List Mgmt. Back2Back Rorts Baby (aka 2026 draft thread)

• Thread starter Thread starter briztoon

During the Suns match, Jack Riewoldt said something along the lines of "a lot gets said about the Northern Academies, but if you let Logan Morris slide to pick 31, don't complain".

Jack is now deat to St Kilda fans.

Jack's always been the better Riewoldt (not a massive GF choker, hasn't suddenly left his foxfooty job to live in America for 2 years for 'reasons').

It is officially time to #pulluptheladderbehindus. It's bad enough that the Suns got their rorts in, we can't let anyone else accumulate a critical mass of rorts to compete with us.

Get rid of academies. Get rid of NGA. Get rid of Father Sons. Be like the Cats and use our existing absurd list and ability to attract free agents and stay good forever. Wait for Qld participation to naturally fluctuate/crumble and opportunistically argue to the AFL that we need it back because otherwise they are going to have to spend millions on keeping gold coast afloat.

We should be arguing in favour of the really dumb suggestions to 'improve retention' by letting clubs pay some money outside the cap to 'hold onto players' (which just means that good players stay at good clubs and still leave bad clubs). Get inventive with anything that lets us rort rules to keep our list together.
This feels dangerously close to treading on Elixuh's toes here. I've seen people reported for less on this forum...

Hugh McCluggage, Logan Morris, Zac Bailey, Jarrod Berry, Brandon Starcevich, Noah Answerth, Kai Lohmann, Dayne Zorko, Cody Curtin, Darcy Wilmot

All these guys were available to everyone. Not our fault no one else picked them.

😍😍😍 possible new rort opportunity loading:

Henry Cavill GIF

Is FS limited to biological sons? Could we pay Jonathon brown to legally adopt guys we know will be top picks and then funnel them through fs. If the AFL says it’s biological we take them to court for restraint of draft and discriminatory practices. Knowing Dil, he will fold.

Just things I’ve been thinking about in my spare time to keep the lions up.

Technically also means the 2nd last pick in the round can't be matched either right?

They are 100% going to make it so that you have to match with two picks in the following 18 picks or something. But given the amount of picks they create out of thin air through FA compo they'll be chances.

Also just thought of this but when Tassie comes in and has like 10 of the first 25 picks they will have incredible arbitrage opportunities.

Trade one of them on draft night to let someone else match, get bulk picks the next year.

They'll be the only team that is actually able to trade out early picks for bid matching because they will have almost all of them.

E.g. - Tassie bids on someone with pick 2, the team looking to match needs like pick 3 and pick 14 to get the player and Tassie holds 5 of the next 8 picks. Tassie's the only team who can trade because the other few teams that have top 10 picks need to actually pick players, so they have a monopoly in the trading market so they extort teams for bulk future first round picks.

Then they get to repeat the trick the next year!

It's an infinite draft pick rort, much like the Giants had for a decade where they traded mini-draft picks for early picks (not players as the AFL wanted), when early draft picks left they then got more early picks, and on and on and on.

Only thing that killed it was a downturn in their hit rate in drafting and the AFL taking away the Riverina from their zone which gave them the academy rort infinite early pick glitch.

They are 100% going to make it so that you have to match with two picks in the following 18 picks or something.
Now see that's how you and I would draw it up. It's sensible. Logical. Rational even.

As if they're gonna fall for that.

Now see that's how you and I would draw it up. It's sensible. Logical. Rational even.

Swanny will announce that it must be two picks in the same round and then clubs will lobby and he'll back down to the 'next 18 picks' thing after like 2 days.

I think they are more likely to make it that a bid has to be matched with no more than 2 picks, full stop.
If you don’t have enough points with your next 2 picks then you can’t match and the player goes to the club that put in the bid.

I think they are more likely to make it that a bid has to be matched with no more than 2 picks, full stop.
If you don’t have enough points with your next 2 picks then you can’t match and the player goes to the club that put in the bid.
Sounds vey sensible. You can be sure the VaFL won’t do it.

Are Tassie getting a better deal than Suns did.

Gold Coast Suns

1. 2009 NAB AFL Draft
Gold Coast to have the capacity to sign 12 x 17 year-olds born in the January – April window (January 1 to April 30, 1992).

2. 2010 NAB AFL Draft
Gold Coast to have first pick in each round
Gold Coast to have selections 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 in round one

3. 2009 NAB Rookie Draft
Gold Coast to have selections 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

4. 2010 NAB Rookie Draft
Gold Coast to alternate Queensland priority selections with Brisbane Lions. Gold Coast to have first selection

5. Zoned access
Gold Coast to have zoned access to up to five Queensland players prior to each of 2010, 2011 and 2012 NAB AFL Drafts
Gold Coast to have zoned access to up to three Northern Territory players prior to the 2010 NAB AFL Draft

6. 2010 Post-season, AFL listed player access
Gold Coast to have capacity to pre-list 10 players who had previously nominated for the AFL Draft, or were previously listed with an AFL club.

