Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter squashface

Tell you what - we can do without Fremantle games on a Thursday night. Makes it all the more unpalatable when the violet crumbles are giddy in the office the next morning.

Pork chopping it up as if they've won the premiership already.

Definitely struggling to handle us being historically shit at the same time as Freo are legitimately good. Thanks **** I don't live in Perth.
Meh, we had the same in 2013 (not as shit but we were expecting top 4 but missed the 8, Freo made GF). This is just Freo's window. If anything, it gives more assurance that it's a 10-15 year cycle, so we should be due to be up and about around 2028/2030.

Hawks went through the same thing.

Alex Pearce possibly injured. don't watch freo enough to know if thats important?

Police drop all charges against Dion Prestia and Steven May over Boxing Day brawl​

All started when Mitchell thought he could defend a 10 point lead.

For a bloke with his skillset you could see that Freo were absolutely surging. Completely wrong call.
I dont know if it was that, or that Hawthorn tried but simply couldnt get past the Freo wall. They were so bereft of forward options: relying on a 34yo veteran who is having a purple patch (pardon the pun) and a 170cm whizz doing mercurial things. Lewis, Moore, McDonald invisible. Their mids not kicking goals. You knew Bolton would get cracking after being almost invisible for the first half, and eventually the three headed monster + the Unicorn would take over. They can currently reach a level no other side at their peak bar Brisbane and Sydney can match or surpass. Maybe Geelong.

How do most here feel about Flagmantle? I think few can deny they're a contender now, though early.

On one hand its instinctive to go against them, but 30 years is a long wait for their loyal fans. I guess it depends on how much of an arseh*le I do on the day.

I dont know if it was that, or that Hawthorn tried but simply couldnt get past the Freo wall. They were so bereft of forward options: relying on a 34yo veteran who is having a purple patch (pardon the pun) and a 170cm whizz doing mercurial things. Lewis, Moore, McDonald invisible. Their mids not kicking goals. You knew Bolton would get cracking after being almost invisible for the first half, and eventually the three headed monster + the Unicorn would take over. They can currently reach a level no other side at their peak bar Brisbane and Sydney can match or surpass. Maybe Geelong.
I think they missed Barrass and Gunston (injury?). But they were outcoached for sure. That and lacking pace outside, away teams are also at a disadvantage to some extent.

How do most here feel about Flagmantle? I think few can deny they're a contender now, though early.

On one hand its instinctive to go against them, but 30 years is a long wait for their loyal fans. I guess it depends on how much of an arseh*le I do on the day.
I dont think about them. But they have a good list.

Finals will be the true test. Not Home & Away footy.

Depends who they play. Would prefer them over a flog Vic team (Hawks or Cats), 50/50 with Sydney, but would back Brisbane over them (be funny to have a non vic team with 2 threepeats, to dismiss the fapping over the Geelong/Hawks/Tigers dynasties).

Finals will be the true test. Not Home & Away footy.
Agreed.

If they make Top 2 I expect them to walk into a semi-final at the least. However whilst they have been doing well to win Freo havent been putting their fellow contenders to the sword and have fallen over the line late in games - a lot of said contenders have extensive finals experience while Freo dont, and that could feasibly be the difference between a H&A win and a finals loss.

TLDR: Its too early in the season for the lid to be off.

Didn't realise last night just how insane the hawks' scoring profile was. Gunston and Watson between them had 12 of their 18 scoring shots and 9 of their 11 goals. Surely concerning that they only have two avenues to goal.
And in a year or 2 when the hawks are in their absolute window gunston wont be around or a shadow of the player he is this year
They'll no doubt poach another gun forward from somewhere

Agreed.

If they make Top 2 I expect them to walk into a semi-final at the least. However whilst they have been doing well to win Freo havent been putting their fellow contenders to the sword and have fallen over the line late in games - a lot of said contenders have extensive finals experience while Freo dont, and that could feasibly be the difference between a H&A win and a finals loss.

TLDR: Its too early in the season for the lid to be off.

They remind me a little bit of "Collingwood 2023".....not beating teams by a lot (at least the good teams) but doing enough to win. That to me means they are absolutely beatable (and can win too).

Isn't that the absolute worst you can do after finishing Top 2?

Lose Qualifying Final, play Semi Final against winner of Elimination Final?

So yeah I expect that at the least too 🤣
Ah shoot, I got mixed up between the semi and prelim.

Reckon they get to the prelim. Dont think at this stage they'll balls it up and get bundled out 0-2.

Oh good, I see tonight's free-to-air game is Carlton vs Brisbane. I guess after serving us up a good Thursday night match they decided the whole country needed to see Carlton get belted again.

Just checked the schedule. 11 of Carlton's first 13 matches are night games on national TV. Why does the AFL feel it is so imperative that the nation be subjected to watching this mediocre club?

Ah shoot, I got mixed up between the semi and prelim.

Reckon they get to the prelim. Dont think at this stage they'll balls it up and get bundled out 0-2.

Agreed, I think at this stage the clear top three are, in no particular order, Sydney, Brisbane and Freo, then Hawthorn and Geelong the next rung down.

No one under that is a chance.

I still expect Brissie to threepeat it but it's a long season and injuries and gameplans being found out can wreck anyone's campaign.

We're years and years off being able to do what Freo did in the last 10 minutes last night. Was scary.

Agreed, I think at this stage the clear top three are, in no particular order, Sydney, Brisbane and Freo, then Hawthorn and Geelong the next rung down

No one under that is a chance.

I still expect Brissie to threepeat it but it's a long season and injuries and gameplans being found out can wreck anyone's campaign.

We're years and years off being able to do what Freo did in the last 10 minutes last night. Was scary.
I'd suggest Hawks could move up into that top grouping if Day came back fit and firing and could play out the year. That's obviously a big if given his history, and shows why they really should have pushed the chips in for Merrett after they went to all the effort of getting him to commit.

My Fremantle supporting brother feels ‘sorry’ for me.

Let that sink in.
Interestingly that's how I've always felt for Freo supporters. They've never done anything of note, so I just pitied them.

But that's a sad state of affairs if they are starting to pity us - I preferred it when they hated/ were jealous of us.