Autopsy Rnd 10 | Euro-Yroke v Richmond

Big positive is we are kicking over 100 every week now with a lovely spread of goalkickers. Not just relying on a Rooey type to kick 4-5 every week.

To score 100+ against this Richmond side isn't really an accomplishment in itself, but when you consider we have no Liam Ryan, Mitch Owens or Max King it is a good effort. Ryan for Henry soon, Owens for for Caminiti soon.

We let Ben Miller (a pretty average, Dougal-esque defender) accumulate a career-high 15 marks tonight. Entries and forward line function were off the mark tonight. Definite room for improvement.

I never had any doubts about JSOS other than him being injury prone and at 28 he is far from being past his prime.

He's 2 years younger than Wilkie and thankfully he has stayed injury free so far, definitely a better recruit than Aleer.

I doubt whether Aleer would even be getting a game for us, he can't get a game for GWS even with all their injuries.

I feel bad for Aleer cos we clearly teed him up early (more than a year prior to him being out of contract?) and offered crazy money based purely on potential. To pull out late in the game is....rough. But it was clearly the right decision from a list management POV.

JSOS will play 100 games for us if he stays fit.

We underestimate the toll the Darwin trip would have taken.

Solid enough with a few individuals continuing the upward trajectory which is nice.

If we can’t get a key forward that we feel is worth developing than I think a bigger key defender is next on the shopping list. Howard isn’t the medium term solution and only the short term solution by default. Hammer yet to prove he is a the long term solution.
The way I see it is we need a tall forward and a tall defender. If we are going to keep hanging out for Maxie to play next year then at least bring Doddie in as a tall forward. He ain’t gonna sit around until he’s 28 waiting for Ro and TDK.
It would appear as though Keels has had a line drawn through and Hammer is fine as the second tall. He has the added bonus of being able to swing from forward to defence as required.

Pretty good sunday arvo, suckling back on a few beers and enjoying the development.

Garcia is special, he moves really well. He's a good size now but still think he's filling out. He's going to be frightening.

I like Byrnes, he did some really good stuff today.
I actually thought Henry went quite well. Didn’t kick a goal but he disrupted the opposition defense quite a bit providing som much needed forward pressure. An area we traditionally lack. Rtb will keep him in for this alone.

The way I see it is we need a tall forward and a tall defender. If we are going to keep hanging out for Maxie to play next year then at least bring Doddie in as a tall forward. He ain’t gonna sit around until he’s 28 waiting for Ro and TDK.
It would appear as though Keels has had a line drawn through and Hammer is fine as the second tall. He has the added bonus of being able to swing from forward to defence as required.
Dodson is 19, mate.

Are you saying Marshall is still going to be playing at the Saints at 39? Lol.

The panic over Dodson's future is ridiculous, in my opinion.

I would hazard a guess that the Saints would be targeting Dodson to take over from Marshall - possibly even from next year or the year after.

If Dodson was banging down the door for selection, then maybe there could be some discontent. But he is not. He is developing nicely though.

My observations from the ground that nobody asked for:
The combo of Garcia Hall and Macrae was elite. Hugo quickly turning into an A grader.
TDK, acknowledging the weak opposition, was his best game. Looked dangerous in the air and fed our mids on a platter.
Banfield is an absolute specimen. Wowee. Perfect game for him to be introduced into. He’s going to be a player.
Hammer has his flaws but geez he gives 100% effort. The chase down tackle early in the game was a second or third effort in that passage. Same with Byrnes. They have flaws but they give everything.
Jack Carroll is getting better every week. Looked very good today.
Pou’s best game for the year. Gets to the right spot a lot and was getting burnt a lot today.

Couple of negatives. Unless Hall was in the forward 50 we had no one at ground level. Ball came out too easily.
Players looked like they were doing enough to win comfortably but not pushing themselves too hard. Understandable, Darwin to Melbourne to Perth in 14 days. Would rather them be a little fresher for Freo than flog themselves for a 60 point win over tigers. Crowd was poor

Dodson is 19, mate.

I would hazard a guess that the Saints would be targeting Dodson to take over from Marshall - possibly even from next year or the year after.

If Dodson was banging down the door for selection, then maybe there could be some discontent. But he is not. He is developing nicely though.
Exaggeration

Should have won by 10+ goals. Felt like we played down to their level, were never under much pressure and we played like it. Not the best prep for Freo but take the win.

They pushed Adelaide last week. I watched that match and if it wasn't for umpires helping the Crows they would have pushed them closer. They have injuries but mostly to kids. They are playing an older experienced side because kids aren't available and old blokes are actually fit for a change.

They aren't a terrible side right now.

Ross giving them donuts in the presser hahah. Tom "Liquor Licence" Morris asks a question, Ross just eyeballs him like "this campaigner..." and gives him a "Oh I'm not in the locker room".
Did like him saying that Higgo was not injured - just had a grass burn.
But I assume he’s referring to the *sling tackle he got from ( I cannot remember who the Tigers player was)
Purple or red mercurochrome……🤣

He definitely does not want to pump up individual players, even when asked about specifically about Garcia first and then Hall.