Gold Coast to have capacity to sign up to 16 uncontracted players

Gold Coast would also have an expanded list size and TPP allowance in the club’s initial four years from 2011 to 2014, which would be as follows:

There is more but you have to go to article

Are Tassie getting a better deal than Suns did.

Gold Coast Suns

1. 2009 NAB AFL Draft
Gold Coast to have the capacity to sign 12 x 17 year-olds born in the January – April window (January 1 to April 30, 1992).

2. 2010 NAB AFL Draft
Gold Coast to have first pick in each round
Gold Coast to have selections 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 in round one

3. 2009 NAB Rookie Draft
Gold Coast to have selections 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

4. 2010 NAB Rookie Draft
Gold Coast to alternate Queensland priority selections with Brisbane Lions. Gold Coast to have first selection

5. Zoned access
Gold Coast to have zoned access to up to five Queensland players prior to each of 2010, 2011 and 2012 NAB AFL Drafts
Gold Coast to have zoned access to up to three Northern Territory players prior to the 2010 NAB AFL Draft

6. 2010 Post-season, AFL listed player access
Gold Coast to have capacity to pre-list 10 players who had previously nominated for the AFL Draft, or were previously listed with an AFL club.

Gold Coast to have capacity to sign up to 16 uncontracted players

Gold Coast would also have an expanded list size and TPP allowance in the club’s initial four years from 2011 to 2014, which would be as follows:

There is more but you have to go to article

Looks comparable enough but the relevant comparison are the GWS concessions. Part of it was from memory that GWS just came in to a better draft classs but the mini-draft auction of access to 17 year olds for the following years draft was massive too.

AFL thought that GWS were going to use the mini-draft picks to trade for established stars but instead they just got early draft picks from it so had an absurd number of first round picks.

Henry Cavill GIF

Is FS limited to biological sons? Could we pay Jonathon brown to legally adopt guys we know will be top picks and then funnel them through fs. If the AFL says it’s biological we take them to court for restraint of draft and discriminatory practices. Knowing Dil, he will fold.

Just things I’ve been thinking about in my spare time to keep the lions up.
There is actually a rule for this - basically, adopted/step kids do count for F/S purposes, but the AFL do have the ability to disqualify them if people are doing... exactly that

What about acknowledged born out of wedlock (not sure if bastards is acceptable these days) type children?

**** the Q Clash, lets have the battle of the bastards

The two picks in the same round doesn't stand up to various tests, not just the last two picks of the round one. What if a team has picks 14, 15 and 22 and their father-son player gets bid on at 13. Do they need to then need to use 14 and 15 instead of 15 and 22 (which presumably would easily match the points required?)

You are reading it wrong.

To match a bid, a team can use a maximum of 2 picks in the same round, plus carry a deficit in to the following year (reliant on meeting the deficit rules as well).

So in essence, matching a very high first round bid could cost a team "3" first round picks, instead of auctioning off one first round pick for a heap of points in the late second round and early third round.

Basically "paying fair value".

Is Taj Murray the brother of the under 18 Murray? Caylem Murray
Too many Murray’s dominating junior footy in the Northern academies to keep track!

Jai Murray was drafted by the Suns last year. There was another Taj Murray (Ruckman from the NT) in the Suns academy last year touted as a potential rookie selection (Went undrafted). Caylen Murray for us this year. And now another Taj Murray short listed as a Tassie priority selection out of QLD (2027 eligible if not pre listed with the Devils 12 months in advance).

I believe I’ve read this younger Taj Murray is the brother of Suns academy selection Jai Murray but could have that wrong!

The easiest fix for academy and i will throw in the NGA's

The AFL clubs have no connection to any of them.
The hard part is done with setting these pathways up.
The AFL fund and administer all of them
The clubs get clearance from the AFL if they wish to have someone playing at VFL level to gain senior experience.

When draft time comes around, all the kids know they can be picked up by anyone.

At present the AFL are just trying to pacify all parties
The academy's discount is all but gone now anyhow.
The northers academies may miss out slightly but in the long term it will just be the usual good/average/poor draft picks

Throw in no compensation picks to any club unless the player under contract.
Same result some clubs may win others may not in one year, but each year will be different. Win some, lose some.

This then makes the draft purer, but the AFL want drama so won't happen.