Father & Son & Academy Prospects

• Thread starter Thread starter Cevap_Roll

Of course I read what you said :)
The hand has been played and here is how the cards fell : we got the haul we wanted, nobody bidded on Louis, and we were left with 1 spot on the rookie list. And we passed out. I'd say the cards fell perfectly for Louis if he was even the slimmest of chances, but evidently he actually wasn't rated. That's doggy style to me :wineglass::smoking:
My guess is if NRT got pinched we would have passed and taken 2 picks into the RD and used one on Louie and kept one for the SSP.

If there was no chance, we wouldn't have nominated him.

Could it be that they saw much more potential in NRT than Louis? Seeing as they are both inside players but NRT a much better athlete and has forward potential also?

He is needs developing, Louis was always going to be a project player even SA coach said so. But I don’t know why they didn’t decide to grab him as so far he would have one of the Highest AFL IQ in our team. That same coach said in 3/4 years hed be matured and developed.

Another thing I’ll add, I’d rather a player that requires attention training and to be developed over 2-3 years to get going who has high footy Iq, great clearance work, all combine results were good compared to some of the spud campaigners this club holds onto ffs.

If I was the Kellaway's i'd be sending invites to every club to train with, except Richmond. Bloody disappointing they didn't take him as even a Cat B.

Kellaway can’t be taken as a Cat-B. That rule only exists for NGA players not Father/sons.

We gave list spots to Colina. Even Soldo, Maric's f-ing cousin. Signed Samson Ryan to a 7 years worth of deals. Dow 5 years of deals. Re-signed Prestia despite a pending courtcase, & don't even give that kid a chance, after nominating him?

Oh boy. First two players were Cat-B so not relevant. Then Prestia who when he re-signed hadn’t been charged. Then using poor list management decisions to justify a reckless abandon to list management decisions is an interesting arguement to say the least.

I hope i'm proven wrong, but one of the most disappointing drafts / offseasons i can recall. 7 wins over 2 seasons, hiding behind the "rebuilding" narrative & we took 3 new players & 1 traded VFL bloke.

Can't hide behind "rebuilding" when you only take 3 kids in all draft - wanna be getting 7+ wins next year Adem otherwise expect the mob to start backing up the trucks. Shithouse off-season

We took four players in the draft not three. We also have the ability to take an extra one as an SSP; which still may be Kellaway. So five new players.

Kellaway also retains his
F/S status for next years draft.

Retchko was a draftee from last year, and if you knew anything about him you wouldn’t label him just a ‘VFL bloke’.

This draft was not the draft where you take mass amount of players, like how we did you know… last year. It has a lack of both top end talent and depth.

You know how many teams since the league went to 18 teams have taken more than 9 top 30 picks over two years who weren’t Gold Coast or GWS? One. Us. Last two years. If that isn’t rebuilding (turning over 30% of your list in two years) then no team has rebuilt ever.

Reading Kellaway's scouting report he sounded like his ol man. Inside mid who could lock down. Clean hands. From incredibly great DNA/stock. I'm more disappointed in the club passing him as a Cat B than the total shock of their selections in the ND.

All this anger based off reading a scouting report? Maybe actually watch vision and compare Kellaway to his peers. He was rated by almost everyone a 50+ prospect in the worst draft in the last 10 years for a reason.

Again, he can’t be placed on the Cat-b, that’s not possible for father/son selections.

Not how i like my club. Pressure is on now tho - no more "rebuilding" horseshit. This was the last draft before Tasmania and you sat on your arse and took 3 ****ing players. It's winning time Adem

If you’re going to go on a rampage about the inadequacy of our draft I suggest you:

a) learn the list management rules and;
b) actually count how many draftees we took (4 not 3 with the ability to take another under the SSP).

Last draft before Tassie has little to do with it. It was a dud draft. The teams that took the most players? West Coast with six (noting they have an extended rookie list due to concessions), and Essendon who took 5.

We’ll likely end up with the most players from this draft after the SSP with exception of West Coast with five.

No issue if you think we should have taken Kellaway (I do as well), but if your going to pot the club maybe get the basic facts right first.

Could it be that they saw much more potential in NRT than Louis? Seeing as they are both inside players but NRT a much better athlete and has forward potential also?

This is my thought as well. The fact that we traded into the draft to take NRT is a good indication of that.

My bet is that if the draft had fallen another way we would have taken three players in the National Draft; Kellaway in the rookie draft and still had an SSP.

I would be very surprised if Kellaway isn’t a train on player for the last SSP spot, competing probably with Harry Scott for the final spot.

I’d also wouldn’t be surprised if Scott wins that, Kellaway plays for Richmond VFL, retains his F/S status and is picked up either in the MSD (although F/S means nothing there) or is held over to the 2026 draft as a possibility there.

