2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Was watching channel 7 news last night and in the intro on a segment, apparently about the Lions he says, The Lions are off to the Sunshine Coast on a week long Camp and that the quest for a 3 peat begins now.

I was expecting them to go to a clip of Lions training and maybe a few clips from an interview with a player or Coach but they went to a reporter standing there on her own talking about the breakup of Lachie and Jules and how she was venturing out for her first Public event since the breakup.🤯

Nothing about the lions at all, not a thing.
Yes , we watched that as well.
It was appaulling tbh.
Who F.. cares about their personal life.
He screwed up and paying the price.
Why is that even on the evening news , talk about a bunch of misleading leeches .

Anyway , in refenence to very little social media from the club, I agree , bit slack from the club.
I put that in the same basket of no laynards or membership cards, have to say poor effort as it seems like a low priority.

Yeah that's really interesting because you like at them, and well at least to me, its always looked like Will has been a bit more stocky whereas Levi a bit more lean.
Levi has always had the stockier build.

I will put this here seeing we are not doing much on social media. :)

BRISBANE

B:
Ryan Lester, Jack Payne, Noah Answerth
HB: Dayne Zorko, Harris Andrews, Jaspa Fletcher
C: Jarrod Berry, Lachie Neale, Sam Marshall
HF: Zac Bailey, Logan Morris, Cam Rayner
F: Charlie Cameron, Oscar Allen, Ty Gallop
Foll: Sam Draper, Hugh McCluggage, Josh Dunkley
I/C: Darcy Wilmot, Keidean Coleman, Levi Ashcroft, Will Ashcroft, Kai Lohmann

Emerg: Darcy Gardiner, Bruce Reville, Dan Annable, Darcy Fort

Following the off-season additions of Oscar Allen and Sam Draper, this will be a brutally difficult selection if everyone is fit. Eric Hipwood will miss a decent chunk of the first half of the season as he recovers from knee surgery, paving the way for Ty Gallop to have an extended run in the forward line. Jack Payne's early-season return from a knee injury puts on a backline squeeze, with Ryan Lester ever-so-narrowly getting the nod over his good mate Darcy Gardiner in the 23. Noah Answerth (returning from a ruptured Achilles) slides straight into the vacancy left by the departed Brandon Starcevich, while we've found room for Keidean Coleman after a horrid run with injury over the past two years. His return to the backline might push Jaspa Fletcher or Darcy Wilmot to a wing for stretches, but either way, it's a nice selection problem to have for Chris Fagan and his match committee. - Michael Whiting

Lions forward battling 'tedious' road back from second ACL tear
The Brisbane Academy product [Hipwood] said he was hopeful of returning "mid to late season", but understood setbacks were part of the recovery process and nothing was set in stone.
The other injury concern for the two-time premiers is full-back Jack Payne, also on the way back from knee surgery, although he is expected to be available very close to the season start.

BRISBANE

B:

Following the off-season additions of Oscar Allen and Sam Draper, this will be a brutally difficult selection if everyone is fit. Eric Hipwood will miss a decent chunk of the first half of the season as he recovers from knee surgery, paving the way for Ty Gallop to have an extended run in the forward line. Jack Payne's early-season return from a knee injury puts on a backline squeeze, with Ryan Lester ever-so-narrowly getting the nod over his good mate Darcy Gardiner in the 23. Noah Answerth (returning from a ruptured Achilles) slides straight into the vacancy left by the departed Brandon Starcevich, while we've found room for Keidean Coleman after a horrid run with injury over the past two years. His return to the backline might push Jaspa Fletcher or Darcy Wilmot to a wing for stretches, but either way, it's a nice selection problem to have for Chris Fagan and his match committee. - Michael Whiting

The emergencies are premiership players and Pick 6. With a 2x Norm Smith Medalist on the bench 😳

Bloody hell..

BRISBANE

B:

That half forward line is like something from out of an Avenger's movie. Would be nearly state of origin level, going to be a lot of lost sleep if that line-up eventuates.

Injuries and things happen sadly but man, at full strength, I'm not sure anyone else even gets close.

Talent wise, you get the sense both GC and Freo are absolutely coming but they likely won't have that extra gear and desperation you need and only get by being there done that in the past.

Injuries and things happen sadly but man, at full strength, I'm not sure anyone else even gets close.

Talent wise, you get the sense both GC and Freo are absolutely coming but they likely won't have that extra gear and desperation you need and only get by being there done that in the past.

Adelaide might, with more n more of our DNA being passed on to them. Murray Davis is there, Ah Chee has gone over, they'll target Bailey as well next.

I think they can push us if all their players are fit n available etc. Even in the last 2 years, all our games have been close.

1769595569716.png

Agree. Never anything of substance, no training behind the scenes. It’s as if they just think ‘they’ll be back because we are good’ so no effort needed. Make hay while the sunshine’s and sell your brand while everyone is watching!
I follow only Lions and Suns (local team) on the Socials. The Suns are KILLING it in comparison.

Behind the scenes coaching and training footage, digging into the players off field lives, etc. sure a lot of it is kinda surface level deep but you get a good sense of players personalities shining through.

Lions on the other hand is just a re-post of interview clips. Though I did enjoy the recent montage of TI footage but again I'd have liked some chats/engagement instead of just reels.

The vibe I get is the lions media team view it as a job, whereas other clubs have this two-way engagement between media staff/club that goes beyond a strictly professional relationship. Like they are all, BFFs and living their best lives with the club. And it shows.

FFS. if the social media was engaging/frequent I'd not have missed the training camp at King's Beach today. I'm crashing literally 100m from the damn place.

**** this club.

They posted about it yesterday Sizey. You’re just not engaged enough with the club!

If the money lacking in our media department is being spent in the football department, i’ll take that any day over a bunch of insta memes.

I recall the days of having “online content” for fan engagement (anyone want a 4000 degree pie? Thanks Rocky)… I don’t recall the footy being so great.

Winning premierships and a good team bond is all the engagement i need!

Sam Edmund on SEN mentioned that Zac will re-sign and it will be done soon. Not sure if it was speculation or inside knowledge

Short term extension has been on the cards for a while. Hopefully it ends up being long term 🤞🏼

"They'll re-sign Zac Bailey. I reckon that's close." Is the full quote about Bailey this morning from Edmund
Hope that's right. A great player in his prime. Even with an improved contract the lions couldn't match the silly money that other clubs must be offering him, but they can't offer him as good a place to win premierships as where he is now, and if you look at a lot of the pundits on tv

sorry, posted too soon. to finish that thought, most of the pundits on tv have got their jobs because they were greats of the game, so you can follow the money, and I wouldn't blame bailey for being tempted, but winning premierships does bring post-playing rewards. If he sticks around and they snag another premiership or two he'll carry that mantle for the rest of his days