GFNL Discussion 2026

North Shore beaten by well over 100.

League should have taken the opportunity and tried moved them on once Lara went into recess

Now an 11 team comp with a bye.. where the bottom team loses to another lower half of the ladder team by 100 points
You may be right. Imo, I think St Albans will be mid tier. They have improved again. North Shore have definitely improved, but lack the key position players to compete at this level.

Going to be a long year for north shore. Good on them for getting player numbers up but a loss that big to a mid tier team isn’t ideal. But st Albans we’re in the same position not long ago and they have improved and north shore can too. It just takes time and is bloody hard. Better than not existing like Lara.

definitely large improvements, with 13 new senior recruits it takes time. they are certainly on the right track

Addy Article-

Fifteen games into GFNL season, more than half have been decided by 60-plus points

North shore should've gone to the GDFL bring up teams like torquay healthy participation in netball and footy

Very early days but looks as if St Mary’s way out in front with Newtown and probably South the likely contenders. I think this year could be a bit more competitive than previous years with Joeys and Colac looking like they’ve dropped off a bit, Leopold dropping away as well.

Been impressed with the improvement from Grovedale so far in 2026. Round 1 against South they were in it up to their eyeballs at 3/4 before dropping off midway through the last quarter and then last week they demolished a St Albans side that many had predicted to be big improvers this year. They’d love to get a few more games out of Kruger during the year.

Is Lara missed? Genuine question. Seems to be a good move for all concerned?
I don’t think so. Just as north shore wouldn’t be missed either. Football just moves on. As I’d said before. Lara won’t be back anytime soon. Good on north shore for getting a team on the park and getting good numbers. But with an average losing margin already of over 20 goals it’s going to be bloody hard for them. If ever the argument for proper promotion and relegation needs more proof the demise of Lara and north shore is it. Lara would still exist if it was there. Unfortunately the GFL were too pigheaded to have it. All protecting their patch of dirt for themselves not the greater good of football. And now here we are. The GFL is a shadow of its former self. Yet the BFL is absolutely thriving and the GDFL is strong.

BFL were also against it for different reasons to the GFL clubs. They wanted to maintain the town v town rivalries, GFL clubs were all based on remaining in a premier league. Now the Bellarine clubs are pushing for premier league status and if they get it I reckon they could eventually overtake the GFL. How good would a regional championship between the BFL & GFL premiers be if both leagues remain strong? Our version of the Superbowl!

Is Lara missed? Genuine question. Seems to be a good move for all concerned?

Well considering it would be the only chance North Shore have of winning a game, I’m tipping the seagulls are missing them!

No one wants to see clubs disappear, but in the case of Lara and North Shore the writings been on the wall for the last 10 years that neither have been capable of competing at gfl level. Unfortunately nothing was done to rectify the situation before one of them fell over

BFL were also against it for different reasons to the GFL clubs. They wanted to maintain the town v town rivalries, GFL clubs were all based on remaining in a premier league. Now the Bellarine clubs are pushing for premier league status and if they get it I reckon they could eventually overtake the GFL. How good would a regional championship between the BFL & GFL premiers be if both leagues remain strong? Our version of the Superbowl!
If both sides premiers teams played each other, the GFL premiers would win by 15 plus goals over the BFL premiers. There is still a very large gap between both competitions, especially the top 5-6 GFL clubs.

Spot on. Gfl isn’t the league it used to be and the bfl has improved but there’s still a huge gap in quality between the 2. I’d argue that besides North Shore, every other gfl club would be top 5 in the bfl

Geelong West, St Albans, Grovedale would get nowhere near Torquay, Ammos and Queenscliffe. I see sam Scott stating Torquay would be in top 5 in GFNL. St Mary's would not beat Torquay by more than 5 or 6 goals.

Maybe not the top 3, although I’d argue that Grovedale with Kruger and Whyte playing would be a chance. But they’d definitely be competing with Barwon Heads, Anglesea for a top 5 spot.

St Mary’s have a gear that I don’t think any gfl side can match. If they’re on song I don’t think Torquay would get within 10 goals of them

Maybe not the top 3, although I’d argue that Grovedale with Kruger and Whyte playing would be a chance. But they’d definitely be competing with Barwon Heads, Anglesea for a top 5 spot.

St Mary’s have a gear that I don’t think any gfl side can match. If they’re on song I don’t think Torquay would get within 10 goals of them
One of the reasons Torquay didnt come into the GFL last year was they played two years ago against Bell Park, Colac and St Marys in practice matches with a full strength Torquay side and got smashed by more than 10 goals for each. Torquay explained it was a real reality check for them.

That’s a rubbish excuse if that’s the case. It would take them a couple of years to get used to gfl footy then they’d become a powerhouse. Their top 3 if not the biggest club in the region. They’ve always had their best kids go test themselves at gfl level but if the club went up to gfl that wouldn’t be an issue anymore. They just prefer to be the big fish in the bfl instead of going up and testing themselves

Not sure there’s even any GFL teams getting within 10 goals of st Mary’s at the moment.

Agree entirely about Torquay. Also i was at St Josephs v Sth Barwon game and in last qtr couldnt believe Mark Neeld left the coaches box in the last qtr when his side was 70 points up and went into KRock box and started commentating. Very disrespectful to St Joeys. From a person who has reportedly already signed as coach for Ocean Grove for 2027 and taking at least 2 key players including captain and has said flag for Sth Barwon this year non negotiable. I cant see why they keep him on as coach knowing he is off to ocean grove and taking some players.

That’s surprising, listening to the South president on krock the other week it seemed as though he’d sign on again at South

Of the 5 games the smallest losing margin today was 38 points… with 2 of the 5 games 100 point plus margins.

The league is beyond repair
The big '4' have too many competitive advantages. At this rate they will be playing in a league of their own.

Of the 5 games the smallest losing margin today was 38 points… with 2 of the 5 games 100 point plus margins.

The league is beyond repair

Have a look at junior results and it’ll come as no surprise why the big 4 are so far in front of everyone it isn’t funny. And nothing will change any time soon.

Grovedale had a real crack up until half time against Newtown. Margin was around 3 goals at half time, probably should’ve been a bit more if not for some poor kicking for goal from Newtown. But to go from 3 goals down at half time to a 100 point loss is very ordinary

Have a look at junior results and it’ll come as no surprise why the big 4 are so far in front of everyone it isn’t funny. And nothing will change any time soon.

Grovedale had a real crack up until half time against Newtown. Margin was around 3 goals at half time, probably should’ve been a bit more if not for some poor kicking for goal from Newtown. But to go from 3 goals down at half time to a 100 point loss is very ordinary
I would like somebody to explain to me how St Mary's won the flag with 28 points but now have 38! Hey guys you won the flag but you can still go out and recruit a couple of top liners...farcial!

I’m no fan of St Mary’s mate but they had 20 1 point players in there side yesterday and played at 25 points. They could be given 30 points to play with and they’d still be better than everyone. On the flip side, the bottom clubs could be given 60 points and it wouldn’t make any difference as they just can’t recruit.

Unless clubs can fix their junior sections and start producing quality home grown players nothing will change

You are dreaming.

Newcomb who finished second last add 3 quality GFL players and are already going past most BFL teams.

To think Torquay would get withing 5 goals of Marys is laughable.