If I was the Kellaway's i'd be sending invites to every club to train with, except Richmond. Bloody disappointing they didn't take him as even a Cat B.

We gave list spots to Colina. Even Soldo, Maric's f-ing cousin. Signed Samson Ryan to a 7 years worth of deals. Dow 5 years of deals. Re-signed Prestia despite a pending courtcase, & don't even give that kid a chance, after nominating him?

I hope i'm proven wrong, but one of the most disappointing drafts / offseasons i can recall. 7 wins over 2 seasons, hiding behind the "rebuilding" narrative & we took 3 new players & 1 traded VFL bloke.

Can't hide behind "rebuilding" when you only take 3 kids in all draft - wanna be getting 7+ wins next year Adem otherwise expect the mob to start backing up the trucks. Shithouse off-season

Reading Kellaway's scouting report he sounded like his ol man. Inside mid who could lock down. Clean hands. From incredibly great DNA/stock. I'm more disappointed in the club passing him as a Cat B than the total shock of their selections in the ND.

Not how i like my club. Pressure is on now tho - no more "rebuilding" horseshit. This was the last draft before Tasmania and you sat on your arse and took 3 ****ing players. It's winning time Adem
Father sons can't be taken as a Cat B rookies that is for overlooked academy players.

Club has been honest and upfront with Louis every step of the way

They nominated him to allow other clubs to either bid on him which at a certain point we were happy to much but also just as happy not match if it was Early

We were keen on nrt and moved up to get him

If nrt was gone we would of passed and taken kellaway in the rookie draft

With either Chris scherri Harry Scott or hollands as ssp

As nrt was available we took him

And we couldn't separate the other 4 so we kept spot open to let them fight for it

Reckon that's pretty piss poor from our club. Would prefer to give him a chance than watch Sonsie run around another year.
If no other team has selected Kellaway, then it suggests he needs to work on his game.

Players from other teams see their friends get selected and they miss out, it is the industry that is AFL.

Would it matter if it was a John Doe rather than a name (e.g. Kellaway)?

My guess is if NRT got pinched we would have passed and taken 2 picks into the RD and used one on Louie and kept one for the SSP.

If there was no chance, we wouldn't have nominated him.
I think this is exactly what happened. Always the intention to us SSP for the 5th list spot and who know what's available late draft, could have been no one and we rookie Louis and run a 37 + 5 list.

NRT was obviously very high on our board so we made it happen

Duncan Kellaway wasn't an inside mid. He was a back pocket.

Kellaway can’t be taken as a Cat-B. That rule only exists for NGA players not Father/sons.

Oh boy. First two players were Cat-B so not relevant. Then Prestia who when he re-signed hadn’t been charged. Then using poor list management decisions to justify a reckless abandon to list management decisions is an interesting arguement to say the least.

We took four players in the draft not three. We also have the ability to take an extra one as an SSP; which still may be Kellaway. So five new players.

Kellaway also retains his
F/S status for next years draft.

Retchko was a draftee from last year, and if you knew anything about him you wouldn’t label him just a ‘VFL bloke’.

This draft was not the draft where you take mass amount of players, like how we did you know… last year. It has a lack of both top end talent and depth.

You know how many teams since the league went to 18 teams have taken more than 9 top 30 picks over two years who weren’t Gold Coast or GWS? One. Us. Last two years. If that isn’t rebuilding (turning over 30% of your list in two years) then no team has rebuilt ever.

All this anger based off reading a scouting report? Maybe actually watch vision and compare Kellaway to his peers. He was rated by almost everyone a 50+ prospect in the worst draft in the last 10 years for a reason.

Again, he can’t be placed on the Cat-b, that’s not possible for father/son selections.

If you’re going to go on a rampage about the inadequacy of our draft I suggest you:

a) learn the list management rules and;
b) actually count how many draftees we took (4 not 3 with the ability to take another under the SSP).

Last draft before Tassie has little to do with it. It was a dud draft. The teams that took the most players? West Coast with six (noting they have an extended rookie list due to concessions), and Essendon who took 5.

We’ll likely end up with the most players from this draft after the SSP with exception of West Coast with five.

No issue if you think we should have taken Kellaway (I do as well), but if your going to pot the club maybe get the basic facts right first.
8 high picks in 24, 2 in 25, plus 2 more kids. Stiff for Kellaway but no one took him in main or rookie drafts.

Got Nank, Lynch, Prestia, Broad all out in 26. huge rebuild.
Sonsie, Prestia gets a year too long maybe.
that's a huge rebuild

5 wins when we were tipped to win none. hope the fwd line gels.

