Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

The best thing about this off season is that Geelong failed to get Curnow.
Too arrogant to negotiate beyond their mediocre offer, they took their ball and went home.
They then moved on to Marshall - and failed again!
I dunno, is there a drought affecting the farms down Geelong way?

Then we have St Kilda, who were largely talked about as the new "destination" club.
That was before they suddenly realised they'd thrown so much cash and picks into the fan that they couldn't get the deal done that the media had been talking about all season.
Irreparable damage done to the club's reputation there. Future player targets will be extremely wary.

As for us, we've added a player with ticker in Haywood, Ainsworth and Florent who will all be best 23, Chesser who will be an upgrade on our delivery into forward 50, and a smokey in Reidy whose value remains to be seen
Off the field we've added Davies who presents as an extremely professional and knowledgeable person, the highly respected Travis Boak, and brought the highly regarded Josh Fraser back to the club to modernise our forward line.
Interestingly though, to my knowledge we still haven't announced a director/head of coaching?
The stars seem aligned for Ken Hinkley there which would then be the perfect set up for Butters.

The do we or don't we add Butters debate can wait for another day.
He would add class to the side but do we risk going down the unbalanced list path again?
From all accounts it seems that Walker may in time be better than the man himself, maybe Smith as well.
We could end up at square one payments wise?

All in all though I'm extremely happy with what we've done.
Even more happy with the fact that Geelong failed twice, 3 times counting the Grand Final, and absolutely mystified as to why the media has rated Geelong as one of the top rating performers of this trade period?
I just can't quite Cotton On to that??????

Just dawned on me that NWM will be leaving in two years and that’s exactly when Tasmania are coming into the competition. So no matter what they do, whether St Kilda don’t match his next clubs offer sheet and just grab the Band 1 compo or they match the offer and force a trade (draft picks from St Kilda), the Saints will be getting crappy draft picks in the 20s.

It’s flag over the next two years or they will be left with TDK and JSOS on huge money. They’ve played it well lol.

Just dawned on me that NWM will be leaving in two years and that’s exactly when Tasmania are coming into the competition. So no matter what they do, whether St Kilda don’t match his next clubs offer sheet and just grab the Band 1 compo or they match the offer and force a trade (draft picks from St Kilda), the Saints will be getting crappy draft picks in the 20s.

It’s flag over the next two years or they will be left with TDK and JSOS on huge money. They’ve played it well lol.
He actually won’t be a f/a wil only be his 6th year when he comes out of contract

Someone on Reddit claiming Daisy Pearce (currently West Coast AFLW head coach) has been offered an assistant coaching role in an AFL men’s team in Victoria. She’s transformed their women’s team from basement dwellers into likely finalists within two seasons, and also already has a year’s experience as a development coach for Geelong’s men’s team… AND it turns out she is a childhood Bluebagger.

Any chance this is an actual thing and it’s us??

There are 50 blokes I'd 'chase' before McInerny....

(the Swans' guy?)
There's plenty of players we would chase before McInerney, but as a RFA who likely wouldn't be matched on there's not many better next year.

Bailey and Butters would be lovely but will have every club in the comp desperate to get their signature regardless of the cost.

If we missed on the top liners McInerney would be a welcome addition barring a matched bid requiring a trade.

I feel a bit for Jack.

Bloke was unfortunately born in the wrong timeline.

Serg played in 4, won 2.
Sos, we all know how good and blessed he was in his era.

Jack got the raw end of this timeline
Entitled, sure, injured, heaps, as good as his dad and grandad, no way, groomed to join Carlton, absolutely, expected to play consistent finals, sure, was our club crap before and during his tenure, absolutely, gave his all when fit, yes from me.

All this would do most peoples heads in.

Was never going to win a flag with his club he loved, realised only few years left, cashed in.

Right or wrong for him and his family only he will know.

Wish him well, but he was not the reason why we are where we are at.

The silvagni family name regardless of recent times will always mean a great deal to me.
I don’t. He had the smarts and talent to be captain here, or at least help on and off field to contribute to building us to a flag.

