

AFL Player 7: Indefatigable Zach Merrett - Stepping down as captain for 2026