Review Round 8 = Collingwood 93-93 Hawthorn

Compared to.pies who aren't bad
Should've beaten Freo.
Blues should've probably won and were a 30cm late fade off a draw.
Last night both teams can simultaneously argue they were lucky to draw and should've won
Other results conclusive.
Could be 6-2 or 3-5 so 4 3 1 seems about right.
Conclusion =given close finishes etc and the year really aren't that far off it from a side like Hawks who've managed to hold on.

I wonder when the point is gonna be when the wider footy community acknowledges Framp is a great defender and not a meme anymore, probably has had one bad game all year.

He’s been a great defender from the start

Not sure why it would take anyone this long to notice it.

Begrudgingly Hawks are this years clutch side so far.
Games ive seen.
Ran over the top of a hot swans in last quarter. Trailed by a point late and went bang bang bang.
Somehow pulled easter Monday out of the fire were 6 points down with 90 seconds left.
Beat Port by 3 in an arm wrestle thou Port had a late shot to win.
Got a late draw last night.
Could easily be something like 4-4.
That's accurate, for now. They seem to have played in patches though, which would be my biggest concern if I was a Hawthorn fan.

They were belted by an undermanned GWS (Opening Round is notoriously difficult), however the remainder of their opponents (bar Sydney and Gold Coast) have all been sides who, in my estimation, will be mid table. They have a pretty favourable run and aren't likely to fall out of the top 4, however their litmus test will come when they have to play Brisbane. Gold Coast and Sydney away, as well as finals.

I wonder when the point is gonna be when the wider footy community acknowledges Framp is a great defender and not a meme anymore, probably has had one bad game all year.

Great point - Trust him way more then Moore over the last 12 months.

Interestingly, his previous coach Hinkley, pretty much bagged him out and said that gunston would slaughter him if he played on him on SEN before the game.

Found it really weird and poor taste for a coach to shitcan one of the players they have coached in the media like that.

Last night showed if we get Butters, we would become genuine premiership contenders.

We didn’t get much from Sidebottom, and no Howe & Pendles.

Last night’s team with Butters could win the 2027 premiership.

Last night showed if we get Butters, we would become genuine premiership contenders.

We didn’t get much from Sidebottom, and no Howe & Pendles.

Last night’s team with Butters could win the 2027 premiership.

Yep completely agree.

As a team, we are poor for some absolute top-line support to help Nick.

However, we have no issues finding the cheaper role players to support the stars, did this previously with (Noble, McCreery, Lipinski, McStay ect and more recently it looks like with Steele, Anderson).

You get Butters, and you are competing more years than not over the next 8 years.

15 goals. Finally! (Not counting last week, it was Bombres)

My thoughts at the game at ground level on the wing (yes I lorded it up in MCC with Hawks flogs unfortunately):-

• McStay was really good and put his body on the line a lot
  • Frampton, Bruzzy, Q all put in cracking games
  • Buller a pass, kicked a tough set shot and ran all night
  • Our mids were killed after half time
  • Nick still a freak
  • Elliot still clutch
  • Jordy went missing? Angry Anderson a beast

Even during Q3 I thought if we lose I was still proud of our fighting spirit. Hawks are a very very good team and if not for Daics and Moore losing their bottle we win against all odds.

Game of the year so far for mine. A lot of brilliance on display.

You’d hope someone who posts so much about WWE would come up with a better nickname than Turnover Dud, yet here we are

Ok…
Warning Red Flag GIF

Yeah nah, they kicked 1.7 in the first qaurter.
You analysis is as accurate as Shultz being "fantastic" this year.
Please explain to me why Schultz hasn't had a fantastic year?

He has been very good not because of what he does with the ball, but because of what he does without it.

His repeat sprints, forward-half pressure, tackles inside 50 and ability to harass defenders create exactly the kind of chaos Collingwood thrives on under Craig McRae. Even when he doesn’t hit the scoreboard, he helps create scoring chances for others.

His growth at Collingwood is clear:
2024: 6.52 player rating
2025: 8.13
2026: 10.26

That’s not marginal improvement. That’s a system assimilation curve.

His disposals have risen from 12.2 to 14.5 to 15.9 per game, while his score involvements and metres gained have also climbed, now up to 266 metres per game. For a pressure forward, that’s significant.

His pressure acts remain consistently strong at around 17–20 per game, while his tackles have increased from 2.9 per game at Fremantle to 4.9 at Collingwood. His tackles inside 50 are now up to 2.3 per game, which is elite for a small forward.

