Seriously this time Random Chat thread [Now politics free! - may contain nuts]

• Thread starter Thread starter Ry009

Who owns perplexity? I reckon they’re going after Google as a search engine. They’re sponsoring almost every podcast I listen to, so now instead of the podcaster saying “Google that” they say “put that into Perplexity”
Theres room for a good search engine because goofle algorithms are so tainted to benifit their advertisers most search results are garbage. I used to like hotbot which had goid results before Yahoo bought it and simply returned their results in its search screen.

My 14 year old second cousin asked me “when you were kids did your friends try to steal cars” “did kids vape back then?” “Did police always come to your school” “did your friends stab eachother”

I just lolled.

I am just very happy to have grown up in a time where at 14-15 was obsessing over writing fan fiction of 5sos and being a complete nerd.
I liked growing up when you could buy a 22 from kmart or a hunting knife from aussie disposals. The street where i lived would all congregate on the crown land at the end of the road and light a big bonfire at guy fawks and all the kids would run round shooting one another with 10 shooters or baby rocket fireworks. Pausing momentarily every time a grown up would launch a rocket or let off a roman candle.

My 14 year old second cousin asked me “when you were kids did your friends try to steal cars” “did kids vape back then?” “Did police always come to your school” “did your friends stab eachother”

I just lolled.

I am just very happy to have grown up in a time where at 14-15 was obsessing over writing fan fiction of 5sos and being a complete nerd.
I'm seriously thinking about raising my kids abroad tbh.

The only difference between now n then… these little ****ers on electric motorbikes arent chased and run down by police cars. We were chased and chased and chased.. hunted.
We didn't have vapes either.

It is brother but I've not seen a lot like what we're seeing here in Aus, particularly the big cities and violent tendencies.
I honestly don't think Australia is as violent as it used to be.

I used to work in a suburban pub/hotel/motel/bottlo/nightclub in the north western suburbs and if I was working early (ie 7am) after a night the nightclub was open I'd usually have to wash the blood off the driveway.

Theres room for a good search engine because goofle algorithms are so tainted to benifit their advertisers most search results are garbage. I used to like hotbot which had goid results before Yahoo bought it and simply returned their results in its search screen.

Do you know much about Dr. Robert Epstein? No relationship with Jeff. He’s done a lot of research in search engines and mainly Google. Last time I listened to him was a few years back so maybe things have changed, but his studies show that pretty much all the alternatives still rely on Google.

Fascinating guy. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Epstein

I just lolled.

It’s no worse now than it was in the past. Anyone that thinks that just had a different experience when they were younger.

I used to work in a suburban pub/hotel/motel/bottlo/nightclub in the north western suburbs and if I was working early (ie 7am) after a night the nightclub was open I'd usually have to wash the blood off the driveway.

The proliferation of cameras on phones and cctv has led to these violent incidents becoming lead items on lame stream media; the boomers see it and we’re off to the races whinging and fear mongering, when like you say, it was worse 30-40 ego

I grew up in Reservoir before it gentrified and I was in a commission estate. Probably close to the roughest area in Melbourne.

The crimes that young people are committing these days are incredibly violent and surprisingly organized, at what seem to be increasingly younger ages.

The reason it feels like a paradox or untrue, or just hype, is because IMO the average 18-30yo is a lot less violent (aka willing to punch on) than they were in your day or even back when I was younger. That has genuinely improved.

IMO what has gotten much, much worse is the age, amount and type of crimes committed by the smaller number who are committing offences.

The local school and shopping centre here is locked down way too frequently with stabbing threats, groups of kids with knives etc. It doesn't make the news, just like it didn't when I was younger. But what for me was a once in a six year event during my high school days is a once a month event for kids in my area. There's kids I speak to who don't carry their phones because they know they'll have a knife pulled on them. While that was always a risk where and when I grew up, it wasn't so ever present a risk that I would just avoid carrying shit I need so I don't get robbed.

I grew up in Reservoir before it gentrified and I was in a commission estate. Probably close to the roughest area in Melbourne.

The crimes that young people are committing these days are incredibly violent and surprisingly organized, at what seem to be increasingly younger ages.

The reason it feels like a paradox or untrue, or just hype, is because IMO the average 18-30yo is a lot less violent (aka willing to punch on) than they were in your day or even back when I was younger. That has genuinely improved.

