VFL St Kilda VFL 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Mat Mann

We were in a shitty spot. Too late for the cream, too early to go the dice rolls. I loved Trainor but the concussions put me off. Lindsay probably the next safest after Trav. Then into the very even territory. I wanted Murphy Reid but I understood why some were nervous too.

The draft order after Tauru fell as:
11 Xavier Lindsay
12 Taj Hotton
13 Isaac Kako NGA
14 Jonty Faull
15 Joe Berry
16 Bo Allen
17 Murphy Reid
18 Olly Hannaford
19 Harrison Oliver
20 Cooper Hynes
21 Trainor
22 Jesse Datoli
23 Harry Armstrong
24 Cody Angove

Some decent developing talent in there but apart from Reid it doesn't look a lot more obvious that Trav except for a couple of risky pick ups or drifters.

Plenty of people on here said that the Murphy Reid fans were idiots and that he was not going to be any good.
Freo fans probably feel the same about missing NAS in 2021.

Sometimes you just get a gun because other clubs draft for needs or just for one reason or the other does not rate player x.

Wow those Collard highlights are only everything we need in the backline. Keep developing him back there and you never know where it could take him.

Obsessed with Ryan or what , spending all that time to prove what , That he can kick 35mtrs

You can have him in your best side , i wont be

Enjoy the rest of your weekend
My two posts and five minutes of work (welcome to the future, grandpa) doesn't exactly equal obsession, but good job moving the goalposts yet again when you're proven wrong. I also said nothing about him being in my best side. I made one claim. One: that he doesn't turn it over anywhere near as much as the biased crowd thinks he does. I proved that to you with statistics and a small selection of disposals. This really isn't that complicated.

Im happy Collard took a step forward and showed his elite field kicking skills when given an opportunity to play the halfback role.

He still needs to develop a contested game and start committing to all contests when its his turn to go. I think he needs to start showing that, otherwise he will end up just another player wanting to play touch footy which doesnt cut it.

He is not the biggest kid running around but that doesnt excuse him from body contact. I played with an indigineous lad about his size and he was hardest SOB you would ever come across. It’s all about belief and technique, it’s nothing to do with size. No one expects him to be a wrecking ball just be prepared to consistently fully commit to physical contests.
Your appraisal of Collard is wrong - and insulting to the kid, his abilities and his endeavours

Collard looked like a different player. Quick, tough in the tackle, beautiful kick. Reminded me of early days Shai Bolton. Be interesting to see how it conveys to AFL footy. He'll get a chance you'd think, probably soon
ooooh just imagine if we could get him to forge a career anything like Bolton has. That would be some transformation and a coaching masterstroke. Worth a go I reckon.

Your appraisal of Collard is wrong - and insulting to the kid, his abilities and his endeavours

Go and have a look at his contested ball stats, his lack of one on one ball wins becomes pretty evident.

There is no doubt he has skill with the ball in hand, but he simply needs to learn how win his own footy. In the game at present I can't think of one other player who relies more on his team mates feeding him the ball than Lance.

If the above is insulting the kid then good, he needs to hear it so perhaps he can go away and work on that aspect of his game.

Go and have a look at his contested ball stats, his lack of one on one ball wins becomes pretty evident.

There is no doubt he has skill with the ball in hand, but he simply needs to learn how win his own footy. In the game at present I can't think of one other player who relies more on his team mates feeding him the ball than Lance.

If the above is insulting the kid then good, he needs to hear it so perhaps he can go away and work on that aspect of his game.

I think its more a case of him not being good at the contested side than him not being hard enough.

He takes a hit just fine and tackles to hurt.

But he's just not good yet at winning contested ball. 100% right he needs to work on it but it's as much craft as anything.

He should not be insulted, he just needs to work on it.

I think its more a case of him not being good at the contested side than him not being hard enough.

He takes a hit just fine and tackles to hurt.

But he's just not good yet at winning contested ball. 100% right he needs to work on it but it's as much craft as anything.

He should not be insulted, he just needs to work on it.

Its the soft under belly of the current generations, the truth has become 'insulting'. The same generations dont like to hear honest feedback and it seems that also eakes out into this forum. As soon as you give constructive feedback that a kid needs to work on to improve their game, you raise the ire of the sensitive soles out there.

