st kilda
well lenny is the favourite
ive red someones post saying that fraser should get it
andrew thommo has shown great leadership in the past
aussie jones?
brett voss?

but who does everyone on here think deserves to take over from hamil and captain our club?

me?? well i think that maxy hudghton deserves it. because when he publically shed tears,after we lost that close game during a really bad year, showed that he is emotionally attatched to the club

cheers

Lenny could handle it, but i'd like to see Max get it because of his passion for the club, or Fraser Gehrig. He deserves respect from our supporters and he has really stepped up and is part of the reason of st.kilda's better performances this year. Give it to Fraz!

If we really want to emulate the bris lions, maybe Brett Voss should be the next captain. I loved watching him mid year onwards this year. He has heaps of courage and seems to have gained the confidence that his brother plays with.

last year i definitely wanted hamill but this year am not so clear in my mind. Hayes would be good, and deserving...as would Max. But I like the Big G. It would be great to see a captain and a former captain flexing their muscles in our forward 50 alongside Roo and Kosi.

The carpet snake for mine. :cool:

Originally posted by JeffDunne
This is probably a stupid question but can Harvey have it again? Does the rotation have a time period before you can get it again?

I'm not sure even "Cornflakes" knows the answer does he???

Originally posted by fearlessone77
I'm not sure even "Cornflakes" knows the answer does he???

And guess what team you support with a comment like that. Keeping up the averages are we?

Don't rule out Aussie Jones.

And don't be fooled by the 'quiet' personality.

I watched him closely in 2002-3, and the amount of work he did in getting behind other players and directing traffic in the backline was hugely impressive.

Personally, I'd love Brett Voss, but it looks like Lenny has the job all wrapped up.

i dont really think anyone deserves it more than aaron hamill, but since someone has to take over, next in line i'd have to say lenny hayes although i wouldnt mind someone like fraser to take on te roll.

Originally posted by evertonfc
Don't rule out Aussie Jones.

And don't be fooled by the 'quiet' personality.

I watched him closely in 2002-3, and the amount of work he did in getting behind other players and directing traffic in the backline was hugely impressive.

Personally, I'd love Brett Voss, but it looks like Lenny has the job all wrapped up.

I had forgotten Aussie - he has the smarts, he's been around for a while now and even has finals experience.

Personally, I believe Lenny is a cert for captain, either 2004 or soon after. But with experienced players like Aussie, Fraser, Maxy and maybe a few others in the mix who knows it might not be as soon as I thought. Whoever gets it will have a privelege that players at other clubs would almost never get. Leading an up and coming team with the support of playing past captains.

The captain WILL come from the leadership group;
HAMILL, HUDGHTON, HAYES, BLACK, GEHRIG, RIEWOLDT, KOSCHITZKE.
That rules AUSSIE out. Also, I don't think HARVEY will be considered as he is on the advisory group along with PECKETT & THOMPSON.
For mine, it is a very close contest between LENNY & FRASER !!

I would actually love to see fraser get the nod! Watching him in games in the second half on the 03 season he really got involved with the boys more..there was such a big difference between his first half and second half of the season in terms of his leadership. He's encouraging to the young guys and sticks up for his team mates.

The north game where he got suspended for hitting that guy..lenny would never have done this. Sure you dont want a captain getting suspended or hitting people on field etc.. but he was sticking up for his mate and i like that about him..much like hamill. I think he has had a big turn around the last 6 months and has grown to be one on my fav players.

Originally posted by narthola_04
I would actually love to see fraser get the nod! Watching him in games in the second half on the 03 season he really got involved with the boys more..there was such a big difference between his first half and second half of the season in terms of his leadership. He's encouraging to the young guys and sticks up for his team mates.

The north game where he got suspended for hitting that guy..lenny would never have done this. Sure you dont want a captain getting suspended or hitting people on field etc.. but he was sticking up for his mate and i like that about him..much like hamill. I think he has had a big turn around the last 6 months and has grown to be one on my fav players.

Excellent post & very well said.

I reckon Max should get it just because he's been around the club for longer than Fraser and Lenny and just like someone said after that loss against whoever it was when he cried on the ground at the end of the game. I'm sorry but that does it for me, he bleeds for the club so thats why he should get it. I think. :)

I am still sticking with max, Every year he holds the backline, every week he puts in his all, And how long has he been playing for now!
He has always been a disipline player and he is constontly organizing the Backline!

But if not Maxy, Gehrig, just cause he said it would be the last year that he'll be trying for it, and he had a great year last year!

Hayes has many years to have a go, Though he'll probably still get it!

Though I am crossing my Fingers For Max!

Deputy Vice Captain:Harvey
Vice Captain:Hamil
Captain:Max

you all raise good arguments but St Kilda are entering a very exciting decade why not choose some1 to see them threw that decade like reiwoldt or koshidske! both well respected arounf the club and have huge futures!

i think lenny or max will get it though