2009 player review

• Thread starter Thread starter robertg22

Long winded I know, but I put together a bit of a review on each player and my thoughts of 2009 and beyond.

1) Leon Davis: How much of Leon’s deplorable performance in the finals is excused by his great home and away form? How much of the home & away form can be noted after witnessing the crap he put out in the finals? It’s an interesting situation with Leon. He may be slightly exempt from criticism if he was carrying an injury. Was he? If so, does that explain his previous poor form in finals? Aside from the first half against Adelaide last year he has failed to fire a shot in finals. Does he just dazzle us with slick one handed pickups and boundary line specials too often? Are we not hard enough on this guy? Or am I just being too harsh now? All unanswered questions that I implore the club to seek answers for.
My rating: B-
Where to now: I would advocate trading Leon for a player who we are in desparate need for. Leon + Pick 14 for Sandilands? Leon + pick 30 for Burgoyne?

2) Sean Rusling: Didn’t play a game. Was always ‘1 or 2 weeks away’ on the injury list. Such a tragic story really, unfortunately his body is just not up to the rigours of contact sport. He would be such an asset to us if he was fit but my patience has run out. Seeing him run around on a HBF for our reserves during the year (badly, I must say) confirms that we’ll never see him again.
My rating: F
Where to now: If we can get anything at all for him during trade week, then let’s do it. Otherwise let’s just delist.

3) John McCarthy: I will preface this by saying that I am a fan of the kid. However, his selection in the finals was definitely a mistake by the match committee. He needed more games throughout the year to get up to speed before playing in the finals. He missed most of the year with injury (he is alarmingly injury prone). How can a 19 year old, 7 game veteran be considered to come in to the team for the first time for the year in round 22 and then be selected for a final? Stupidity if you ask me. I am bullish with him though, I do believe that he will make it, just needs more time to develop.
My rating: D
Where to now: Expect him to play anywhere from 10 to 22 games next season throughout the midfield and half forward. Hopefully he stays fit. Needs to improve his tackling.

4) Alan Didak: Is he really that crash hot of a midfielder? What happened to his deadly left boot? What’s more important, 20 uncontested possessions or 5 tackles? In fact, has Dids ever got more than 5 tackles in a game? Yes, four times – in his 158 game career. For me, he is much more dangerous around goals. Half forward/wing should be his position. He doesn’t win clearances and he doesn’t defend, we cannot afford to have front runners in our midfield any more. How many midfield front runners do Geelong have? That all said, he has had a decent year. Missed a chunk of games through injury and performed well in our wins. How was he in the games we lost? Not well..
My rating: B
Where to now: Back to the half forward flank, rotate through the wing. Not in the centre clearances. Would I consider a trade? I wouldn’t really unless it was a straight swap for Burgoyne…

5) Nick Maxwell: The captain. Goodness me, he came along quite well. I think the best thing about it is how much it upset opposition supporters on BigFooty that he was named in the AA team. A truly great leader and self-sacrificial player on the field. Was exposed one on one against Mooney in the PF, but that has not been and should not be his role.
My rating: A
Where to now: More of the same next year. Hopefully not being assigned directly to big bodied forwards like Mooney etc.

6) Tyson Goldsack: Dare I say he’s over the second year blues and is going to become quite the asset for us. I actually see him as a young Darren Milburn, perhaps lacking a bit of his killer instinct but makes it up in leg speed and bravado. However, he just needs to be given more game time. I hate seeing him play well one week and then get dropped due to this ‘horses for courses’ system. Young players need continuity.
My rating: C
Where to now: Must be given more of an opportunity. I like him playing on the HBF and would he ever be able to play in the middle? If not, why not?

7) Paul Medhurst: Excuse me while I go and vomit. What the hell happened to this guy? I understand that he had no preseason. I understand that he is a confidence player. What I don’t understand is why he was persisted with for so long. Given that he is a confidence player, wouldn’t you drop him back to the VFL a couple of weeks out of the finals to get that confidence back? Why keep him in all year and then drop him for the Prelim? Ridiculous.
Where to now: I’d trade him back for Tarrant as a straight swap but don’t think Freo would go for that. We’ll keep him – he needs to have a massive preseason and be fresh for 2010. He is one player that we know has improvement in him and we are crying out for a target up forward.