*Edit : was Byrnes who was the recipient of the sling tackle. From Vlaustin.

Dodson is 19, mate.

I don’t think it’s panic but it’s worth noting than any decent young ruck plying away in the twos is likely gonna get offers from opposition clubs. It’s not panic but it bears consideration.

Anyway, bar was low today but we cleared it. The dub is what matters

I think Mason Wood should come back. He is a better forward option than both Hammer and Sharman atm.

This midfield group is exciting. hall and a Garcia were brilliant. Flanders works hard but boy he can burn a footy.

Wilson Philipou can show bursts of brilliance. Windy and McRae are the rocks.

Sinclair and Carroll worked well together.

O’Connell Byrnes Ballard all contributed.

Marshall and TDK worked well admittedly against weaker opponents.

Henrys intercepting was good. One to stick with imho.

Out: Hammer
In: Wood

Solid win. Did what we had too without breaking second gear. While a bigger margin would have been nice, that's a development on last year.

We are quietly developing a very exciting midfield - TDK down to Nas, Garcia, Hall, Windy for the defensive stuff then Wilson and Phillipou rotating in from the forward line. Outside of TDK, they are 24 and under. We've been waiting years for excitement like this.

Macrae's best game all season. Flanders is getting better each week as he understand his teammates more and the coaches understand the best way to split his mid/hb time.

Backline needs be better if we want to challenge the best. Felt like every inside 50 was an easy score for Richmond.

Forward line was woeful today. We wont be competitive them next month unless some changes.

Overall, plenty to like, plenty to improve. Now for our 3 week challenge.

Never left second gear which was no doubt the plan.

Good to be in a position we can maturely guide a win on our own terms like that.

Ross Lyon Cup next week 😎

I watched a replay already knowing the result so got to relax and watch stress free. I thought we had a really even performance with no passengers. I enjoyed it. We cruised along but everyone contributed.

Phillipou looked like the guy we expected him to be, Garcia looks like a young Butters, our battlers played well, we spread the goals around. TDK, Flanders and Silvagni looked like premium recruits.

Not sure why people are so upset by that win. We probably get a touch up over the next few weeks. That was a nice break from the coming pain.

I watched a replay already knowing the result so got to relax and watch stress free. I thought we had a really even performance with no passengers. I enjoyed it. We cruised along but everyone contributed.

Phillipou looked like the guy we expected him to be, Garcia looks like a young Butters, our battlers played well, we spread the goals around. TDK, Flanders and Silvagni looked like premium recruits.

Not sure why people are so upset by that win. We probably get a touch up over the next few weeks. That was a nice break from the coming pain.
Had the same thought re: Butters comparison, adore the Spaniard.

It will serve us well for when we actually get a good key forward like Max who is capable of kicking a bag of 4-5 goals.

We can't rely on Max returning though so we need to make plans to score goals without him, if he returns it's a bonus.
He needs to get on the park first,

Garcia is a competitive beast. We weren't playing much, but loved seeing him go in for the kill.

Nas - Hall - Garcia is looking like a pretty dynamic midfield group going forward.

Wilson and Phillipou are starting to find their place.

We have a really nice mixture of types coming through at the moment.

A far cry from the days when we would have Armitage, Ross and Newnes running through the midfield.

Hopper and Taranto are blue chip inside mids. You have to work to beat them.

Evident at the ground, also evident, the lads were blown at 3/4 time, just played out the 4th.
5 day break v a rampant Freo, not great.
Hugo
Hall

Carroll
TDK all good.
My god we need a key forward.
Flanders does some good things but he needs to work on his inside 50's.
Anybody whinging about a 6 goal win at half rat pace against an uberflood is foolish.

Hope we get to see Max King and Ryan play together soon. Nas delivering it to them.

Good win. Slightly frustrating because it felt like we could’ve won by 60+, but it’s hard to be too disappointed when so much of the young core played well.

Carroll has proven a lot of people wrong (myself included). He brings a really nice balance of defence and attack. Garcia keeps improving every week, looks like he could develop into a top 10-20 player in the comp and complements NAS really well.

Hall needs to be a full-time midfielder now; he’s too good to be stuck forward. I see Pou more as a forward who can rotate through the midfield. I’m not fully convinced he’ll make it as a pure midfielder, but I think he can become a very damaging forward.

Still not convinced on LOC. I’d prefer Wood in that spot.

LOC is a brute, I love him. Just a hard body that runs like a projectile.

What ever we say about Byrnsey, he gets in, tumbles into those packs, head over the ball. Guts. He almost took an impressive contested overhead mark today on the wing too.

Across the team, it was a day of fumbles.
I suspect that Homer Simpson addressed them at the end of each quarter.