MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

I personally think with an odd amount of teams due to tassie coming in we should unsplit Brisbane Lions and get Fitzroy and the Brissy Bears back :think:

Yeah the GWS name was a surprise. A team based in Western Sydney so naturally everyone thought the will be called the Western Sydney 'nickname'. Then they revealed the name to be Greater Western Sydney Giants. Always thought that was an odd name. I can only think that they wanted to match Giants with greater. Anyway I do recall the reason for the name Giants was because it was a giant task to win over Western Sydney. I don't mind the nickname it's unique certainly didn't expect it. I liked the fact they used orange as no other team uses orange. I hate the charcoal that's a soulless marketing choice. It's meant to resemble the blue mountains at sunset. What an absolute wank. How about just orange and blue, the orange being sunset and blue representing the blue mountains. Orange and blue are complementary colours so it works nicely. Anyway the whole branding has been done very poorly.

Agree charcoal was an odd choice initially but think they've done well with it as their clash jumper recently (in terms of looks, reckon it is pretty mint). Given how many teams have blue in their kit already having completely new colours as a point of difference is maybe helpful for a new team (but 'Greater' should never have stuck and should be dropped pronto).

Giants also makes sense in terns if WS being a massive, ever expanding area.

I personally think with an odd amount of teams due to tassie coming in we should unsplit Brisbane Lions and get Fitzroy and the Brissy Bears back :think:

Imacelebrityau GIF by I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here! Australia

Agree charcoal was an odd choice initially but think they've done well with it as their clash jumper recently (in terms of looks, reckon it is pretty mint). Given how many teams have blue in their kit already having completely new colours as a point of difference is maybe helpful for a new team (but 'Greater' should never have stuck and should be dropped pronto).

Giants also makes sense in terns if WS being a massive, ever expanding area.
yeah I'm probably being a bit over critical of the blue mountain thing. The colours look fine. I do like the orange being the point of difference. It's a bit of a bug bear of mine that most teams resort to all white kits for clash strip's. Just no creativity. Anyway yeah western Sydney Giants sounds fine, just keep it simple.

Should’ve gone with orange and green to win over all of the Catholics and Protestants.

Brayshaw was diagnosed with eight brain bleeds after his last heavy hit to the head in a smothering attempt from Collingwood’s Brayden Maynard in the 2023 elimination final. But the independent umpire, Australian Financial Complaints Authority, has ruled Brayshaw does not meet the terms of the policy payout based on his ability to perform daily activities.
But the AFCA assessment was made on Brayshaw’s ability to function after his playing career ended.

The Herald Sun revealed last year photos of Brayshaw standing and smiling at his wedding and his emotional five-minute speech at the 2024 Brownlow Medal were used against him in his claim.

A neurologist said in a report on Brayshaw’s condition they had “reviewed the extensive video from the best and fairest awards (Brownlow) 23 September 2024 where he seemed to perform normally from a cognitive perspective”.

“I have also seen still photographs (not video) from his wedding to Danielle (Frawley) on 30 December 2024 where he seems to be functioning normally,” the report said.

Yeah, the club would be dumb to throw away a sponsorship because a former players personal claim was rejected.

That being said, I hope the club is in a better position at the end of the year to secure some stronger sponsors than the ones we have. We should get some late season prime time slots and even our Sunday arvo games have rated pretty well so far, so we're in a stronger position there than we were prior to the season. First big test for Dan Taylor I guess.

Photo of him smiling at his own wedding evidence that his brain is functioning normally? ****en hell
This bit is probably more relevant

But the independent umpire, Australian Financial Complaints Authority, has ruled Brayshaw does not meet the terms of the policy payout based on his ability to perform daily activities.

AFCA made the ruling based on his current lifestyle including any study and professional undertakings following an investigation spanning more than two years.

This bit is probably more relevant
So I don't know much about the afca but they're obviously saying he has been able to continue on his life without much of an issue which may be true?

I don't know if their judgement even goes that far. They are just saying he doesn't meet the terms of a total permanent disability policy, which is for people who cannot work at all.

I remember Nathan Murphy's claim got rejected after he took a job working for Collingwood's VFL team.

Obviously we don't know all the details but I question who is advising these guys to pursue this policy when they have intentions of returning to work.

I don't know if their judgement even goes that far. They are just saying he doesn't meet the terms of a total permanent disability policy, which is for people who cannot work at all.

I remember Nathan Murphy's claim got rejected after he took a job working for Collingwood's VFL team.

Obviously we don't know all the details but I question who is advising these guys to pursue this policy when they have intentions of returning to work.
Yeah. I always thought Gus had his head switched on, but why would you pursue a claim about being unable to work, while studying and planning to work

Yep. It's really sad and I feel horrible for Gus but a TPD means you are saying you can never work again which is pretty drastic.

Yeah. I mean he deserves every cent of his contract paid out which is being paid out unless I'm missing something cause that's our **** up not his, but that means he has and will have 5 years of free money essentially to rest and recover. I'm not sure why you'd think you're entitled to more again while you're still being paid not to work

Given Gus comes from a very upper middle class (at least) background and a family that is quite prolific in a few industries in Melbourne and could find him work pretty easily if he's not quite significantly disabled, made a huge point about how he was studying business while he was still playing, seems to have set up quite a number of connections for himself during his career and had a pretty decent media/sponsorship thing going with his podcast, it would be a pretty difficult sell to get a payout on the basis of 'never being able to work again'.

That's not a comment on whether he deserves it or not, but I don't imagine that this was Zurich's most difficult or even scummiest rejection this month alone. There would have been plenty of factors and circumstances for them to prey on and get this thrown out.