Instead his dad (who by most accounts is bitter at the club) pulled him over on a fat contract and he jumped at it. Other accounts (Doc) are that he’s
a negative energy in the locker room. And, tbh, I reckon there’s a level of entitlement.

To me, he’s a former Carlton player, nothing more.

Someone on Reddit claiming Daisy Pearce (currently West Coast AFLW head coach) has been offered an assistant coaching role in an AFL men’s team in Victoria. She’s transformed their women’s team from basement dwellers into likely finalists within two seasons, and also already has a year’s experience as a development coach for Geelong’s men’s team… AND it turns out she is a childhood Bluebagger.

Any chance this is an actual thing and it’s us??
You wouldn’t have guessed she had a soft spot for Carlton when she was commentating.

sounded like she was chewing on a wasp if we did anything good.

You wouldn’t have guessed she had a soft spot for Carlton when she was commentating.

sounded like she was chewing on a wasp if we did anything good.

Sam McClure is like that too. Supports us, but gives us shit.

Carlton are way outside the inner circle of clubs worthy of praise. You’d think that the 20+ year old salary cap rorts still hurts the feelings of the AFL and it’s an industry wide directive to talk down about us ever since. Weird.

The best thing about this off season is that Geelong failed to get Curnow.
Too arrogant to negotiate beyond their mediocre offer, they took their ball and went home.
They then moved on to Marshall - and failed again!
I dunno, is there a drought affecting the farms down Geelong way?

Then we have St Kilda, who were largely talked about as the new "destination" club.
That was before they suddenly realised they'd thrown so much cash and picks into the fan that they couldn't get the deal done that the media had been talking about all season.
Irreparable damage done to the club's reputation there. Future player targets will be extremely wary.

As for us, we've added a player with ticker in Haywood, Ainsworth and Florent who will all be best 23, Chesser who will be an upgrade on our delivery into forward 50, and a smokey in Reidy whose value remains to be seen
Off the field we've added Davies who presents as an extremely professional and knowledgeable person, the highly respected Travis Boak, and brought the highly regarded Josh Fraser back to the club to modernise our forward line.
Interestingly though, to my knowledge we still haven't announced a director/head of coaching?
The stars seem aligned for Ken Hinkley there which would then be the perfect set up for Butters.

The do we or don't we add Butters debate can wait for another day.
He would add class to the side but do we risk going down the unbalanced list path again?
From all accounts it seems that Walker may in time be better than the man himself, maybe Smith as well.
We could end up at square one payments wise?

All in all though I'm extremely happy with what we've done.
Even more happy with the fact that Geelong failed twice, 3 times counting the Grand Final, and absolutely mystified as to why the media has rated Geelong as one of the top rating performers of this trade period?
I just can't quite Cotton On to that??????
IMO, we don't need a 'Director of Coaching', as I reckon the combination of Davies and Wright will have that covered. I'm just wondering about the player development area....

Fair points you raise. GW won’t be a fan of loading the salary cap with Butters. I suppose you hope Butters comes to us for a reasonable price given our connections to him. Wouldn’t bet on it though. It’s a shame because he’s exactly the player we need.
Ummmm...he's exactly the player every club needs....

Wright should have more important stuff to take care of than get involved in coaching.
Yes, but IMO, a few quiet words occasionally to CD, and then downstream would probably have more impact than Cook, Lloyd and Greaves in all their time with us... I think CD will be the main man, and so I'm not so anxious on this whole 'Director of Coaching' thing. IMO, player development, skills coaching, etc is where it's at for me..

While ago it was taboo to ask about Elijah.

Now it seems okay.

Can someone more intelligent than me please clarify why the club allowed him to play last few games in 2’s if his papers were stamped.

It’s all very bizarre.

I’ve asked this question multiple times and no one has answered or given their opinion.

To a certain extent it is OK as far as 'will he go or will he stay' but that's as far as it goes!

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI