Royals FC, West Indies
It’s going to be a tired and grumpy Weekend Wrap this week, because Round 2 was an arduous slog. The first game was good, the second game was great, and the Eagles & North was actually a fun one to finish. The remainder were eyesores, made worse because they threw up some injuries as well.

We’re also in that crappy part of the early season where we continue to pay the price for Opening Round… I’m sorry but it’s Round 2 and we’re already down to a 7-game fixture? Just stupid. How can you get any momentum or continuity going as a footy supporter when four teams are already on the bye?

Anyway, let’s wrap things up…

Hawks v Swans, Thursday night: The talk after this one was that an undermanned Sydney played well to be in it all night. Anyone that actually watched and paid attention could tell you the Hawks completely outplayed them for most of the evening but just couldn’t kick straight. 29 scoring shots to 17 tells the story. The Hawthorn midfield still looks a star or two short of being a genuine flag contender, but with a couple of key Swans missing (three if you count that Curnow guy) their opponents were no match for them.

Dogs v Crows, Friday night: Happy to have Adelaide supporters come at me here, but your side got exactly what it deserved. Why on Earth Matty Nicks thought a gameplan of kicking the ball backwards and racking up a million marks in the defensive half was a good idea for the first three quarters I will never know. Finally he unfurled the sails in the last quarter and the Crows suddenly looked like the side that won the minor premiership last year. Fancy that! Kudos to the Bulldogs for taking advantage of the early tactical errors, and then steadying late when all the momentum was against them. 3-0 now, from a fixture that could have had them 1-2 or even 0-3. Outstanding result.

1774173911832.webp

Tigers v Suns, Saturday arvo: The margin was pretty much what everyone expected from this one. The big stories were a bag of 7 goals for Ben King, and a hamstring injury for Christian Petracca. Oh wait sorry, it was just hamstring “awareness”. I’m aware now that he has a hamstring, thanks for filling me in. Who knew being aware of your hamstring was a one month injury now. Maybe I’m old fashioned but perhaps we could drop that stupid term and just call it.. oh I don’t know… a tear? A strain? The possibilities are endless. Crap news for Petracca and Gold Coast anyway.

Giants v Saints, Saturday twilight: The weather Gods did their best to get this game canceled, and given the quality of the spectacle, maybe it would have been better if they did. When the game finally did start, it turned out to be a gritty much-needed win for the Saints. Wasn’t pretty and they got an awful fright late, but the effort was top notch and they dominated most of the afternoon before the late GWS rally. Just on the Giants though: I don’t think the footy world is giving them nearly enough credit for how little they’ve got to work with at the moment. Sure everyone knows they’ve “got a few injuries”, but the extent of it is staggering - Bedford, Jones, Cadman, Daniels, Green, Kelly and Taylor all missed yesterday. That’s seriously nasty.

Dockers v Demons, Saturday night: Melbourne chose to follow up their plucky win from last week with some steaming hot garbage this week. Can probably forgive them - a developing side on a big road trip against a finals Top 4 contender. Reckon the Dockers are going to be very good this year.

1774173742019.webp

Port v Bombers, Sunday arvo: I’ll fess up and admit I didn’t put myself through an afternoon of watching this. Connor Rozee’s hamstring injury soured what looks to have been a strong win for Port. Are the Power going to be the same as last year? Smashed one week, then they come out and smash someone else the week after? I can’t work them out. It’s another long season ahead for Essendon fans, I know that much.

Eagles v North, Sunday twilight: Plenty of pundits didn’t think this would even be worth watching. They were wrong, it turned out to be a late-round gem! This was North’s chance to really stamp their authority on a game they were expected to win, and early on everything was going to plan… until the Eagles went BANG. Not going to sell the home side short (they were fantastic) but this was a diabolical result for the Kangaroos. A promising win last week; this week they were swept aside by the spoon favourites after setting up a hefty early lead. Plenty riding on their clash with Essendon next round now. As for the Eagles, must feel awesome for supporters just to get a win after so long. Enjoy every minute.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 2!

Liked: Some good games, but way to early to make a call on who is really at the top of the tree.

Learnt: The season hasn't really started yet with all this buggerising around with the opening fixture, so what's to learn?

Hated: Candy stripe Saints playing strip, Gold Coast horrible playing strip and a BYE after just a couple of games!

Liked: Not much really, pretty lack lustre round outside of dogs crows game and north eagles.

Learnt: AFL has kissed the suns on the dick with their start to the year, but despite doing what they needed to do against Richmond they didn’t look convincing.

Hated: Please for the love of god someone start a petition for the AFL to **** these early round byes off. Shove your tv rights deals in the bin and give the fans priority for once.

