Training 2026 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

I'd say it's only Matt Cottrell that is the most concern. Whilst I don't think they would have expected his recovery would be this slow, sounds like he's on a deliberate 'steady, steady' build up. If he's not running by mid-January he's not playing any footy in March.

Interesting that Newman is back in rehab group after flying around in main training back in July/August.

Reidy wants the number one ruck spot. Just sent Pitto off the ground after a ruck contest.

Besides his kicking, there is no finesse about Reidy, no doubt if he plays there will be an unduly rough play charge layer on him at some point.

The best news I've heard all day...

Sick to death of these model citizens running around in Navy Blue...

Reidy wants the number one ruck spot. Just sent Pitto off the ground after a ruck contest.

Besides his kicking, there is no finesse about Reidy, no doubt if he plays there will be an unduly rough play charge layer on him at some point.
So, shades of Xerri?

Random observations, so I’ll be a bit all over the shop.

We have a lot more noticeably good kicks in this squad. There were passages of play where the ball didn’t hit the ground (let’s see if this transfers to an actual game). Sizzling kicks to leading forwards too — I’m looking at Boyd and Wilson amongst a heap of others.

I’ve joined others in thinking Florent will be very valuable for us in ’26.

Byrne is a ripper. What you see in the draft-day highlights video is what I saw on the track.

Kemp and Newman joined in everything other than drills where tackling was in play.

Carroll and Fog were in rehab for the whole session, I think.

A game-simulation drill was played in a very tight, narrow area on one side of the ground — a 3/4-length field with the wings brought in tight. They went into the corridor as often as possible, with outlet kicks only seemingly at the minimum legally allowed kicking distance. They moved the ball quickly, but to me it wasn’t manic — it was more controlled — and the outlet was taken if the corridor was covered.

There was a drill in the forward line where players worked on blocking or creating paths for leading players, and bringing the ball to ground if there was no chance to mark. Harry, HOK and Kemp were all part of the same team. This was my favorite viewing of the session.

Still no idea who No. 50 was.

Not sure if Frank can recapture the form of late last year, but in the last couple of sessions I’ve seen he is certainly eye-catching. He just seems to be in positions where the ball ends up.

Speaking of eye-catching, Moir is another.

Lots of tight handball drills where the objective is to get it moving to the outside to run with it, or kick with less pressure.

Umpires were involved in quite a few drills.

I’ll leave the more nuanced commentary on drills to those who have more understanding than me.

We have a lot more noticeably good kicks in this squad. There were passages of play where the ball didn’t hit the ground (let’s see if this transfers to an actual game). Sizzling kicks to leading forwards too — I’m looking at Boyd and Wilson amongst a heap of others.

Byrne is a ripper. What you see in the draft-day highlights video is what I saw on the track.

Kemp and Newman joined in everything other than drills where tackling was in play.

A game-simulation drill was played in a very tight, narrow area on one side of the ground — a 3/4-length field with the wings brought in tight. They went into the corridor as often as possible, with outlet kicks only seemingly at the minimum legally allowed kicking distance. They moved the ball quickly, but to me it wasn’t manic — it was more controlled — and the outlet was taken if the corridor was covered.

There was a drill in the forward line where players worked on blocking or creating paths for leading players, and bringing the ball to ground if there was no chance to mark. Harry, HOK and Kemp were all part of the same team. This was my favorite viewing of the session.

Not sure if Frank can recapture the form of late last year, but in the last couple of sessions I’ve seen he is certainly eye-catching. He just seems to be in positions where the ball ends up.

Lots of tight handball drills where the objective is to get it moving to the outside to run with it, or kick with less pressure.

I’ll leave the more nuanced commentary on drills to those who have more understanding than me.
Thanks for taking the time to share with us mate. Some great info in there.

So much to like from hearing some of this.

Didn’t see Ainsworth, Cottrell, Duffy, Saad, HOF on the track at all (hard to keep track so not impossible one was there)

Fog, Kemp, Newman, Carroll involved in 1 or 2 drills but largely rehab. Carroll outmarked Flynn Riley 4 consecutive times during a drill at one point, looks a bit stronger.

Haynes ran a stack of laps but didn’t see a footy in his hands.

Clear standout for the day was Walsh for me. He’s moving at serious speed whenever he has the ball and his ability to follow up and dispose effectively without slowing is a serious weapon.

Others who look the goods:

Frank’s kicking is seriously good. Long penetrating and very rarely off target. Kicked 2 in 20 mins of full ground match sim

Florent just looks a plug and play every week guy. Wants the ball, uses it well and with purpose, always talking.

Didn’t see a heap of him but Billy Wilson was quick and clean. Wasn’t sure if he had AFL traits but he’s tracking better.

Honourable mentions:

Boyd looks to be taking his kicking on again.

Lucas Campo ran well and did a few nice things.

Acres ran his guts out all day and got a stack of it during the match sim.

Lord was busy, as was Motlop who proved a valuable link in the chain higher up the ground

Young players:

Jagga slowly ramping up

Didn’t see a heap of Dean/Byrne/Ison. All had a couple of moments.

Ison seemed to be splitting minutes on one wing with Chesser. Maybe both on a managed load?

SSP:

Lij showed he has all the talent. White worked hard.

Phillips is a nice size, competes in the air but his kicking is a bit untidy.

Riley got monstered in a drill by Carroll and looks a raw, skinny prospect.

Overall a long session. Out before 10 and finished running just after 1. Tough going given the heat but good to see the vast majority involved in almost all of it.

Didn’t see Ainsworth, Cottrell, Duffy, Saad, HOF on the track at all (hard to keep track so not impossible one was there)

Fog, Kemp, Newman, Carroll involved in 1 or 2 drills but largely rehab. Carroll outmarked Flynn Riley 4 consecutive times during a drill at one point, looks a bit stronger.

Haynes ran a stack of laps but didn’t see a footy in his hands.

Clear standout for the day was Walsh for me. He’s moving at serious speed whenever he has the ball and his ability to follow up and dispose effectively without slowing is a serious weapon.

Others who look the goods:

Frank’s kicking is seriously good. Long penetrating and very rarely off target. Kicked 2 in 20 mins of full ground match sim

Florent just looks a plug and play every week guy. Wants the ball, uses it well and with purpose, always talking.

Didn’t see a heap of him but Billy Wilson was quick and clean. Wasn’t sure if he had AFL traits but he’s tracking better.

Honourable mentions:

Boyd looks to be taking his kicking on again.

Lucas Campo ran well and did a few nice things.

Acres ran his guts out all day and got a stack of it during the match sim.

Lord was busy, as was Motlop who proved a valuable link in the chain higher up the ground

Young players:

Jagga slowly ramping up

Didn’t see a heap of Dean/Byrne/Ison. All had a couple of moments.

Ison seemed to be splitting minutes on one wing with Chesser. Maybe both on a managed load?

SSP:

Lij showed he has all the talent. White worked hard.

Phillips is a nice size, competes in the air but his kicking is a bit untidy.

Riley got monstered in a drill by Carroll and looks a raw, skinny prospect.

Overall a long session. Out before 10 and finished running just after 1. Tough going given the heat but good to see the vast majority involved in almost all of it.

Thanks for the report.

On Blue Abroad it was mentioned that the final match sim seemed to be probables vs possibles. Any surprises with the lineups?

Training 2026 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc