NO TROLLS Elijah Hollands (GC-Carlton): Recent Developments & Mental Health Wellbeing

The article out of the Age today is nothing more then a lame attempt by the CFC/AFL PR team to try and reframe the narrative to protect themselves and their brand.

As someone who regularly works with individuals affected by methamphetamine use, it was highly likely this was the cause EHs erratic & bizarre behaviour.

To try and pass it off as an anxiety/panic attack, is disingenuous and just plain wrong.

I feel for anyone who struggles with addiction. Rich or poor, black or white, no one is immune from its devastating effects.

Although EH must take some responsibility for his actions and poor decision making, in this case, the burden of blame must squarely lie with the CFC for failing in their duty of care towards someone who was clearly incapable of protecting themself.

So just to be clear. Carlton have had a week to come up with an angle and they've settled on "We were across all the info and EH's condition. Coaches and medical staff arrived at the considered position to let him ride out his Ricky Bobby style melt down. From a team perspective, we were happy to soak up a zero possession game with one of our players an out and out liability to his teammates on the night and a genuine threat of coming to serious personal harm due to his lack of match awareness."

That's it right?

Genius.

IMG_9706.gif

So just to be clear. Carlton have had a week to come up with an angle and they've settled on "We were across all the info and EH's condition. Coaches and medical staff arrived at the considered position to let him ride out his Ricky Bobby style melt down. From a team perspective, we were happy to soak up a zero possession game with one of our players an out and out liability to his teammates on the night and a genuine threat or coming to serious harm due to his lack of match awareness.

That's it right?

Genius.

View attachment 2590841
A mental breakdown gives them more time to investigate and/or make a decision on Elijah's future while also absolving them of any responsibility for the incident.

The club needs to satisfy the AFL, WorkSafe, media and also make sure the Hollands family doesn't sue them, so this is the dishonest but necessary explanation.

So just to be clear. Carlton have had a week to come up with an angle and they've settled on "We were across all the info and EH's condition. Coaches and medical staff arrived at the considered position to let him ride out his Ricky Bobby style melt down. From a team perspective, we were happy to soak up a zero possession game with one of our players an out and out liability to his teammates on the night and a genuine threat of coming to serious personal harm due to his lack of match awareness.

That's it right?

Genius.

View attachment 2590841

Unfortunately, the CFC are exhibiting text book narcissistic behaviour. To now come out & declare they’re a victim of persistent bullying, IMHO just further damages their already tarnished reputation.

The article out of the Age today is nothing more then a lame attempt by the CFC/AFL PR team to try and reframe the narrative to protect themselves and their brand.

As someone who regularly works with individuals affected by methamphetamine use, it was highly likely this was the cause EHs erratic & bizarre behaviour.

To try and pass it off as an anxiety/panic attack, is disingenuous and just plain wrong.

I feel for anyone who struggles with addiction. Rich or poor, black or white, no one is immune from its devastation effects.

Although EH must take some responsibility for his actions and poor decision making, in this case, the burden of blame must squarely lie with the CFC for failing in their duty of care, for someone who was clearly incapable of protecting themselves.
Some pretty big conclusions there based on no evidence

So just to be clear. Carlton have had a week to come up with an angle and they've settled on "We were across all the info and EH's condition. Coaches and medical staff arrived at the considered position to let him ride out his Ricky Bobby style melt down. From a team perspective, we were happy to soak up a zero possession game with one of our players an out and out liability to his teammates on the night and a genuine threat of coming to serious personal harm due to his lack of match awareness.

That's it right?

Genius.

View attachment 2590841
Yep this appears to be their cover story.

In fact not only were they fully aware of all the details they were in fact being Florence Nightingale and allowing him to play as an act of kindness and therapy

Frankly the Blues should be awarded a Nobel Peace prize and an AO for their incredible compassion and medical knowledge.

Absolute role models.

Of course it's all too "complex" for us plebs to possibly understand or appreciate

But take their word for it .

You must be kidding. Have games of AFL football now become occupational therapy centres for various young men whose contribution to their team is of secondary importance to their personal wellbeing?

I will now look at under-performing players through the lens of , well, at least being out there is benefiting his mental health even if he's missing targets and dropping marks. The coach must not upset him by taking him off or dropping him. Tell the trainers to keep away and have a hot scented towel ready for when he's rotated off.
How many kids around Australia would sell their granny to a dog food company for the opportunity that EH got?

If you want to protect him, I reckon putting him in front of 80 000 screaming fans is a pretty poor strategy.

In fact not only were they fully aware of all the details they were in fact being Florence Nightingale and allowing him to play as an act of kindness and therapy

Frankly the Blues should be awarded a Nobel Peace prize and an AO for their incredible compassion and medical knowledge.

