List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
One of you blokes mentioned that the add for that was done with a bloke that had a lisp. Listened to it on the way home last night and christ they did him dirty. That copy had way too many 'S' words lol.
Kenny Callender?

If we can only keep one of Ari Monty or Zac who would you keep.
Monty links attacking strings all across the ground and pops up for the odd goal. A true warrior.
Zac is our best clearance player on his day.
Ari is a one trick pony and not a great defender.
Funnily enough I’d pick Ari. Could be an absolute weapon off a wing with further development and fitness.
We can cover Jones with Dow and Carroll as depth
Byrnes is a good depth player and can somewhat cover a number of positions
Arie has a booming kick

Byrnes for me, but would like to keep Arie for the VFL team as I like to watch his long kicks

Lets face it, circumstances changed once we landed JSOS.

The excuse of not agreeing with GWS, was just that, an excuse.

In the washup we made a mistake in committing to Aleer. the fact that we rectified that mistake would detract from the media pile on as Dilena described it.

Well we cop that on the chin as a result of a mistake, too bad, Aleer is contracted, we move on. As far as mistakes go, it is small beer in comparison to McCartin, Nettlefield losing Lyon, Richardson, re signing Ratten then sacking him 6 months later etc etc etc.

In the big scheme
TDK
JSOS
Ryan
Flanders

re siging
NAZ
Wilkie
WIndhager

keeping
Marshall

If at the beginning say the NAZ resigning that we would do the above but cope some flak for not taking Aleer, I would take that and run.
I think its in the middle somewhere, we still made an offer and had GWS accepted the future 3rd im sure wed have honored the deal (maybe somewhat begrudingly) but when they didnt we were VERY ****ing quick to bail. He became a nice to have opposed to a need when JSOS came.

I reckon if we did get Aleer we probably would have taken that Roma deal in the end.

I think its in the middle somewhere, we still made an offer and had GWS accepted the future 3rd im sure wed have honored the deal (maybe somewhat begrudingly) but when they didnt we were VERY ****ing quick to bail. He became a nice to have opposed to a need when JSOS came.

I reckon if we did get Aleer we probably would have taken that Roma deal in the end.
I think the part that can’t be spoken to… right now. Was that there was other moves in the pipe that didn’t eventuate for one reason or another.

We made a calculated decision that backfired somewhat. But not major loss.

Maybe some strategy for Tasmania draft??? In 2027 Tasmania have picks 5, 7, 11 and 13 which they have to trade for players or picks. Could be loading up early on points for pick swaps is considered advantageous somehow? But I can’t say I really understand it as I imagine Tasmania would be after established players rather than splitting high picks for 3rd and 4th rounders.
Quite potentially just the last bit of junk the other club will throw in. The points equivalent for matching get pushed back just as any other, so unless there is a view that something changes around that aspect and they may have some value. Or a gamble that Tassie is pushed back a year and the picks then, in combo, have some decent value (if WC and Melb are bottom tier, then they’ll be decent 3rds).

But I suspect that the first reason is the most likely!

It's funny because we have Enright at the club who falls into the other category from that era (with guys like Bartel), but I always got the feeling there was a core, tight-knit group of jerks in that Geelong backline: Scarlett, Milburn and Mackie. His presser last night didn't dissuade me from that feeling.
That whole side were each their own biggest fan, that's why Selwood turning up at 18yo and running rings around them at training had such an impact.

On potential Wilson, Boxshall, Garcia, Windy, Tauru could all come on like a freight train in the next year or two.

Not all of them will but its exciting none the less.

You'd expect the biggest immediate improvement comes from Flanders who could be elite again as a soon as next season, Windhager who had an underrated 2025, a fit King, Owens who will be playing a lot freer with others taking heat off him, TDK who is still a project ruck who has played some elite footy, Hall who is one season in, Nas who was getting better by the week, Sharman who will be playing on a much less dominant defender etc. All are at an age where they should find consistency and best form now.

Then your big pool of youth in Phillipou, Wilson, Tauru, Garcia, Boxshall, Trav, Hastie etc have levels go up quickly and if they can push for consistent B while others in the group above progress and that's a surge.

Just need guys like Marshall, Hill, Wilkie, Sinclair, JSOS etc to maintain a consistent level that we have come to expect.

You can't have too many stars but realistically the down side of paying so much for guys like Nas and TDK is that it will really limit our ability to pay huge money to anyone else in the future. If a few kids step up we will need it to cover them staying. We really need Wilson, Windhager, Owens, King types to step up level now.

Nas looks absolute elite and Hall won't be far behind him IMO. Sinclair and Wilkie are A grade and King should be if fit. Snags not far off either. Ryan on his day is and Flanders is 12 month off having had an elite season. A bit of injury luck and some momentum off the new recruits and we could really surge.
This is my worry as well. We are banking on a couple of players like Pou, Hall, Wilson, and others becoming elite to compliment NAZ. I dont know we can offer say a Butters the money other can do because we needed to sell the farm this trade period. Hoping Flanders can take that elite step
The money saved on Aleer and Steele will be needed if these young players actually reach the level of a NAZ.