8) Harry O’Brien: Very solid. Wasn’t great in the finals but he had a lot of mates there. Throughout the year he played with such flair and confidence and was one of the real reasons why we had moderate success this season. Definitely still has improvement left in him, he is only 22 years old. A big part of our future moving forward.
My rating: B+
Where to now: I suspect he’ll remain in the backline for seasons to come, but seeing him kick those big goals makes you think – is this his ideal position moving forward?

9) Jack Anthony: I won’t be criticising a 2nd year key position forward that kicks 50 goals. Sure, he needs to get more of it, but he is not cut out to be a focal point. He is a 3rd tall forward that is being played out of position. I don’t want to hear anything like he should be tried down back. That would be a waste of 2 years of development and let’s be honest – 50 goal forwards don’t grow on trees (do they, Travis?).
Where to now: Keep on improving, Jack. If he kicks 3 goals a game for the rest of the career I’ll be absolutely rapt.

10) Scott Pendlebury: I know Swanny had all of the accolades this year but to me Pendles is our best and most important player. He was on fire before he hurt his knee against Sydney and then came back slowly. Did start to gather some momentum again towards the end of the season but broke his leg against the Saints.
Where to now: He’s only going to get better. Brownlow material in a couple of years.

11) Shane O’Bree: I don’t even want to really waste my time writing about this guy… all he is doing now is holding a spot that we should be giving to one of the young kids. Yes, he was one of our best vs Geelong and he does deliver solid performances from time to time, but he’s not going to win us a premiership.
My rating: C-
Where to now: Keep him as a backup, play a few games throughout the year but ONLY BASED ON FORM. If he plays well, keep him! If he doesn’t, drop him. Of course I’d be happy to trade him but we’d have to spike someone’s drink for them to even look at his name on a piece of paper.

12) Shannon Cox: He is a frustrating footballer. Moments of brilliants overruled by ages of stupidity. Started the season so well – was close to our best player for the NAB cup campaign / first couple of rounds. Then he floundered, was dropped, never really got back. Seems very heavy also, obviously doesn’t condition himself very well. Bit of a Richie Cole with Coxy..
My rating: E
Where to now: Tradebait? Maybe we could add him as a sweetener for one of the WA teams to get a Sandilands type deal done. Otherwise he could find his head on the block.

13) Dale Thomas: Neutral football viewers would rate Daisy harshly on his 2009 form. There is still a perception out there that he is a crumbing forward pocket player and that’s it. The reality is that couldn’t be further from the truth. Malthouse did the right thing this year and played him in positions that would have been inherently foreign to him. He played more defensive roles in all parts of the ground. I like this. I hope that this helps him become the player that we are hoping that he will become – a gun midfielder – because right now he’s a jack of all trades, master of none; for pick 2 in the draft that is unacceptable.
Where to now: Needs a colossal pre-season. Need him to come back with a massive engine because right now he’s just not getting enough of it.

14) Anthony Corrie: When Michael Voss first took over as coach of Brisbane he obviously sat down with the playing list and a big red pen. One of the first names he put a line through was none other than Anthony Corrie. He wasn’t good enough then and he isn’t good enough now.
Where to now: Centrelink.

15) Leigh Brown: Gives his all. Can play anywhere on the ground. Doesn’t take a backwards step. These would be the attributes of a good footballer, right? Wrong. He is not good enough. He did slightly redeem himself with the goal at the end of the Adelaide game, but still – he’s preventing the development of another young player by being in the side.
Where to now: On the list next year, but as an insurance policy. He’s not a 2nd ruckman and he can only play on the lumbering KPF types.

