List Mgmt. 2026 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

$1-1.2m per year for Joel Amartey ....... you must be kidding!!

If that is the price then I can't see us getting involved at all ...... sounds more like a SOS and Saints type offer !!

As pre previous post, chasing Max Gruzewski would make far more sense.

26 year old KPF who will be good for 40-45 goals for the next 5-6 years. And you’d be silly to bet against him improving on that.

We as supporters need to get used to these sort of contracts getting thrown around. I would say Amartey on 1m is better value than TDK on 1.7m. You’d be paying that for Walter who projects to be that player but might never get there.

The alternative is drafting a KPF, waiting 6 years for them to maybe come good, only for them to end up replacing Harry and still be down a KPF anyway.

26 year old KPF who will be good for 40-45 goals for the next 5-6 years. And you’d be silly to bet against him improving on that.

We as supporters need to get used to these sort of contracts getting thrown around. I would say Amartey on 1m is better value than TDK on 1.7m. You’d be paying that for Walter who projects to be that player but might never get there.

The alternative is drafting a KPF, waiting 6 years for them to maybe come good, only for them to end up replacing Harry and still be down a KPF anyway.

Gruzewski, HOF forward, HOK still young, McKay not old and can new coach get best from him. Kemp solid. Derksen handy.

Byrne Moir ison Hayward Motlop Evans Flynn

We have options

I remember Montagna on First Crack had a piece last year about $1m+ salaries not being unusual with the growth in the salary cap.

So I suppose that's the counter. Maybe the price of Amartey is $1m but we're stuck in an old mindset where that salary should be reserved for the genuine top tier players.

Something about it leaves me cold, though. As others have said it's Mitch McGovern 2.0. Comes in on big money, can't deliver, pressure mounts, trouble all round.

I remember Montagna on First Crack had a piece last year about $1m+ salaries not being unusual with the growth in the salary cap.

So I suppose that's the counter. Maybe the price of Amartey is $1m but we're stuck in an old mindset where that salary should be reserved for the genuine top tier players.

Something about it leaves me cold, though. As others have said it's Mitch McGovern 2.0. Comes in on big money, can't deliver, pressure mounts, trouble all round.
Yep, Amartey is invisible bar a few good games a season with Gulden and Heeney serving him on a platter.

If Sydney are prepared to let him go he would be a disaster on $1m a year.

Gruzewski, HOF forward, HOK still young, McKay not old and can new coach get best from him. Kemp solid. Derksen handy.

Byrne Moir ison Hayward Motlop Evans Flynn

We have options

Gruzewski isn’t even at the club.
HOF will be a gun CHB and should be left there next to Dean for the next 12 years. Don’t mess with his development.
HOK is closer to being delisted than holding down a KPF spot and should be a ruckman anyway. Wasting his potential trying to make him something that he isn’t.
Derksen will be just a player if he does even make it.

We have options but I don’t see a heap of AFL quality long term. Reads like our small forward problem a few years ago. Throw a group of average players at the same role and hope one hits.

Yep, Amartey is invisible bar a few good games a season with Gulden and Heeney serving him on a platter.

If Sydney are prepared to let him go he would be a disaster on $1m a year.
Yep. Hes a 2 goal a game player at best, getting the best service in the league.

Id prefer we get a younger forward to pair with mckay.

Really like Jeffrey, would love to get him across.

I wouldn't undersell Derksen, I think he has a lot of AFL traits. Playing the Haynes role as interceptor can be his starting point (very good penetrating kick to go with his aerial ability), and can be swung forward when needed. Would like to see Derksen get a strong block of games soon.

We’re not going to get a top end ruck this off-season, so I’d just stick with Pittonet and Reidy, at least they compete.

Grab Walker and (Davis) said we’ll hit the draft.

FA Trade
Grab the best available KPF
Butts (ADE)
Chandler (MELB)
Sparrow (MELB)

Potential Trade Targets
Rogers (GC)
Hewett (WCE) - cheap
Tsatas (ESS) - Free
Rioli (Rich)
George (NTH)
Briggs is also a red agent this year

George I’d also expect to be delisted due to constant injuries, which is why he slid to the late 20s in his draft year.

Amartey has gone up a notch this year cause he's got Curnow drawing defenders and the Swans are smart enough to capitalise on that. He's got a two year head start on Kemp's career, and has spent all that time as a forward rather than doing an extended stint down back.

Invest in a kicking coach for Kemp and he's basically Amartey, at a fraction of the cost.