I never once called him 'soft', just that without being able to win a contested ball he will end up like Riley Bonner on the scrap heap and no one wants to see that.

To play in defence you need to win contest. In fact, you need to win most of the time. Sinclair ended up back there because he became much, much better at winning contests, particularly in the air.

It was conventional wisdom a while ago that young smalls and mids would start forward, then go into defence before getting midfield time. Think Dal & Goddard for examples. Not sure if that is still the case, but I'll be interested to see if Collard can string some games together.

Its the soft under belly of the current generations, the truth has become 'insulting'. The same generations dont like to hear honest feedback and it seems that also eakes out into this forum. As soon as you give constructive feedback that a kid needs to work on to improve their game, you raise the ire of the sensitive soles out there.

I never once called him 'soft', just that without being able to win a contested ball he will end up like Riley Bonner on the scrap heap and no one wants to see that.
The irony of this statement is just exploding everywhere :tearsofjoy:

I don’t agree with this.

In my experience, people still value honest, direct feedback. They may not always welcome it in the moment, but over time they tend to respect and appreciate those who are willing to deliver it

Lyon is a good example of this approach. He’s widely known for being brutally honest and respected for it.

Every generation seems to believe the next one is softer or less resilient than their own. Realistically, that argument gets recycled endlessly, and there’s no evidence that it’s actually true.

I don’t agree with this.

In my experience, people still value honest, direct feedback. They may not always welcome it in the moment, but over time they tend to respect and appreciate those who are willing to deliver it

Lyon is a good example of this approach. He’s widely known for being brutally honest and respected for it.

Every generation seems to believe the next one is softer or less resilient than their own. Realistically, that argument gets recycled endlessly, and there’s no strong evidence that it’s actually true.

I think the evidence is right in front of you, but its all subjective opinions.

Its human nature your perceptions are moulded through the eyes of your own experiences. I spent my entire working years in a policing organisations, where direct feedback was critical to peoples saftey and getting the job done. I worked closely on a daily basis with a lot of different generations in high risk situations and in my experience the younger generations were definitely become more and more sensitive.

Thats the beauty of footy, people see things many different ways. At the end of the day we all want our players to fullfil their potential and the club to become sucessful. Its just the manner and generational differences of how we express those wishes, that cause discussion here.

What in his 15 games? He's only played over 50% game time in 7 matches and most closer to 50% than 100% game time. His best game he had 6 contested possessions. He averages 2.27 contested possessions to 2.73 uncontested so far in his career. I'd say that's pretty good for a small forward. Just under half his possessions have been won off his own work.

You are entitled to your opinion but at least be accurate if you are justifying them with stats.

I think the evidence is right in front of you, but its all subjective opinions.

Its human nature your perceptions are moulded through the eyes of your own experiences. I spent my entire working years in a policing organisations, where direct feedback was critical to peoples saftey and getting the job done. I worked closely on a daily basis with a lot of different generations in high risk situations and in my experience the younger generations were definitely become more and more sensitive.

Thats the beauty of footy, people see things many different ways. At the end of the day we all want our players to fullfil their potential and the club to become sucessful. Its just the manner and generational differences of how we express those wishes, that cause discussion here.

Yes, we're all easily biased to our own experiences, agreed.

That's why I'm unlikely to throw out blanket statements like that, if I did then I would (as you have in follow up) express that it's based only on my personal experience.

There are actual studies on this stuff, one huge one that looked at workplaces for decades and decades.

The meta data basically says sensitivity to negative feedback is not generational. But poorly delivered feedback is less accepted by younger generations (People want it timely, actionable and specific)

Totally irrelevant for a player who's job is to run, create, distribute and keep the ball out of contests.

We literally want guys feeding him the ball.

You may as well criticise Snags for his poor metres gained stats.

Totally irrelevant for a player who's job is to run, create, distribute and keep the ball out of contests.

We literally want guys feeding him the ball.

You may as well criticise Snags for his poor metres gained stats.
If we counted the meters the ball goes after kicking it through the big sticks (double gains if it lands on the roof) he would be on top for sure.