16) Nathan Brown: Fingers crossed that 2009 was an injury riddled aberration. Would be crippling for us to work out that he’s just not going to be as good as we thought he would be. I must admit, I’m not convinced really. I hope he comes through because the better he is the less likely Leigh Brown plays. Needs to become more attacking and use the ball better. Gone are the days of the completely negative backmen.
Where to now: Needs to get faster and better. We will persist.

17) Dayne Beams: Great first season by the boy. Really looked like he belonged, it was quite the prophetic decision to give him Burnsy’s old number. Didn’t really perform in the Geelong Prelim but he is definitely excused for that. Love the boy.
Where to now: Needs to work on his endurance so hopefully he can run out games in the midfield. No great concern over him.

18) Marty Clarke: The biggest disappointment of 2009. I had such great hopes for Marty, I honestly believe he upset the coach with his request to go back to Ireland for his sister’s wedding. He did not play a game after the mid season break and that must be very de-motivating for a guy who dropped everything and moved countries to play a sport he’d never played before. I do hope he finds his way back into the senior team. Who would you rather see running around for Collingwood, the number 18 or the number 26?
My rating: D-
Where to now: Hopefully he stays. If he leaves I will be shattered.
*******Edit: wrote this before he left – bitterly disappointed, terrible news. Who knows if we can leave the door slightly ajar and one day he makes it back. Maybe a change in coach might make a difference?

19) Cameron Wood: A breakout year without actually being a breakout year. It makes no sense but anyone that has watched the majority of Woody’s games this year should understand. I do think he will make it. He’ll be a 150+ game player for us – but will he ever be a superstar? He’s a bit slow without being hugely physical imposing. He is reasonably capable at ground level though without being that agile. In my opinion he’s someone who should be a second ruckman, behind an able bodied, dominant ruckman. The problem is though that we haven’t had one of those in 15 years.
My rating: B-
Where to now: 22 games next year, PLEASE.

20) Ben Reid: He’s going to make it as our next CHB – at least I bloody hope so anyway. He is exactly the type of player to play on those we struggle against; Riewoldt, Franklin etc. Is tall enough and quick enough to go with those guys. There had been queries on his kicking, but that was a misconception borne out of his terrible goal kicking. Field kicking is OK. I expect 2010 to be his break out year and we will be vindicated for the faith and development we’ve put into him. He is only 20 years old still and a top 10 draft pick who has already gone through a transformation as far as his on field position goes.
Where to now: Has to be pushing for a round 1 gig. Future star & he is still only 20 years old.

21) Sharrod Wellingham: This is one frustrating kid. He has the ability to do the right things on the field but I think he just gets ahead of himself far too often. Essentially he is just a poor man’s Pendlebury, and they are the same age. But I guess that it shows that Pendles was Pick 5 and Sharrod was off the rookie list. I do think he’ll make it and become a decent player for us, he has shown enough to suggest that. He does have the tools though to become a truly great player and I guess it’s up to him whether he gets to that level or not.
Where to now: If we could put him in some kind of a package to get a big name player then I would not oppose it. I am not sure what currency he has though with other clubs.

22) Steele Sidebottom: I must admit that early on I was a bit of a sceptic. Steele seemed to me to be a one paced, one dimensional ‘nothing player’ (ok, that was a bit harsh) who did use the ball well though. He may be slightly ‘one paced’ but he is certainly not one dimensional. He was BOG in a final; he is one of the younger players on our list as well. He is a very creative and clever footballer and I am excited about what we can expect from him.
My rating: C+
Where to now: More midfield development obviously but I hope he plays close to every game next season.

23) Anthony Rocca: Congratulations on a solid career.
Where to now: NFL

24) Tarkyn Lockyer: Incredibly durable footballer. I guess it helps when you don’t go near a contest and you know that no matter what you do, you’re not going to get dropped. Hasn’t missed a game since 2004. I guess I am a bit harsh on him, he did have a pretty good year (home and away only) and kicked over 30 goals for the first time in his career. Is he going to win us a premiership? The answer, unfortunately, is a resounding NO.
Where to now: Plays next year, but as with O’Bree needs to be appraised after each performance and if he does not play to an acceptable standard, he needs to play VFL. It’s a simple equation.

