Sponsored Player Sponsors Event 3 - Trivia Night

• Thread starter Thread starter boydie

Gday player sponsors,

Club are in final stages of organising Event 3 (or 4 I forget!) for us player sponsors, a Trivia night.

Date will be either Tuesday, August 19th or Wednesday August 20th.

I'd say with that date approaching, the RSVBP turnaround will be quick so I want to get idea of who is keen ASAP.
PLease respond if you are!

you might be in kosifantutti
I could probably make it if required but like Kosi, have been to an event so happy for someone else to attend
Any takers?

Morning boydie.........I also secured a tic to a previous event,but if you don't get 2 for the event....please put me in the raffle for this one,

Thanks,

Cheers.

Was annoyed I didn't see this til the other day, but then I've been crook all week so probably best I steer clear of the boys. Looking forward to the report.

Is anyone else getting smashed with ads all of a sudden who weren’t previously due to being premium platinum from sponsorship? Is there something wrong with the site.
Are we getting 2025 sponsors badges this year? Why take so long???

Thanks for oragnising Boydie.

I thought I arrived early at about 6:05 for a 6:30 start but the tables were already pretty full.
I was pleased to see it was an open bar with a limited selection of on tap beers as well as a few wines. I started with their lager and later had a hanging rock shiraz.

I quickly found Saint Watto who was well ensconsed with the Brains Trust. Everyone was in a buoyant mood and I'm pretty sure that next year is the year.

Table 27 surprisingly did not have Arie Schoenmaker but I ended up sitting between 2 champions of the club: Harry Boyd and [PLAYERCARD]Zaine Cordy[/PLAYERCARD]. Also joining us was Captain Jack.

The trivia was outsourced to "A bit shit trivia" and they managed to live up to thier name, although it wasn't all their fault.

But first there was the food. A pretty standard meat and 3 veg with gravy alternating between chicken and beef. The lads enjoyed it and as Saint Watto still hadn't joined us, Zaine got a bit of extra chicken.

Then the trivia started.

The MC had a number of eclectic trivia and logic questions mixed in with some Saints trivia. The Saints questions had been provided by someone in marketing and I've got to say they were a bit problematic.

First of all they included a number of questions that highlighted our undeniably poor record over the years.
"In what year did we win our first game?"
"How many losses did we have before our first win?"
"How many wooden spoons have we won?"

There are enough idiots who barrack for other clubs and want to bring these things up without the Saints shoving it down my throat.

The second issue with the Saints questions was that they got many of them wrong.
No our first win was not in 1898 (1900)
Our biggest attendance at Moorabbin was not 37000 for a game against Carlton (It was over 50k in our first home game there against Collingwood)
And Bill Mohr did not win a brownlow. (He was the league leading goalkicker)

But overall it was a bit of fun. I managed to establish my bona fides enough in some of the logic questions and Saints trivia questions so that [PLAYERCARD]Jack Steele[/PLAYERCARD] wouldn't write anything down without looking at me for confirmation.
I wouldn't say it was the highlight of the night. It was the highlight of my life.

The guys were happy to talk. Zaine is off to Europe soon where he'll catch up with his brother. Harry is off to Vietnam and Jack is getting married in December.
Given who I was with and the fact that 5 new contracts had been announced that day, I didn't ask about their football careers going forward.

It all wrapped up very quickly at the end, I think they had a time limit for getting the venue open to the public again.

It was a good event overall and a great chance to chat to our sponsored player as well as the others at the table.

If it comes up again, I'd highly recommend it but if they're going to do Saints trivia, they need to do it right.

Thanks for oragnising Boydie.

I thought I arrived early at about 6:05 for a 6:30 start but the tables were already pretty full.
I was pleased to see it was an open bar with a limited selection of on tap beers as well as a few wines. I started with their lager and later had a hanging rock shiraz.

I quickly found Saint Watto who was well ensconsed with the Brains Trust. Everyone was in a buoyant mood and I'm pretty sure that next year is the year.

Table 27 surprisingly did not have Arie Schoenmaker but I ended up sitting between 2 champions of the club: Harry Boyd and Zaine Cordy. Also joining us was Captain Jack.

The trivia was outsourced to "A bit shit trivia" and they managed to live up to thier name, although it wasn't all their fault.

But first there was the food. A pretty standard meat and 3 veg with gravy alternating between chicken and beef. The lads enjoyed it and as Saint Watto still hadn't joined us, Zaine got a bit of extra chicken.

Then the trivia started.

The MC had a number of eclectic trivia and logic questions mixed in with some Saints trivia. The Saints questions had been provided by someone in marketing and I've got to say they were a bit problematic.

First of all they included a number of questions that highlighted our undeniably poor record over the years.
"In what year did we win our first game?"
"How many losses did we have before our first win?"
"How many wooden spoons have we won?"

There are enough idiots who barrack for other clubs and want to bring these things up without the Saints shoving it down my throat.

The second issue with the Saints questions was that they got many of them wrong.
No our first win was not in 1898 (1900)
Our biggest attendance at Moorabbin was not 37000 for a game against Carlton (It was over 50k in our first home game there against Collingwood)
And Bill Mohr did not win a brownlow. (He was the league leading goalkicker)

But overall it was a bit of fun. I managed to establish my bona fides enough in some of the logic questions and Saints trivia questions so that Jack Steele wouldn't write anything down without looking at me for confirmation.
I wouldn't say it was the highlight of the night. It was the highlight of my life.

The guys were happy to talk. Zaine is off to Europe soon where he'll catch up with his brother. Harry is off to Vietnam and Jack is getting married in December.
Given who I was with and the fact that 5 new contracts had been announced that day, I didn't ask about their football careers going forward.

It all wrapped up very quickly at the end, I think they had a time limit for getting the venue open to the public again.

It was a good event overall and a great chance to chat to our sponsored player as well as the others at the table.

If it comes up again, I'd highly recommend it but if they're going to do Saints trivia, they need to do it right.
Great write up
Thanks 🙏

Firstly........as kosi said.....a huge thanks to boydie for yet again organising the player sponsorship.........as I keep saying to him,it's nor easy herding all the cats into the room for the yearly program.....we'll done!!!!

Well done kosi on a very informative review.

The venue was in the old Phillip Morris complex in Moorabbin.

My old state and high schools were just around the corner......you used to be able to smell the tobacco.

It's a huge set up now with heaps of bars and eateries......Stomping Ground is a huge Brewery and eats place.

Arriving at the venue....the tables were set and ready to go.....the place filled quite quickly.

The star of the night/day/week/year....Nas.... was sitting next to Hilly.....obviously Nas's body guard for the night...lol.

The food was very good,the wait staff fantastic....and of course "drinks on the house"

As kosi said.......the atmosphere was fantastic......I think everyone being " Nased" certainly helped.

The Trivia content at times left a bit to be desired......but as kosi said.....a fun time was being had by all the punters.

kosi....I'm glad Zaine had some extra chicken....as it turned out....it was his last supper...lol

Overall....kudos to the club.....a fantastic function....it was very well run.

The early start time and Melb traffic make it hard for many to attend.....but if you get the chance to go to one of these events...grab it.

No more Trivia nights for you Kosi.

Your the "Player Terminator"
I should be banned from all events now that all three of my trivia buddies (Boyd, Cordy and Steele) have left the building.

I hear by ban kosifantutti from all future events in regard to Player Sponsorship

(do I have the power to do this?)