IMO what has gotten much, much worse is the age, amount and type of crimes committed by the smaller number who are committing offences.

The local school and shopping centre here is locked down way too frequently with stabbing threats, groups of kids with knives etc. It doesn't make the news, just like it didn't when I was younger. But what for me was a once in a six year event during my high school days is a once a month event for kids in my area. There's kids I speak to who don't carry their phones because they know they'll have a knife pulled on them. While that was always a risk where and when I grew up, it wasn't so ever present a risk that I would just avoid carrying shit I need so I don't get robbed.
When I was a kid mobile phones didn't exist so I guess that's a whole new world. And I've walked around dodgy areas of Melbourne (and Sydney a few times) and never been hassled by people. (Cops yeah but normal humans no.) I've known a few dodgy people too over the years so home invasions and stuff like that are something I was aware of since the early 90s.

I don't really spend enough time in Melbourne these days to know what its like.

I've got a mate who grew up in Preston, my age, so mid 50s. He's doesn't do this stuff anymore, not since he was a kid but in high school they'd piss off from school and go steal cars to go joyriding three or four times a week.

But lockdowns were never a thing. No one would have allowed them back then. We were a different society. My primary school kids have done lock down drills at school here and in NSW. It kind of pisses me off tbh.

When I was a kid mobile phones didn't exist so I guess that's a whole new world. And I've walked around dodgy areas of Melbourne (and Sydney a few times) and never been hassled by people. (Cops yeah but normal humans no.) I've known a few dodgy people too over the years so home invasions and stuff like that are something I was aware of since the early 90s.

I don't really spend enough time in Melbourne these days to know what its like.

I've got a mate who grew up in Preston, my age, so mid 50s. He's doesn't do this stuff anymore, not since he was a kid but in high school they'd piss off from school and go steal cars to go joyriding three or four times a week.

But lockdowns were never a thing. No one would have allowed them back then. We were a different society. My primary school kids have done lock down drills at school here and in NSW. It kind of pisses me off tbh.

losing the group you were with in the city you were very lucky to stumble back onto them . otherwise you had to drink with randoms till the train left

Turn a million today into multiple billions in 20 years? Sure, but anyone with security and a million to burn can take risks not many others cant and the chances are a lot higher than you would think. How many people have the ability to potentially flush a million down the dunny?
You haven't? What wrong with ya? ;)

****ing Ben Berw***er. Cost me a bit a few years ago.
so move to the country, loving tanjil south

Agree. Always a carpark at the supermarket, people wave hello on occasion, no traffic... make some friends at your local Taffco... have spent best part of 25 years trying to get out of Aus but happy up here. Internet is ok, Kayo works... coolish at night, so sleep well.

Even some handyish talent at the local cafe (if that's your thing). Could be worse!!

Nekminit

There is currently a major Police manhunt underway in the Moondarra area. Access via Moe may be restricted. Use the Tyers access...hopefully that is open...but could change in this fluid situation.
Cannot describe how much I miss the country. Will be living rural again within a decade if all goes to plan.

Nekminit

There is currently a major Police manhunt underway in the Moondarra area. Access via Moe may be restricted. Use the Tyers access...hopefully that is open...but could change in this fluid situation.
We should have shut up earlier.

Do you know much about Dr. Robert Epstein? No relationship with Jeff. He’s done a lot of research in search engines and mainly Google. Last time I listened to him was a few years back so maybe things have changed, but his studies show that pretty much all the alternatives still rely on Google.

Fascinating guy. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Epstein
Yea unfortunately thats the case and has been for a while. Its literally a search monopoly

We should have shut up earlier.
So looks like the same bozo that jacked a car at hazelwood north then averted police at traralgon, went out to glengary and threatened someone with an axe to steal a Subaru which un beknown to him had a tracker in it. Did a runner into state forest when was cornered. Friggen clown...

Picked up a new rifle in warragul today and as soon as the woman there saw my licence and where we live asked about the manhunt

Cannot describe how much I miss the country. Will be living rural again within a decade if all goes to plan.
Come my lad, we will welcome you with open arms! There's 5acre lots for sale in Myrtleford for $650k.

The bloke next door to me tried to sell me his house (165acres) at the local Xmas Party for $2.5m - I offered him $1.8m (not that I have it lol)