25) Josh Fraser: The once in a generation player’s time is almost up. His knee is obviously still preventing him from playing in the seniors for sustained periods of time. It’s sad really because we know what he is capable of at full fitness. He has only played 5 of our 9 finals in the last few years – for one of our supposed marquee players that is simply not good enough.
Where to now: Back to Mansfield maybe? In all seriousness though, is he the way forward? I know he’s 27 and he should have a few good seasons left in him yet, but we’ve been waiting now for over 5 years. What value would we get from trading him? What value would we get from keeping him? We need to weigh the two up and make a hard decision.

26) Ben Johnson: Got the best out of himself in 2009, seemingly his fitness was back and regained a bit of pace. Was slow and fat last year - credit to the coaches for turning him around. Nevertheless, regardless of any improvement or effort, at the end of the day HE IS STILL BEN F**KING JOHNSON. No matter how many times he hits a target, I still cringe every time he puts boot to ball. I am emotionally scarred. I do not want to see him playing for the club ever, ever again!! He is the tagger that doesn’t bother to lay tackles. All he is doing is preventing another kid from getting an opportunity. Again, I will ask – is he going to win us a premiership? Absolutely not!
Where to now: Mars.

27) Jarrad Blight: There is a lot to like about Blight. Watched a bit of him at VFL level and it seemed that he really improved as the season wore on. I like his dash from the HBF and ball use. Is a real modern day footballer, big, fast and uses the ball beautifully. Had a bit of a slow start, but really blossomed towards finals. One to watch.
Where to now: Hopefully he gets a taste of senior footy next year, if only a couple of games. I get the feeling that he will be the kind of guy that excels in the AFL environment. Look forward to seeing his career blossom.

28) Danny Stanley: Danny is a VFL player only and should be rated as such. Dominates at that level, unfortunately I feel that early on when his development was paramount the club played him too far out of position to let him settle & he never recovered.
Where to now: Would love to see them delist him and sign for the VFL side. Just dominates at that level & will continue to do so. Doubt there is much interest out there trade wise.

29) Ryan Cook: If we had a shortage of slow, unskilled and stupid midfielders then Cook would be in high demand, but unfortunately for his struggling career he is surplus.
Where to now: Court case pending – perhaps Barwon Prison?

30) Brent Macaffer: He was drafted to us as a full forward. We obviously realised that he was just too short for that position so moved him further up the field and he has come along in leaps and bounds. I like the look of him running along the wing in the midfield and pushing forward. He can take a nice contested grab and kick a goal. I think him playing finals wasn’t really the best move, but at least it was a move and variety can be the spice of life.
My rating: D+
Where to now: I hope he works on his endurance and can be added to our long list of midfield rotators. There’s just something about him that I like and I hope that he makes it – he looks the part.

31) Chris Dawes: Quite simply, when he gets a game, he looks good. He’s a 21 year old developing FF/CHF. What is he going to learn by playing VFL, having Jaxson Barham and Ryan Cook deliver helicopters at him all day. We preferred to go into a final with Leigh Brown as our dangerous forward/backup ruckman. Dawes simply needs game time. I am pretty sure he will make it. He does have hard hands sometimes and perhaps doesn’t lead to the right areas so much, but there is definite upside there. I want to see it!
My rating: D+
Where to now: The MCG most weeks, we hope. We were screaming out for a big target against the Cats and no one stood up. I just hope we don’t upset him that much because of not getting a game that he opts to find a new home.

32) Travis Cloke: I ‘m leading the charge for us to cease calling this idiot ‘sticky hands’. What happened to our 20 year old CHF from 2007 who snared the Copeland after a dominant home & away and more importantly finals series? Where did he go? Was he distracted by the pre season events unfolding; him getting hit by some thug on the Gold Coast, his house getting shot at, the guy who hit him dying later on. Did that shatter his confidence? Hard for an onlooker like myself to weigh up those factors but he was shocking this year. Jason Cloke started well and faded away… is Travis going to suffer the same fate?
Where to now: Needs to slim down and get his confidence back. Still our #1 forward, which is probably more of a bad thing now than a good thing.