Absolute role models.

Of course it's all too "complex" for us plebs to possibly understand or appreciate

It's astounding that the hubris that has seen the CFC sink to such pitiful levels of chronic failure remains the prevalent mentality within their four walls.
Absolute amateurs.

I don't intend to speak for EH or have any clue whats happening for him.

But from my own long history of fairly serious mental health issues I've found the best workplaces de-stigmatise mental health so u can speak about it openly if u wish but dont make some big drama out of it either .Speaking for myself I don't like when people use overly dramatic words like "compassion" or "wrap our arms around him" or "'care" any of that kind of language.

It all smells of virtue signalling and people just copying buzz words and what they learnt in a workshop.

I just wanted to be treated (mostly) like everyone else .

What id like to happen in this situation is a coach says something like "hey mate ur off your tucker today. Have a sickie. Get some rest and sleep. See you on Monday at training and let's get stuck back into it."

That's it.

Then everyone just gets on with the job at hand

Nobody wants to be treated like a baby or for people to be banging on and on about it.

Just having a sick day and that's all.

How many kids around Australia would sell their granny to a dog food company for the opportunity that EH got?

If you want to protect him, I reckon putting him in front of 80 000 screaming fans is a pretty poor strategy.
Fair enough. Big footy shines again

ITT:

'as someone who works in mental health, i can say this is what a panic attack can actually look like'
'as someone who has microdosed mushrooms and kicked the footy with mates, this looks like a mushy trip'
'as someone who has cooked it at revs rolling on MDMA a few too many times, it looks like MDMA to me'
'as someone who has an alcoholic cousins partner, this looks like alcohol'
'as someone who was k-holed just the past weekend, i confirm elijah hollands was also k-holing as i saw him in the hole'
'as someone who is on ADHD medication, i can confirm these tweak outs can occur when you change your dosage'
'as someone who works with people who do meth, i can confidently say this looks like methamphetamine use'

what have i missed?

That's it right?

Genius.

View attachment 2590841
Yes ..that’s what EH was doing with his arms!!

Putting out invisible fires 🔥

Regardless of anything, we all must be aware, if we're not already, that the AFL's public affairs guys will be currently be putting out to the narrative and be in the early stages of manufacturing the desired outcome.

Subtly, by stealth, and to the point where you don't even realising you're consuming it.

But rest assured it is happening.

I'm aware
I just wouldn't have picked him as the type

Often I think of super shy, introverted players as the ones who struggle with anxiety
Elijah's interviews he seems loud and confident
Correct. One should never judge a book by its cover. Look at Robin Williams, could make the whole world laugh , yet not himself.

This is completely illogical.

Shades of the Bombers saga now

Nuffy die-hard fans trying to come up with all sorts of bizarre explanations to somehow claim their club are the good guys and they are being "bullied" by people who dont the "true facts". (Of course the nuffies know the "true facts" which they are somehow unable to share).

The reality is that this is pure and utter amateur incompetence.

Carlton FC aren't nefarious. Just incompetent and not very bright. Rank bush league stuff.

Same as the Essendon drug thing. Dank was just a low rent nuffy con man and people at EFC were too dumb to notice.

The funny thing is the AFL and AFL true believers can never admit that there is simple rank incompetence at AFL club level.

They would rather invent complex conspiracies than admit to basic rank stupidity.

Admitting to rank stupidity dilutes the AFL ability to charge $ for selling a "premium" product when in reality they are selling a very average product.

For the nuffies they want to believe their religion is important and of high status.
You think you are so much better then everyone else don't you, pathetic

ITT:

'as someone who works in mental health, i can say this is what a panic attack can actually look like'
'as someone who has microdosed mushrooms and kicked the footy with mates, this looks like a mushy trip'
'as someone who has cooked it at revs rolling on MDMA a few too many times, it looks like MDMA to me'
'as someone who has an alcoholic cousins partner, this looks like alcohol'
'as someone who was k-holed just the past weekend, i confirm elijah hollands was also k-holing as i saw him in the hole'
'as someone who is on ADHD medication, i can confirm these tweak outs can occur when you change your dosage'
'as someone who works with people who do meth, i can confidently say this looks like methamphetamine use'

what have i missed?
He's 2 weeks away from having a nuclear weapon

You must be kidding. Have games of AFL football now become occupational therapy centres for various young men whose contribution to their team is of secondary importance to their personal wellbeing?

I will now look at under-performing players through the lens of , well, at least being out there is benefiting his mental health even if he's missing targets and dropping marks. The coach must not upset him by taking him off or dropping him. Tell the trainers to keep away and have a hot scented towel ready for when he's rotated off.
Drawing a long bow there but each to their own

Absolute role models.

glass half full guy well done