Take that 1m and spend it on a gun small forward or elite distributor. Or if one is available, a better ruck. All will do significantly more for us now and in the future than shuffling deck chairs in the second/third tall forward slot.

Gruzewski isn’t even at the club.
HOF will be a gun CHB and should be left there next to Dean for the next 12 years. Don’t mess with his development.
HOK is closer to being delisted than holding down a KPF spot and should be a ruckman anyway. Wasting his potential trying to make him something that he isn’t.
Derksen will be just a player if he does even make it.

We have options but I don’t see a heap of AFL quality long term. Reads like our small forward problem a few years ago. Throw a group of average players at the same role and hope one hits.

You’re highlighting possible issues but wanting Amartey?

As I said there are heaps of options available. Amartey isn’t only one

Types like Jeffrey, Gruezweski are exactly the types we need to go after. Won't cost the earth. Then get elite talent through draft and develop what we have

A Jaxon Artemis in MSD adds to our list and need for run

If we can (highly unlikely) but a Zac Bailey as a FA would be perfect on top of this
If we are dreaming, I’d be hoping we are making a massive offer for King, he would be a great addition to our forward line, compliment Harry and would allow us to narrow our draft focus.

I hope we are offering Bailey a deal as well of course.

Amartey has gone up a notch this year cause he's got Curnow drawing defenders and the Swans are smart enough to capitalise on that. He's got a two year head start on Kemp's career, and has spent all that time as a forward rather than doing an extended stint down back.

Invest in a kicking coach for Kemp and he's basically Amartey, at a fraction of the cost.

Take that 1m and spend it on a gun small forward or elite distributor. Or if one is available, a better ruck. All will do significantly more for us now and in the future than shuffling deck chairs in the second/third tall forward slot.

Kemp is very competitive but he/we aren’t getting reward for effort with his goal kicking.
Investment in this area of his game would be money very well spent.

Would be near the top of the list with Rogers for me.

But I don’t see how we have the capital to pay the suns asking price after, the points we’d need for Walker.

Any player who is predominantly playing 2s footy, has minimal trade value. It’s hard for a club to ask for much when they show you through their actions that a player isn’t good enough for their team.

Any of the bottom teams would be crazy to not offer Walter a long term contract on big $$$$ to go to the PSD, even if he chose one of the bottom teams to be traded to, the PSD diminishes GC leverage even further.

Kemp is very competitive but he/we aren’t getting reward for effort with his goal kicking.
Investment in this area of his game would be money very well spent.

It’s not technique. It’s mental

Maybe he just needs to practice. I hope like hell new coach works in skills on off season

We could improve so much by working on basics

It’s also worth noting GC draft hand this year, one pick currently 69.

I see a few of their players being on the lookout.

Add Ballard to the list, currently not playing seniors.

Ballard's a good shout - very handy player, missed last year with the ACL, returned early this year for four games before being omitted and hasn't cracked the seniors again yet. Haven't paid much attention to the Suns, so not sure if he's lost a yard or two or needs to find some form/confidence, or if he's just out of favour with Dimma preferring the Collins/Andrew/Adams KPD combination for whatever reason.

Ballard's contracted til 2029, but if he's not getting a regular game in the second half of the season you'd have to think the Suns would be open to letting him go. At that point you'd have to think second rounder at the absolute most, but maybe even a third if they have a desire to shed some cap space and are happy to make his exit a relatively easy one.

Question would then be what to do with HOF.

Cause if we keep Weiters, we need to persist with Dean...I reckon there's only room for one more tall down back in any given week. If HOF is seen as a viable forward instead, then that works well for us. Weiters/Ballard/Dean down back, McKay/Gov/Kemp up forward, HOF the developing utility on the bench during the last year or two of Gov's career, and allowing us to maintain the forward structure when McKay goes into the ruck.

It’s not technique. It’s mental

Maybe he just needs to practice. I hope like hell new coach works on skills on off season

We could improve so much by working on basics

Whatever it is Soapy, what a difference it would make to have a confident McKay/Kemp lining up for goal next season.
This is something that can absolutely be worked on over summer and is the very definition of improvement from within …

I think it's the most likely outcome. Essendon will need an extra first round pick to match Bewick next season and we're the only club that has two first round picks. I can see us trading Sydneys first round pick next season with Essendon for maybe there 2 second rounders. The extra they will get from the early FS bid plus there second round pick.
Could be a play not going to lie as we are likely going to end up with a few firsts with Ridley and Merrett looking to go out this year