33) Brad Dick: Break out year. While he was definitely up and down, the way he came into the game in the middle of the year could have been a major contributor to our resurgence. He definitely has a very long way to go. I’m not convinced that he will ever be physically ready for a midfield role – but his crumbing ability and creativity are vital to us, allowing us to release certain players into the midfield more. I look forward to his continual development, he should play every week…
My rating: B+
Where to now: The gym then back to the forward pocket at Jack & Dawesome’s feet.

34) Alan Toovey: I’m torn. He tries so hard, is fast, strong, takes them on… but he’s still no good. Much improved yes, but still an intrinsically bad footballer. I hate to bring back the Geelong analogy (however, they the model we should be basing ourselves on), but how many Tooveys do they have? None! Eventually I will be looking to players like Blight, Reed etc to replace Tooves.
Where to now: Continue doing what he’s doing but don’t expect him to be there in 5 years. Well, I’d hope not anyway!

35) Simon Prestigiacomo: I will admit freely that I thought he was finished as a footballer at the end of this year. To come out and have the year that he did is a credit to the guy. That said, he was incredibly poor during the finals. He was easily beaten by all of Riewoldt, Tippett & Hawkins. This has to be a concern leading into 2010. I get the feeling he was tired, it was a long season and he is an old man..
Where to now: Next year, he can’t be expected to shoulder all of the responsibility. I would like to see him rested throughout the year because I reckon we burnt him out. Also needs to be better matched on opponents, if he plays on Riewoldt ever again I’ll scream..

36) Dane Swan: What a year our All Australian HFF had! Runs all day, gets his hands dirty, brings others into the game. Fantastic stuff Son of Billy. Is just about at the peak of his powers and I hope that he maintains that level of performance for years to come. Was slightly down on form during the finals but not horribly. One memory that stands out for me of his year is the game in Adelaide where he was being tagged out of the game but then went down back and was one of the reasons why we got back into it.
Where to now: Send him off to get more tatts, if that helps him play well then get the ink out!

37) Luke Rounds: I would have to describe Rounds’ year as modest. I understand that he was a bottom aged draft pick and is going to take time, so am prepared to be patient. He is seriously fast & leg speed is something we are screaming out for, so I would expect he’ll be given plenty of time. Just seemed to me to be a little bit ‘dumb’ on the field at times. Hopefully this is a complete misconception.
Where to now: Back to the VFL & the gym. May be discussed as a senior option later in the year but I wouldn’t be too sure about that.

38) Scott Reed: Scott was always going to take a while, but he surprised me this year. He looks the part down back and will be a definite chance for a senior berth in a couple of years. We need to put a bit of love into him because he is from NSW and if he does become a player, the temptation to return to Sydney to play in the new franchise could be all too tantalising. Can play as a key back/lock down role or more of a running role. Similar to Goldsack in a quite a few ways (and he’s got Goldy’s old number!).
Where to now: Back to the VFL, but would be one that could surprise a few in 2010 or 2011..

39) Heath Shaw: He’s back, and no doubt we’re all glad that he is! Had a slow start due to injury, but once he got back to full fitness he was definitely in our top 3-4 players. Is the launching pad for many of our forward thrusts, though I would like to see him take less kick ins – he’s good overhead!. Can’t fault him, very happy. Is one player that actually played well in the finals.
Where to now: Back to the HBF Heater, play like you did in 09 and we’re a much better side for it.

40) Chris Bryan: I am sure he’s a good bloke.
Where to now: Who cares?

41) Kevin Dyas: Another failed Irish experiment. Was really up against it, lacked size and speed and once he tore his hammy off the bone his fate was pretty much sealed. We wish him all the best.
Where to now: The emerald isle.

42) RIP Pants.

