Player Watch #17 Maurice Rioli Jnr

• Thread starter Thread starter Sterge

cmt GIF by Party Down South

How old was his dad when he came over to victoria

I know he won a standover earlier, but was he a late bloomer ?
No he was a star in WA. Just didn't want to come to vic but the offer was too good to refuse.

Maurice fits into the category of "potential" and while we are a lower ranked side he can stay on our list.
If he is dispersed (up the track) then it is for the better IMO. Maurice jnr is a far cry from Maurice Snr

Him and my boy Sampson are gonna hav breakout years

If Sampson could turn it around and become a top 5 Ruckman in 2026 he would become a cult hero. By the time his current contract expires, he has been a fwd ruck for almost the same amount of years Ottens was a Tiger & I remember people kinda being "good riddance" when he left & people saying he needed a change.

I don't think there has been a player that has gotten as much patience from Richmond people than Samson Ryan. Jason Castagna only played for us for 7 years. He won 3 flags, then had to retire early as he lost the love of footy & Richmond supporters used to almost heckle him by the end. Sa

Samson Ryan - must be touched by god, or do a mean wash & detail

1764342143916.png

MRJ fit and hopefully playing more mid time might just be when we see what all the teases have been about.

I'm hopeful, but keeping myself under control.

Only just turned 23 and has 10 years left if he pops
At worst he has a really long career ahead of him if he takes it seriously. Looks like he has taken the first step finally.

Would love to see him get the best out of himself.

No he was a star in WA. Just didn't want to come to vic but the offer was too good to refuse.
F....g GR eh?
Senior IN and Cloke and Raines OUT. Made the granny so the trade gave some success.
37 year drought start too.
I was out of the country then in WA so missed that 80s Richmond.
So never watched the old man play. So the Rioli name ~ a lot of them playing. Dan at our club.

MRJ is quick but very limited footballer. injury prone.

So, 2025 MRJ November in Melbourne in playing nic, back home loses it.
rinse and repeat ~ when he returns in 2026 in good nic be an improvement. A Maurice Rioli won't get delisted, maybe traded.

be great if he kicked a goal or 2. lowest scoring team for a couple of years. Campbell our leading goal kicker.

Dow and KMac gone means CBA opportunity. Rather have MRJ playing there.

F....g GR eh?
Senior IN and Cloke and Raines OUT. Made the granny so the trade gave some success.
So never watched the old man play. So the Rioli name ~ a lot of them playing. Dan at our club.

rinse and repeat ~ when he returns in 2026 in good nic be an improvement. A Maurice Rioli won't get delisted, maybe traded.

be great if he kicked a goal or 2. lowest scoring team for a couple of years. Campbell our leading goal kicker.

Maurice snr wasn't traded for any players. Raines and Cloke found out how much he was being paid and demanded more. GR refused so they left
Raines was also pissed off Maurice played in his position and Raines was played out of his position. Bryan Wood went to the Bombers too.

Maurice snr wasn't traded for any players. Raines and Cloke found out how much he was being paid and demanded more. GR refused so they left
Raines was also pissed off Maurice played in his position and Raines was played out of his position. Bryan Wood went to the Bombers too.
Sheedy was coaching there got him over. Sproule had been a good get .

GR's hate of Collingwood was No.1. mind you GR was in the middle of that windy hill brawl. 15 at the time used to go to windy hill with a few mates to drink tinnies. GR's bouncing at the Ballroom brutal too. Small campaigner ~ could fight.
Rex moved to Geelong as we got Andrews.
GR let good players go to the Swans too. Whale and Teasdale. but he basically set up a dynasty from scratch.. local kids, KB Sheeds, , Barrott, Green. country kids Francis and Clay, Royce, Richo from Tassie, WA ~ Balme, Mal Brown,

F....g GR eh?

Maurice Rioli snr was an elite player.

If Junior gets anywhere near him we have a huge win.

MRJ can most definitely play. Particularly if he gets super fit.
My main knock on him is his kicking but he’s good for 2-3 turnovers goals a game through his i50 pressure and if he can pinch hit aka kossie pickett in the midfield that it just gives us that unpredictable rotation we are currently lacking…

If Sampson could turn it around and become a top 5 Ruckman in 2026 he would become a cult hero. By the time his current contract expires, he has been a fwd ruck for almost the same amount of years Ottens was a Tiger & I remember people kinda being "good riddance" when he left & people saying he needed a change.

I don't think there has been a player that has gotten as much patience from Richmond people than Samson Ryan. Jason Castagna only played for us for 7 years. He won 3 flags, then had to retire early as he lost the love of footy & Richmond supporters used to almost heckle him by the end. Sa

Samson Ryan - must be touched by god, or do a mean wash & detail

View attachment 2487590
Was unfortunate enough to see him player with Sherwood in Qld - never wanted him on our list from the very beginning. If he comes 'good' I'll be surprised, pleasantly, but surprised all the same.

MRJ fit and hopefully playing more mid time might just be when we see what all the teases have been about.

I'm hopeful, but keeping myself under control.
pound desk tapping GIF

Skincolourist at very worst.

Maurice is my favourite player by the way. Mates reckon if I ever meet a chick she will run a long second to Maurice.

So it's ok.
are u still rooting campaigners wives in the au ltd these days ?