NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

This is an extract from the Whitehorse Gambling Harm Minimisation Policy 2024, which states:

1. PURPOSE: The purpose of this policy is to outline Whitehorse City Council’s approach to minimise harm from gambling, with a focus on reducing the economic, social and health harms associated with electronic gaming machines and other forms of gambling.

Section 7 covers the Council's actual policy.

Section 7.16 states that they will:
Not provide funding to hotels and clubs that own or operate electronic gaming machines.
However, with the amount of money spent on Vermont's ground and rooms, it seems that Whitehorse Council have ignored their own policy.
If Vermont wanted those upgrades, then they should have paid for them.
All about politics and influence. I understand the upgrades are funded by both State and Local Government so any policy relating to gambling has been completely overlooked. Remember policy is only good when it doesn't impact on political gain/ spin and organisation image/ reputation.

I wonder what the money obtained by Vermont through their operations is used for. From observations I am not necessarily sure the revenue is all going to benefit the community as such. Paying players an overpriced salary and some staff certainly comes to mind, and I would question that having any community benefit.

Not sure why local government is even involved in gambling policy as they have little to no mandate to manage it as it is controlled by the State Government. Once again, outside their lane and not doing their core business.

I guess it is because they ultimately oversee the granting of licences to pubs and clubs and then any increase in machines.

Gambling is an addiction just like many other things. How many football clubs have had a gambler in their ranks that have stolen thousands of dollars from them?

Or have to make a go fund me for addicted people who gamble away everything

You don’t gamble Bunk?

Yep I do. I just thought this was interesting as it shows Vermont as #4 on the table, really quite amazing, much more than many AFL and VFL clubs.

In any case pokies aren’t gambling, they’re gaming, they simply take money from the players with zero risk for the operator.

Yep I do. I just thought this was interesting as it shows Vermont as #4 on the table, really quite amazing, much more than many AFL and VFL clubs.

In any case pokies aren’t gambling, they’re gaming, they simply take money from the players with zero risk for the operator.
Be interesting to find out how much they put back into the community?

They have a great Auskick program enjoyed by many in the local area!! That’s giving back to the community and again it’s okay to profit in business isn’t it????????????????

They also have a great junior club that is so unbelievably good that all the talented 15-year-olds around the Eastern suburbs seem to flock there.

They have a great Auskick program enjoyed by many in the local area!! That’s giving back to the community and again it’s okay to profit in business isn’t it????????????????

Probably sting parents just as much as any other auskick venue around I reckon. Two's players paying fees would be pretty stiff to know a hour or two on the pokies would cover them!

They also have a great junior club that is so unbelievably good that all the talented 15-year-olds around the Eastern suburbs seem to flock there.

Some enjoy a 45+ min drive to training from dandenong in peak hour to play there too!

Blackburn is no different, success clubs attract people no different to Montrose junior program attracts some parents who’d rather join efnl over outer east……

Yes they take kids that are no good to these clubs to feel good about themselves. Montrose is happy they have positions filled so there kids can play each week Then they have numbers for two sides and the home club they left has 10 players.

There is a difference between attracting players… and actively recruiting the best players in order to boost junior results and bypass the points system when they get to seniors.

Yes they take kids that are no good to these clubs to feel good about themselves. Montrose is happy they have positions filled so there kids can play each week Then they have numbers for two sides and the home club they left has 10 players.
Big fish eats little fish welcome to life

Be interesting to find out how much they put back into the community?
The really interesting thing is that Pokie venues are required to contribute 8.33% of profits back to the community in order to get a tax benefit. You would think that it might be spent on the homeless, battered wives, charities, cancer research etc. etc. But loopholes in the scheme allow them to claim renovations and operating costs. Costs incurred that keep gambling venues open, along with things like Foxtel subscriptions, because the people in the community who use the Pokie venues benefit. For the 2024 year $184 million was spent on these Community benefits. Last year Victorians lost $3,145 million on Pokies. Less than $30K was spent by Pokies venues on gambling harm reduction.
Even if you don't gamble, your tax payments go towards funding the Pokie venues.

I would guess that any money Vermont put into the upgrades at their ground was a tax benefit.

no mention of Noble Park??
The original graph only showed footy clubs with Pokie venues. The Noble Park Pokie venue is a separate identity from the Footy Club. The Footy Club might get some money from from Club Noble, but not the lot like Vermont.

In fact the statement on Club Noble's website says they are a not-for profit organisation.

"Being a not-for-profit community club, our main focus is being an active and positive contributor to the local community, schools, charitable organisations and sporting clubs".

If their statement is accurate, then they probably contribute far more than 8.33%.

The original graph only showed footy clubs with Pokie venues. The Noble Park Pokie venue is a separate identity from the Footy Club. The Footy Club might get some money from from Club Noble, but not the lot like Vermont.

In fact the statement on Club Noble's website says they are a not-for profit organisation.

"Being a not-for-profit community club, our main focus is being an active and positive contributor to the local community, schools, charitable organisations and sporting clubs".

If their statement is accurate, then they probably contribute far more than 8.33%.
Several sporting groups attached to Noble Park, Bowls, Tennis, to name a couple, apparently each get an allocation (%) of profits.

Club Noble is actually Noble Park Football Social Club, yes there are other affiliate clubs now but the senior footy club have more control and funds.

Their problem (and I think the same with Vermont) is that the money they put into the footy club is monitored and they would have real issues were they caught over the salary cap. I don't know exactly how that works but have been told something along those lines.

I was a lot closer to Noble when we were both in SFL but back then it was explained to me that even though people said they must be rolling in money, the pokies was split about 6 ways between the footy, cricket, tennis, bowls, frog racing, etc.

People will have different ideas of "rolling in it", but when your major feeder club is Springvale VFA, people will say that!

Club Noble is actually Noble Park Football Social Club, yes there are other affiliate clubs now but the senior footy club have more control and funds.

Their problem (and I think the same with Vermont) is that the money they put into the footy club is monitored and they would have real issues were they caught over the salary cap. I don't know exactly how that works but have been told something along those lines.
The money won't just go into limbo. It can't all be spent on players, so would think that it must be going into some investment vehicle, perhaps a trust or something along those lines. Whatever method is used it will ensure a financially secure income, if they ever have to divest their Pokies.
Club Noble has contribute around $520K to their affiliated clubs, local schools, and other charities. Pokies losses were $6.008M. The $520K contribution is right on 8.66%.

The money won't just go into limbo. It can't all be spent on players, so would think that it must be going into some investment vehicle, perhaps a trust or something along those lines. Whatever method is used it will ensure a financially secure income, if they ever have to divest their Pokies.
Club Noble has contribute around $520K to their affiliated clubs, local schools, and other charities. Pokies losses were $6.008M. The $520K contribution is right on 8.66%.
So where do you have the info Noble has contributed around $520k to there affilated clubs,local schools and charities.