43) Jaxson Barham: The only thing more ordinary than Jaxson’s first name is his disposal. I am not sold that he is a genuine prospect, though f**k me he is fast! Tackles like a madman and his endeavour is great, perhaps a long term role as a tagger could be something for him but that will depend on whether Bucks rates the role of a tagger because MM certainly doesn’t.
Where to now: Gosch’s Paddock with a football and a friend – just practice kicking the thing!

44) Lachlan Keefe: Very long term prospect here. He is highly rated by the club and he is a very big kid. Won’t be anywhere near the action in 2010 (we hope, just not ready) but he will continue to develop in the VFL in a hope that actually we might actually find a ruckman one day.
Where to now: More of the same, keep developing.

45) Toby Thoolen: He is quite possibly one of the worst players I’ve ever seen. He makes Bo Nixon look like Len Thompson!
Where to now: He would make a good paperweight.

46) Tristan Francis: Did suffer a season ending injury mid year but from what I saw there wasn’t a great deal to be excited about. With the Irish departures it may help Tristan get another year on the RL, but I am definitely not convinced.
My rating: E
Where to now: Reluctantly I would give him another year on the rookie list.

47) Jarryd Blair: He’s tiny! But he can run, win a clearance, kick the ball, make sound decisions. There is a lot to like there. We may as well just promote him to the senior list, after all it is well documented that the 2009 draft class is rather shallow this year. Look out for him to debut in 2010!
Where to now: Senior list please!

48) Johnny Bennell: Missed a ton of the year due to a broken collar bone. Played all of the finals and kicked 8 goals in 3 games. He is a real livewire, but a bit prone to silly decisions. Definitely a keeper though.
Where to now: Another year on the rookie list then evaluate at the end of 2010.

You would think we finished last with some of those ratings. Get off O'Bree's, Leon's and Did's backs for one, they had stellar years (O'Bree most tackles and clearances at Collingwood!) and don't deserve to be rubbished...

We're in the caper to try and win a premiership. Players who don't perform in those matches deserve any criticism that is levelled at them imo.
If we are prepared to accept mediocrity in finals then we'll never ever win a grand final with this group.
If you are happy to accept frontrunners representing us then go ahead.

Some of it is a bit harsh, but I agree with most of it. Particularly your views on Dick, Jack, Macaffer, Thomas and Dawes. Personally I think Dick is our most exciting prospect going forward, his ability to be in the right place at the right time and sneak in goals is just great. I think 'the X-factor' has been very overused this year and is a cliche, but if any player deserves that title it's Dick.

Thanks for the feedback. I understand I may come across as harsh on certain players but as a club we need to really look at certain players performing (or not) in big games. Performances like that Geelong game should be completely unacceptable, and until they are we will not challenge for a premiership.

Fair effort but no offense that was a poor review.

Reactionary as mentioned above.

You come across as a fan who can't keep their opinions in check.

Fair enough, it probably does come across reactionary. If I rewrote this in say 2-3 weeks some of the comments and ratings would be slightly different, however the general sentiment would be the same. It's not as if it's all negative anyway, I am just bitterly disappointed. I am just sick of being let down time and time again by the same people. I'm not the only one who thinks this, sometimes we need to take our blinkers off and have a good hard look at the way things are going.
Though, I thought that this was a forum for expressing your views and opinions on all things Collingwood. Based on that, why would I keep my opinions in check? It's one thing not to agree with an opinion, another to discourage people from expressing it.

Great effort and should be commended for your work.

Thought you were tough on Daisy as he was all over the place this year but by God he did have a dip. As for Dick, mmm, not that sold on the guy and I guess it is still early in his career.

Your Ryan Cook assessment was both funny and yet sad that the guy is still on our list.

Again, well done:thumbsu:

I think the reviewer has every right to bring his opinion to the table.

I did a similar review, as you know,:D, and while doing it I tended to play favourites to several players, and also got a little bit of criticism for it.

I say have your opinion, because when you read an article or a review by a professional writer, usually even they leave their own "slant" on the story/review.

And to be honest, some of the criticisms are warranted, and finals performances should be treated harshly, even if sometimes we don't know the whole story behind each players circumstances and roles in the finals.