He averages 1.1 goals and 4–5 score involvements per game. The only real downside has been goal accuracy, sitting at 44% at the Pies compared with 47% at Fremantle.

He’s not a flashy 3–4 goal small forward every week. His value is in the repeat efforts, the pressure, the transition work and the chaos he creates.

Last night against the Hawks, he was Collingwood’s highest-rated player.

Schultz is an asset because he does the hard, often unseen work that makes our system function.

It's about getting some perspective mate. Yes, it's a discussion forum but it ain't a Ned Long discussion forum. He's just about the only player you ever post about it seems, and always in a negative light. In much the same vein as your earlier whipping boys - e.g. Wilbur Hoskin Elliott, you were on his case constantly as I recall? Also as I recall, you were at one time a Travis Cloke defender were you not? Without doing the research I would guess around 90% of your posts this season have been Ned Long critiques. I suggest that you find some balance and talk about other Collingwood players; it will make your posts more reasonable and valid IMO.

You’d be wrong with 90% of that post, which I thinks normal for you, but I don’t follow other posters like others.

Indeed. Fly's ability to curate different styles is why he's already a premiership coach. I, too, had mid-range expectations about where we'd finish our season this year but am bouyed by our progression. Last night's performance against a near full-strength opposition was oustanding. But when you consider that we were sans all of Pendles, Howe, Beau and Membrey, we played above expectations. Even in Fly's post-match presser he mused that not many had tipped us to get the chocolates so the performance was first rate.
I can see much improvement and with exposure to the likes of Parker, Hayes, Anderson, Steene, and Buller all bodes well.
Next week's match against Geelong will be another great litmus test and I am confident that we will prevail setting us for a solid run.
Go Pies!
What’s our record at Geelong’s home ground? 😉

Just watched a replay, aftr going to the game last night..

Observations:
  • I knew Moore had a bad game, but watching the replay, he was horrendous. Feels like half of Hawthorn's goals were from his mistakes (particulary spoiling a team mates mark).
  • At gound, Nick looked off, but watching the replay, was still very influential in-close, despite some miskicks.
  • Houston had a great game, particularly going forward, but still had a few moments where he could of took an opponents body out but he didnt (twice against Watson atleast led to goals).
  • Crisp look back to his powerful dynamic best, amazing for a 33 year old.
  • Hayes looks a player, even under immense pressure, doesnt get frazzled and ensures he executes properly.
  • Jamie looks back, sorry I doubted him.
  • Maynard amazing

You’d be wrong with 90% of that post, which I thinks normal for you, but I don’t follow other posters like others.
Given that you "don't follow other posters like others" how would you know that it would be normal for me to be wrong with 90% of that post? Contradictions abound Mr Smith :p

One of those 'system beats talent' games.

In every metric we got done, except i50 efficiency.

Methinks Fly has once again outsmarted the 'current this is how footy is played' by denying the opposition.

This should be a serious confidence booster.

I know it's a development year but the club, certainly Fly and the players aren't doing it with a 'development first win second' sentiment.

Still waiting for the cliff

Wait Waiting GIF

The cliff aint coming.

We can still go with the big boys. In fact, we still are one of them.

Bring on the next 2 weeks.

I’m really hopeful that game finally shows people why Butters should be our primary target and why Ben King isn’t worth going after

Couldn't agree more. King is a one trick pony. If we go after a tall, it should be Mitch Lewis.

But, we need to do whatever it takes to get Butters next season.

15 goals. Finally! (Not counting last week, it was Bombres)

My thoughts at the game at ground level on the wing (yes I lorded it up in MCC with Hawks flogs unfortunately):-

• McStay was really good and put his body on the line a lot
  • Frampton, Bruzzy, Q all put in cracking games
  • Buller a pass, kicked a tough set shot and ran all night
  • Our mids were killed after half time
  • Nick still a freak
  • Elliot still clutch
  • Jordy went missing? Angry Anderson a beast

Even during Q3 I thought if we lose I was still proud of our fighting spirit. Hawks are a very very good team and if not for Daics and Moore losing their bottle we win against all odds.

Game of the year so far for mine. A lot of brilliance on display.
I agree with most of this, but thought Q was poor defensively. In the last quarter, he showed no respect to Hawthorn's small fowards which resulted in multiple goals. Seems to loose his man in heavy traffic and marking contests too often.