Love posters upset because they saw we picked a player that missed a couple of kicks on a video or missed a player that can run really fast but but but but Louis' daddy played for us surely we pick him? 🥺

He looks a solid type but physically he's a very light frame and we picked others ahead of him with more attractive traits. Agree with other posts saying he was probably next in line but the cookie crumbled the way it did. Perhaps he gets a chance as a train on, otherwise I think he could be a better prospect in a couple of years.

Our messaging really is not that clear and that just sounds like a company line that gets trotted out

How is nominating a kid as father son then not selecting him in the draft and taking a pass as a rookie clear messaging
Should have just done what the Pies did with McGuane and not nominated him and dont give the kid hope
THIS!

It’s an odd one but kind of just seemed like if we had enough spots we would of taken him but on draft night we had players still on the board who we preferred

Hopefully gets a chance as a train on and can put forward his case against whoever might be training on as well

Another thing I’ll add, I’d rather a player that requires attention training and to be developed over 2-3 years to get going who has high footy Iq, great clearance work, all combine results were good compared to some of the spud campaigners this club holds onto ffs.

The argument for cutting deeper into the list and having more picks is a separate one to Kellaway as a player. I agree I'd rather Kellaway over a few guys the list that are very high on the delist pile next year. And probably could've or should've been cut this year if we cut harder.

But I'd also rather at least 3-5 better prospects still not drafted on the list over Kellaway (like Burton, NHH, BOB, maybe even Harry Scott who has a more clear role at AFL level).

So I'd say that's probably a better argument then all this crying over Kellaway individually.

It's very likely that we may have taken him as a rookie had the players we picked up not all been midfielders.
There's only so many players that can be played at VFL level to develop in a position.
Anyway it will be interesting to see if he's one of the players we have train for that SSP selection

I think not taking Kellaway as a Cat B & Greeves as a Rookie selection was a bad move. I think for all our 1st & 2nd round picks our midfield depth longterm is pretty poor. Still completely reliant on Taranto/Hopper.

The longer i look at our pre-season the more i think it was one of the worst i can remember for us. Club needs to be doing shitloads more to get better after 7/46 wins over the past 2 years under Yze

People saying we are smart as we get to trial the remaining rookies before selecting are laughable. We are now picking with another 25 players off the board, some of which were projected to be late 1st, early 2nd rounders.

Im very concerned at the Yze era. They remind me of "The Process" 76ers who accepted losing as part of their "process" & ended up with a lot of highly talented losers like Simmons, Okafor, Embiid - a lot of very soft players.

I think not taking Kellaway as a Cat B & Greeves as a Rookie selection was a bad move. I think for all our 1st & 2nd round picks our midfield depth longterm is pretty poor. Still completely reliant on Taranto/Hopper.

Again… and this cannot be stressed enough; KELLAWAY COULD NOT BE TAKEN AS A CAT-B ROOKIE.

People saying we are smart as we get to trial the remaining rookies before selecting are laughable. We are now picking with another 25 players off the board, some of which were projected to be late 1st, early 2nd rounders.

If players were projected to be be late 1st/ early second rounders, why didn’t they get drafted late first or early second? Or even late second or early third? Or even late third or early fourth?

Also which 25 players? I’m lost. There were 60 players selected in the National Draft and 15 players taken (not re-listed players) in the rookie draft.

Im very concerned at the Yze era. They remind me of "The Process" 76ers who accepted losing as part of their "process" & ended up with a lot of highly talented losers like Simmons, Okafor, Embiid - a lot of very soft players.

What complete and utter tosh.

Some expected us to not win a game last year and we ended up winning five. The club has not accepted losing as part of the ‘process’.

Lastly, the same process was what OKC did, and they just won a championship.

Again… and this cannot be stressed enough; KELLAWAY COULD NOT BE TAKEN AS A CAT-B ROOKIE.

If players were projected to be be late 1st/ early second rounders, why didn’t they get drafted late first or early second? Or even late second or early third? Or even late third or early fourth?

Also which 25 players? I’m lost. There were 60 players selected in the National Draft and 15 players taken (not re-listed players) in the rookie draft.

What complete and utter tosh.

Some expected us to not win a game last year and we ended up winning five. The club has not accepted losing as part of the ‘process’.

Lastly, the same process was what OKC did, and they just won a championship.

Oh FFS - people now acting like "Projected Drafts" mean nothing. Just ignoring they have been used for decades, not just in the AFL. nut the NFL, MBA, MLB, NHL. The people that make them tend to know a lot more about footy than anyone here & that is a clear fact. Cal's projected draft managed to get 20/20 - just not in the same right order. But, he got the first 20 kids to be picked 100% correct. Lucky guesses i assume?

IF it was a Rookie or Cat B - does it matter? I won't pretend to know all the details of the Cat B, but i thought this as a few people who do know this stuff said he would qualify. Perhaps they were wrong, but either way - we passed on the Standard Rookie spot. Why not actually use that on Louie?