MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

Nek minnut TOYOTA and the AFL proudly introduce the 20th TOYOTA AFL licensed team, the Broken Hill BANDIDOS.
At least they should get plenty of sponsor $ from BHP.
Could have a Mad Max themed game; maybe a union round where the players form a picket around the umpires tunnel and flog whoever tries to cross it.

The club identity writes itself

At least they should get plenty of sponsor $ from BHP.
Could have a Mad Max themed game; maybe a union round where the players form a picket around the umpires tunnel and flog whoever tries to cross it.

The club identity writes itself
I love Mad Max but why not Mario Kart? That's way more chaotic

Suns have done a power of work in boosting junior numbers in footy in QLD - GWS are the one who stand out like a sore thumb. AFL will never kill a club but they've made very little inroads into NSW with the Giants.
Yep. Once they start to struggle on field, they will be completely irrelevant. Which they pretty much are now anyway.

Giants came within an inch of a GF in 2023, probably weren't too far off making it again in 2024, and shat the bed last year against a Hawthorn side that is looking increasingly impressive. Get a lot of attention and support during finals each time too. But each time they drop off as in 2020, 2022 and now this year they really do drop out of relevance and interest dramatically.

They probably should have won at least a single flag between 2016-2024 and played in more than one GF but simultaneously have been extremely far off, just lacking in something.

Sam Taylor 3 weeks away, we play GWS in 4. He's gonna come back and smoke us like Ridley did :cryv1:

I know it gets said every year but Geelong playing Collingwood away at the G is so bin, what an advantage to the Pies.

I hate Geelong but I hope they get it done, Geelong never loses down there and Collingwood get an extra home game whenever they play them.

I know it gets said every year but Geelong playing Collingwood away at the G is so bin, what an advantage to the Pies.

I hate Geelong but I hope they get it done, Geelong never loses down there and Collingwood get an extra home game whenever they play them.
Reckon Geelong are happy to play a home game at the MCG against Collingwood tbh.

It's shit but everyone wants to play Collingwood at the g as they get big crowds. It's same with Geelong vs hawthorn every Easter Monday, it's going to get 80k every year so Geelong have to play their 'home' game at hawthorn's home ground. Unfortunately we don't draw a big crowd so have to play down in Geelong each year. The flip side is, they shouldn't sook when they have to play home finals at the MCG because clearly KP is suited for finals unless they're playing an interstate side. Could argue even then plenty of Geelong fans would miss out.

Such an odd dude lol

Mentioned this here before but he did some kind of talk at my school with some other Richmond player, i think it was Grimes, anyway the other guy was egging him on like: "Carn Alex! Tell everyone about the amazing idea you've got for when you finish football!" And after a bit of encouragement Rance starts earnestly earbashing a bunch of year 10's about how he wants to make imploding bins after footy, so the idea is you're saving space because all the rubbish would get compacted etc. and apparently everyone in the room just laughed at him.

But yeah I dunno now that I typed that all out maybe he's a genius? That sounds pretty good to me.

I feel like I remember everyone making this exact point when the team was created?

I've lived in Sydney for seven years and I've still only ever heard the area referred to as 'Greater Western Sydney' in government planning/strategy meetings lol.

GWS was always such a soulless, market-research driven name. It's like the AFL identified "Greater Western Sydney" as a profitable market, started using "Greater Western Sydney" as the placeholder name for the 18th team in all their internal marketing reports, and then never got around to changing it. Sort of like how the GC Suns' guernsey still feels like a placeholder guernsey. It never really gave the expansion sides a chance of being taken seriously as legitimate football clubs with coherent identities, as opposed to the meaningless, plastic franchises they so obviously are.