2009 GF Post Mortem

Cuz2Plugger

Maybe use one thread to vent, offer suggestions, and find out where we went wrong and what we have to do to finally win a GF.

I think Milney should not be guaranteed a spot in the side, infront of Geary, Armo, Eddy,

I think a hard decision should be made on Raph.

I think Max should have played instead of Dawson, but that's the past now, Dawsons best is in front of him

I think that we need one more gun midfielder (not sure if X is the answer) and some serious half forwards.

I think Geary, Steven and Armo should get regular games next year.

We need Andreas Everitt? and we need a gamebreaker (like Rooke and Chapman - Respect), like Lovett, we need a Lovett?
And more games at the G?

Ross Lyon is probably the best coach Stk has had since Alan Jeans. Maybe though Ross Lyon needs to take some responsibility, (maybe) he is a great coach - no doubt no doubt at all, it's a learning curve for everyone, and he'll have learnt from this as much as anyone, but as he said in his press conference he orderd it to be bombed long in the final qtr, he ordered them to bomb it long in the last quarter, Leigh Montagna also said this with a look of trepidation post match. If we had not done this we may have controlled the ball far more in the last quarter than we did, and I think we might have won. Who knows????It's just one mistake though, if it mattered, Probably wouldn't have mattered. Just tryng to be objective, work out what happened.

To all peanuts, r-e-a-d -v-e-r-y-s-l-o-w-l-y, These are just observations, surely these things are being discussed at the club, it doesn't make you UnAustralian or whatever scares little minds, Do tough decisions need to be made? No?

Positives:
We could easily have won.
Gram stood up like a gun.
Roo did what he could, he couldn't outmark the grandstand, when they simply bombed it, he marshalled everyone out of the 50 too late.
Zac will improve with some gym and some application and age.
Grreat kids coming up.
We thoroughly outplayed them for most of the game
I thought Schneder was ok.
Stk lost it rather than Geelong won it.

Raph won't be traded, or delisted. We can only hope he becomes a depth player

Steven, Geary and Armitage need to become part of the 22. Esp Steven, this kid has the goods.

McEvoy needs to be given 10+ games, get the run into him. Rhys Stanley for 1-3 games

X is coming back, and I think he is a handy inclusion in a winning team. We have great depth, don't start looking to move on everyone

Here is an out there suggestion: Kosi for Fev?

Kosi for Fev would be great for us structurally but I can't see the blues letting him go.

I think X Clarke could be great for us as a forward pocket. People forget how good and exciting he was to begin, and his pressure was always a highlight. Whenever he has come back from injury, he looks to be played out of position a little, put him close to goal and watch him explode I say.

I would be staggered if the saints wern't in the big dance next year. Just need to work on foward defensive pressure. I think that cost you the game yesterday. The pies are too young and light around the stoppages. Statistically the cats find next yeay even harder and they are not a young list. The dogs will be hit by retirements. 2010 is yours to win or lose imo.

Bad luck fellas you were very gallant yesterday!

Stephebn Milne? Question have to be asked about this bloke, seriously chokes come the big time!

At least he gets there... You whole team fails before the big dance.

anyways, X in a pocket sounds delicious! Great tackling pressure and will add a lot. Bye bye Milney lol. Schneider will stay, but he will have Steven breathing down his neck

Gee i'd love fev in the RWB.

I suggested Kosi for Fev to a Carlton and Saints mate.

Both of them laughed at it thinking each was ripped off...

Kosi's a much better mark and at times a better kick. And no where near as controversial.

Fev is a better player though.

I'd do the trade in an instant. Fev was a Saints fan as a kid, I'm sure he'd love to play for us.

But theres 0 chance of it happening.

A team in a premiership window can surely not continue to carry Milne after his finals series. With how conscious they were of your twin towers the door was wide open for him to have a big day. Get what you can for him I reckon.

Thought the Dawson selection would come back to bite given Tommahawk got 8 goals on him in the VFL last year, Zacs improved but not that much and Max is still one of the premier defenders.

Commiserations lads.

Maybe use one thread to vent, offer suggestions, and find out where we went wrong and what we have to do to finally win a GF.

I think Milney should not be guaranteed a spot in the side, infront of Geary, Armo, Eddy,

I think Raph should be moved on, delisted or traded. He will always be a liability.

I think Max should have played instead of Dawson, but that's the past now,

I think that we need one more gun midfielder (not sure if X is the answer) and some serious half forwards.

I think Geary, Steven and Armo should get regular games next year.

We need Andreas Everitt to replace Raph and we need a gamebreaker (like Rooke and Chapman - Respect), like Lovett, we need Lovett.

Ross Lyon needs to take some responsibility, he ordered them to bomb it long in the last quarter, Leigh Montagna also said this with a look of trepidation post match. If we had not done this we would have controlled the ball far more in the last quarter than we did, and I think we would have won. It's just one mistake though. Just tryng to be objective, subjectivity doesn't cut it...(except for Max.....)

facepalm.jpg

Do you want to offer an opinion Sammy Fish? Or are you incapable of reflection?

What do you think should happen?

The picture says 1000words!

And yet u are incapable of uttering one opinion of your own.

Clearly you are incapable of digesting what the picture is saying.
Im am disgusted by your views... :thumbsd:

what are your ****ing views then??? Read in uppercase.

How old are you? 12??
Clearly no idea about football, just jump off us when we lose.

That's jumping off is it?

Sorry pal. Your opinion is redundant. Don't bother posting you are a pea brain.

Yes... that is jumping off us.
Saying players should be traded, and that "this is what the coaches said at 3QTR time."

Your an idiot, who's started SUPPORTING us this year. Your probably NOT A MEMBER, and go to the footy a couple of times a year! :p

As for me being a "pea brain" thats so insulting, clealry have more sense than yourself

Do you want to check out the post match interviews?

I take back what I said about you being a pea brain, and clearly you are tired and emotional still.

If you think that is jumping off wll that's your opinion. You seem incapable of thinking as it might be dangerous for you.

As for my support of the club, that's my business, you have NO idea.

SUPPORTER, not a MEMBER... Huge Differance.

As for me "not thinking" take a look at yourself. :p

Kick more accurately in front of goal. I'm not sure why some players stuffed up when they did. Commentators suggested the lack of experience in wet conditions combined with pressure.