Liked: Elliot Yeo, Dogs and Adelaide Game,when Dees and Freo ended, Port bouncing back,Callum Wilkie
Learned:Essendon are on the road to nowhere,ditto North,Pat Voss can bench press players
Hated:injuries,Dees and Freo game

Liked: Cracking rounD of footy. Hawthorn defied the odds and beat the rampaging Sydney Swans. Port Adelaide thrashed Essendon, JHF and Nick Watson will battle ala Hird/Voss/Buckley as best player on their generation.

Essendon sitting last on the ladder, seems like natural justice has won.

Learnt: AFL time clocks getting the daylight saving time mixed up and malfunxtioning all weekend

Hated: Bye's for teams this early in the season ? Andy D has lost his marbles. Must have been having too many white wine lunches with Laura Kane!

Liked: Milan Murdock. The sparky who just wanted to kick a footy. Playing like a 100 gamer in game 2.
Awesome story and great to watch. Reckon he’s become a lot of people’s favourite player whether they barrack for West Coast or not

Liked: The cloud formations around Homebush pre-game. Would have made a great photo if I had the rather expensive camera equipment with me.

Learnt: Kingsley (or any GWS coach) will never make another grand final until the Giants get serious with the strength and conditioning staff. Far too many top-line players with soft-tissue injuries that will forever stymie this club's success.

Hated: The constant music and banshee-like female ground announcer insulting our ears at Giants Stadium. Far too loud and intrusive. Membership-cancelling level of hatred.

Liked:
--Footy returning to Adelaide Oval and therefore having the chance to attend for the first time this year.
--Hitting the front in the last quarter.

Hated:
- The atrocious style of football we played for three quarters and coughing up the lead as soon as we gained it late in the game. Very much on-brand for us.

Learnt:
- Matthew Nicks still sucks.

Hated
• The gamelan implemented by Nicks, it was a hard watch and a game lost in the coaches box.
• All the soft tissue injuries.

Liked
• Watching the young stars shine this evening in the West, brilliant win for the Eagles.

• The media hype, in particularly from Kingy on First Crack this evening labeled Mathew Nicks as this week’s dope, for implementing the slow chip game plan against the dogs.
I’m hopeful he will take the shackles off the boys and let them get back to the fast attacking game-plan that suits us this week and moving forward.

Liked: Cracking rounD of footy. Hawthorn defied the odds and beat the rampaging Sydney Swans. Port Adelaide thrashed Essendon, JHF and Nick Watson will battle ala Hird/Voss/Buckley as best player on their generation.

Essendon sitting last on the ladder, seems like natural justice has won.

Learnt: AFL time clocks getting the daylight saving time mixed up and malfunxtioning all weekend

Hated: Bye's for teams this early in the season ? Andy D has lost his marbles. Must have been having too many white wine lunches with Laura Kane!
Defying the odds? You were the favourites dude.

Liked: The cloud formations around Homebush pre-game. Would have made a great photo if I had the rather expensive camera equipment with me.

Learnt: Kingsley (or any GWS coach) will never make another grand final until the Giants get serious with the strength and conditioning staff. Far too many top-line players with soft-tissue injuries that will forever stymie this club's success.

Hated: The constant music and banshee-like female ground announcer insulting our ears at Giants Stadium. Far too loud and intrusive. Membership-cancelling level of hatred.
Yeah, I went to the Giants Hawks game at Engie a couple of weeks ago (congrats on the win BTW).

The constant sound volume was truly awful. Couldn’t have a conversation with anyone about the game, couldn’t hear yourself think.

Now part of it is I’m getting old and out of touch. But the weirdest thing about it, as you’re suggesting here, was how the hell could anyone enjoy this? From a marketing perspective it doesn’t even make sense.

Yeah, I went to the Giants Hawks game at Engie a couple of weeks ago (congrats on the win BTW).

The constant sound volume was truly awful. Couldn’t have a conversation with anyone about the game, couldn’t hear yourself think.

Now part of it is I’m getting old and out of touch. But the weirdest thing about it, as you’re suggesting here, was how the hell could anyone enjoy this? From a marketing perspective it doesn’t even make sense.
And I should’ve added I was at the game with my sons, who are 24 and 20, so probably at the age the marketers are trying to appeal to. But they hated it too, having signed up for a game of footy, not some cringe concert.

It does. They genuinely think they have to copy everything from overseas - especially the US. So every facet of the "experience" that occurs there gets transplanted here. The idea that we have (or had) such a great game that it doesn't need artificial extras probably doesn't occur to them.

Liked : Eagles first win

Hated : Tigers may not win a game this year

Learnt : Still haven’t learnt what is considered a shrug in the new shrug rule
*shrugs

Can’t help you there

good - W.C taking a win
- dogs v crows - pulsating game and finish

learnt - Essendon are in a world of hurt with tassy around the corner.

bad - teams having a bye in round 2
- Essendon again- totally trashed out by a middle table team.