Autopsy Rnd 10 | Euro-Yroke v Richmond

Can't agree with u on this one Gringo. Of 10 games thus far we have played 6 sides in the bottom 8 of the ladder.

Yes we have travelled but in hindsight we have been given every opportunity to have a good start.

Really good easily have been 7-3 and 4th on the ladder. Still hopeful if we somehow sneak in we could be dangerous. Should be a much better side in 3 months.

The next 3 weeks will tell us a lot. Need to find a way to snag 1 win. Hawks look gettable.

Bad timing having no Nas, Owens, Ryan and a sore Wilkie. It will be a good win if we do it without those guys. Hawks looked a bit ordinary without their full list, so did Brisbane.

Being from Tassie I don’t get to watch many games live and can only enjoy from the comfort from my lounge.

Being at the ground today and watching Flanders play live for the first time 1 thing I can say is he runs all day and doesn’t stop presenting.

There’s a reason he gets on the end of the ball a lot and that’s because he’s always working and putting himself in good position.

Hugo Garcia and Max Hall bursting out of the middle oh my that’s just poetry in motion.

Everybody likes to have a crack at us about over paying TDK I’d love for those same people to look at our clearance rate last year compared to this year.

It is so damn good being able to get first use out of the centre and may long it continue.

Pou’s first half was elite. Sinclair and Carrol gave great use off half back and Wilkie and Jsos were impenetrable as always.

Love watching Darcy Wilson in space we need to sign him asap.

I think we’re in for a few rough weeks but that’s ok we just have to hold our nerve if we drop a few to some of the elite teams of the comp and storm home strong.

Anyway it was an enjoyable day at the footy and great signs from a lot of young guns.

They pushed Adelaide last week. I watched that match and if it wasn't for umpires helping the Crows they would have pushed them closer. They have injuries but mostly to kids. They are playing an older experienced side because kids aren't available and old blokes are actually fit for a change.

1779027087195.webp

So 100+ game players similar in number.

While both clubs had a similar number of under 200gamers, Saints a lot more 50-99 games whereas Tigers had a bulge of under 50 gamers.

I hope you are all starting to see it with LOC. Remember this is his baseline, which is already a solid grounding. He can play a genuine role, is strong, physical quick and has a tidy kick. Compare to Mullin who plays weekly but imo does t do a lot.
Mullin doesn’t do a lot? Surely you jest.

Got to see LOC up close, as he was mostly patrolling the wing right in front of us, and he’s certainly got some good raw ingredients there, with his size, genuine speed, good hands overhead, and how hard he goes at it.

7 effective disposals and 56m-gained isn’t really AFL standard for someone playing wing though, so ideally we need Mason back and in good form, ASAP, IMO- if we want to seriously push for finals.

Will be interesting to see what sort of career LOC has though. Would have thought he was best suited to the Jimmy type lockdown defensive role, given he doesn’t find much of the pill, but perhaps he will be able to play wing effectively eventually.

First 15 minutes, was noticable at the game we were high energy. Set the game up and sat on the lead.
Was a combo Darwin last week and Freo in 5 days.
Did what we had to do to have any chance on Friday, which is slight.
This was evident at the ground no gut running from Wilson or Hill, just cruising starting Higgo & Sharman on the bench at the start of the 4th & not coming on until the 9th min mark is evident of a side looking ahead to Friday.

Higgins needs to stop calling for the ball and we need to stop trying to hit him up when he is stationary and manned up.
Carroll excellent
I liked Windy's game reminded me of Goddard in the contested situations.
Marshall's stats are good but wasn't rapt in his performance

Got through without any added injuries so mostly positive.
Jack Carroll was indeed very good. His kicking inside 50 is as good as anybody else in the team.

see Pou more as a forward who can rotate through the midfield. I’m not fully convinced he’ll make it as a pure midfielder, but I think he can become a very damaging forward.

He’s always looked to me like Jake Stringer type. Not as much a midfielder’s running capacity but strong on power and X Factor.

Regarding Hugo, is there some leadership potential there?

His decision making in traffic has improved ten fold in the last year and his defensive work has always been elite.

However as a standards setter, a leader who can impact at the coal face is there potential there.
For some reason Hugo reminds me of Ray from Mr Inbetween

Happy with a win, but even 6 goals it didn't look easy. Still got the ongoing big issue of not converting enough entries into the forward 50, in fact even a struggling team like Richmond were clearing the ball out easily, when we should have been scoring. This doesn't seem to be getting fixed- we're not holding the ball in the forward half and it will bite us on the bum against better teams.

Flanders is not what I was expecting. At times his ball use is ordinary.

I reckon he does the thing that Brad Hill was doing when he first got to the club - he wants to be a playmaker so he stops and thinks about it and tries fairly tough kicks a bunch of the time. as he settles more and plays more on instinct I think he'll be fine.

Meh, we kick straighter and that's a 50 point win without getting out of second gear after the Darwin travel.

Most positive thing about this year is the development of the midfield, Hall just has to stay in there. Nas, Garcia and Hall with TDK can be seriously elite moving forward.

Honestly I'd consider resting players against Freo and try and limit the damage then throw everything at the Hawks. If we could jag one of the next three somehow would make a world of difference.

Happy with a win, but even 6 goals it didn't look easy. Still got the ongoing big issue of not converting enough entries into the forward 50, in fact even a struggling team like Richmond were clearing the ball out easily, when we should have been scoring. This doesn't seem to be getting fixed- we're not holding the ball in the forward half and it will bite us on the bum against better teams.
Big fella, we were SECOND in the AFL for converting I50 into scores prior to the Suns game.

Not sure where we sit now but the last two weeks have been okay.

The Suns game we scored 20 times from 45 entries.

Yesterday was 29 scores from 63 entries.