The strategy seems to improve from within and be able to get another underrated Flanders type on the relative cheap from one of the fake northern clubs who get unfair legups year in year out, or from another player out of favour.

If we dont come on next year it will be difficult to do so. Anyway I think our window will be against the two Qld fake clubs that have been stacked by the AFL.

I think the part that can’t be spoken to… right now. Was that there was other moves in the pipe that didn’t eventuate for one reason or another.

We made a calculated decision that backfired somewhat. But not major loss.
Thats probably true but i maintain if GWS accepted the first offer Aleer would be a saint now, we wouldnt have backed out of that and if we did then we probably do Roma and look to do something else.

Didnt happen and overall none of it is an issue. Were better overall.

That whole side were each their own biggest fan, that's why Selwood turning up at 18yo and running rings around them at training had such an impact.
I listened to Enright on Dyl and friends and whilst it wasnt a riveting chat (he is a very very boring story teller) he seemed very genuine and very self aware. Not "spiritual" as such but reflective and honest.

Having heard Scarlett and Milburn talk a few times (Mackie only in his current capacity) both came across as complete ****wits.

This is my worry as well. We are banking on a couple of players like Pou, Hall, Wilson, and others becoming elite to compliment NAZ. I dont know we can offer say a Butters the money other can do because we needed to sell the farm this trade period. Hoping Flanders can take that elite step
The money saved on Aleer and Steele will be needed if these young players actually reach the level of a NAZ.

The strategy seems to improve from within and be able to get another underrated Flanders type on the relative cheap from one of the fake northern clubs who get unfair legups year in year out, or from another player out of favour.

If we dont come on next year it will be difficult to do so. Anyway I think our window will be against the two Qld fake clubs that have been stacked by the AFL.

If you think about how many absolutely elite superstar players there are in the league you probably realistically only need one and about 3 to 4 A grade and a pool of Bs. We have that now. Hawks barely have a bunch of consistent pure A graders besides Newcombe. Plenty can be on their day.

You are a bit less cynical as me it seems. I reckon we would have bailed on Aleer somehow, it was clearly a mistake and the fact that no other club, even teams like the unserious Bulldogs and lolNorf wouldn't touch him, then he gets a tiny deal with GWS.
However if we did take him, we would have taken the Marshall deal. The $$ will be needed for the kids and the 600k from Aleer was probably the same that is owed Marshall after his front ended years.

You'd expect the biggest immediate improvement comes from Flanders who could be elite again as a soon as next season, Windhager who had an underrated 2025, a fit King, Owens who will be playing a lot freer with others taking heat off him, TDK who is still a project ruck who has played some elite footy, Hall who is one season in, Nas who was getting better by the week, Sharman who will be playing on a much less dominant defender etc. All are at an age where they should find consistency and best form now.

Then your big pool of youth in Phillipou, Wilson, Tauru, Garcia, Boxshall, Trav, Hastie etc have levels go up quickly and if they can push for consistent B while others in the group above progress and that's a surge.

Just need guys like Marshall, Hill, Wilkie, Sinclair, JSOS etc to maintain a consistent level that we have come to expect.
Yeh i think its your point (and one weve both said) most of our improvement is gonna be internal.

Wilson, Pou, Garcia, Boxxy and then King, Henry etc. The additions strengthen issues weve had and compliment the core.

Thats why it feels better this time to me.

You are a bit less cynical as me it seems. I reckon we would have bailed on Aleer somehow, it was clearly a mistake and the fact that no other club, even teams like the unserious Bulldogs and lolNorf wouldn't touch him, then he gets a tiny deal with GWS.
However if we did take him, we would have taken the Marshall deal. The $$ will be needed for the kids and the 600k from Aleer was probably the same that is owed Marshall after his front ended years.
Thats fair ultimately well never know for sure, but we did make an offer, i think we would have honored it if GWS accepted (but agree that we were pretty pleased when they didnt)

If you think about how many absolutely elite superstar players there are in the league you probably realistically only need one and about 3 to 4 A grade and a pool of Bs. We have that now. Hawks barely have a bunch of consistent pure A graders besides Newcombe. Plenty can be on their day.
lol must be post trade bizarro world, the gringo being rosey and optimistic and me going back to grievance mode :D

Oh, whats that Carl, we were juggling list spots?!?! When it came to our decision-making around Aleer?

What?

That is BRAND NEW INFORMATION!
Mate if you truly think this is the case. So be it. But you are completely IGNORING that all we had to do was delist Dow and pick him up as a rookie - a list move clubs make every year, infact go look at last years rookie draft.

So had we done the above and acquired Aleer. We would be in the exact same position as we are today - albeit with one less rookie spot.

It’s absolutely BS and isn’t the reason we backed away from Aleer.

I wonder why we loaded up in the 2027 draft, we have Rowan MacKenzie (Cam's brother) as an NGA next year, so points would've been better for 2026?
We can always trade picks from 2027 into 2026! WE can still trade picks between now and the draft, and then we can trade those 2027 picks during next years trade period if we want.

lol must be post trade bizarro world, the gringo being rosey and optimistic and me going back to grievance mode :D

I'm happy when we don't do anything stupid and they haven't played any footy to disappoint me yet. Optimism is possible until reality beats me around the head again.