majicjman

Why are the Ammos not in this competion
2012 Champions Cup - Victoria's BEST of the BEST
do the a grade premiers ( Collegians)think they are too good to play in this and represent the VAFA

Why are the Ammos not in this competion
2012 Champions Cup - Victoria's BEST of the BEST
do the a grade premiers ( Collegians)think they are too good to play in this and represent the VAFA

They would think not that at all. These bloke are amateurs, not paid mercenaries like some players from other comps and outside of the actual ‘real’ season would probably prefer to have a Sunday off (work, study, family etc). As they are playing for the jumper and not the lure of cash they probably could not care less about the event or feel the need to prove themselves anyway.

I assume this is a commercial venture put on with the intention of making some $ for the organisers. Nothing wrong with that but if so leave it for the paying leagues.

[/b]

They would think not that at all. These bloke are amateurs, not paid mercenaries like some players from other comps and outside of the actual ‘real’ season would probably prefer to have a Sunday off (work, study, family etc). As they are playing for the jumper and not the lure of cash they probably could not care less about the event or feel the need to prove themselves anyway.

I assume this is a commercial venture put on with the intention of making some $ for the organisers. Nothing wrong with that but if so leave it for the paying leagues.

Hi Rooster,

Collegians took the invitation seriously and would have loved to work the event into their pre-season however the ammo's start on the 21st of April this year which made it difficult for them to fixture the 18th of March game in.

As for your comments about "mercenaries", why is there this constant belief that suburban footballers are all getting paid "HUGE" amounts of money - I agree that 10% are more than likely getting paid above the odds (and these are the players this site talks about) but that leaves 90% that would generally be playing for the jumper in seniors, reserves and 19's across all grades. I think it would be fair to say that quite a few senior premier players form VAFA would have been given opportunities in professions that they may not have otherwise for their football ability. So its swings and round-abouts mate

And as for the organizers $... my business supports clubs in every aspect of their operations for 12 months of the year - This day is a great opportunity to get footy from all geographical areas together for one day and give local footy a bit a media. I’m happy to tell you that if we break even we are happy, it is more an idea that has been brought to life and I enjoy doing it. This is a great opportunity for local clubs to rub shoulder with some big business and our "forum room" on the day will help club officials and coaches with operations, medical information, training ideas from AFL coaches and fund raising opportunities for the season ahead.

The idea of a connection between local competitions seems to have caught on as the VAFA have re-ignited their inter-league match on April 1... What a great idea for the better clubs not to have their best players available for their club just prior to easter and the start of the"real season" and would you believe it - it’s on a Sunday... what will the study / family / working crew do...?

Sports $$$$$ Support:
If you are so high and mighty about bringing everyone together for the greater cause of local footy love perhaps every cent that comes in should be spread around the leagues of the clubs that participate, so you truly are doing it for 'The Love Of The Game'.

It stinks of profiteering on your behalf so why don't you just say, ''yep, I came up with the idea to make a few bucks''? I notice that your posting history is littered with self promotion events and that you have never posted in the VAFA forum before, which says it all about your genuine non interest in our comp and board.

This behaviour is not within the spirit of what Big Footy is about, using it to make money, if I were a mod I would red card you forever.

Hi Rooster,

Collegians took the invitation seriously and would have loved to work the event into their pre-season however the ammo's start on the 21st of April this year which made it difficult for them to fixture the 18th of March game in.

As for your comments about "mercenaries", why is there this constant belief that suburban footballers are all getting paid "HUGE" amounts of money - I agree that 10% are more than likely getting paid above the odds (and these are the players this site talks about) but that leaves 90% that would generally be playing for the jumper in seniors, reserves and 19's across all grades. I think it would be fair to say that quite a few senior premier players form VAFA would have been given opportunities in professions that they may not have otherwise for their football ability. So its swings and round-abouts mate

And as for the organizers $... my business supports clubs in every aspect of their operations for 12 months of the year - This day is a great opportunity to get footy from all geographical areas together for one day and give local footy a bit a media. I’m happy to tell you that if we break even we are happy, it is more an idea that has been brought to life and I enjoy doing it. This is a great opportunity for local clubs to rub shoulder with some big business and our "forum room" on the day will help club officials and coaches with operations, medical information, training ideas from AFL coaches and fund raising opportunities for the season ahead.

The idea of a connection between local competitions seems to have caught on as the VAFA have re-ignited their inter-league match on April 1... What a great idea for the better clubs not to have their best players available for their club just prior to easter and the start of the"real season" and would you believe it - it’s on a Sunday... what will the study / family / working crew do...?

Spare me your gratuitous self-promotion. A poster implied that Collegians where perhaps not participating due to a sense of superiority. I took the opportunity to reply with my opinion, as that’s what this forum is all about. I don’t need a lesson in local football culture from someone running a commercial enterprise (which of course you are quite entitled to do and good luck in “breaking even”)

Don’t ever see you posting on the VAFA board until you are trying to promote your event so I doubt you really know much at all about our competition. And you should be happy that someone is talking about your event because the response to your promotions across various BF forums has been under whelming to say the least. (Having said that I still wish you and the competing clubs well on the day)

If you read my post I have stated that some players, not all, are overpaid. As an ammo club that loses players every year to paying comps I am constantly staggered by the amounts on offer. You can’t begrudge a top liner, say an ex AFL, VFL or even a well credentialed suburban/county player from getting a good earn but when an average, unproven young bloke gets lured away from his club for $1000 plus a game then we have completely lost the plot. Don’t know that your event does much to discourage that culture but that’s just my opinion. And to equate setting up a person in a career to paying over the odds to some football mercenary for 1 or 2 years service before he moves on to the next highest bidder is quite absurd.

Sadly in some suburban and county leagues the level of success depends on the size of your chequebook. There are a few exceptions of course but generally without a wealthy backer or benefactor then you are really up against it. Over the last 20 or so years an incredible number of clubs have been forced to merge or disappear altogether. I don’t believe that paying ridiculous amounts for over hyped suburban hacks is good for football in general. That’s just my opinion and of course you are entitled to yours.

And with all due respect I hardly think that the opportunity to represent the VAFA in a game against the EFL (with proceeds to charity rather than your hip pocket) is even remotely the same as playing in your event. The VAFA are very strong supporters of rep footy across various age groups, metro, country, interstate and even internationally but of course you would know that.

But as always being amateurs work, study, family etc will take precedence over playing football in the off season and so it should, even if you want to make light of it.

Bring on the real season

Sports $$$$$ Support:
If you are so high and mighty about bringing everyone together for the greater cause of local footy love perhaps every cent that comes in should be spread around the leagues of the clubs that participate, so you truly are doing it for 'The Love Of The Game'.

It stinks of profiteering on your behalf so why don't you just say, ''yep, I came up with the idea to make a few bucks''? I notice that your posting history is littered with self promotion events and that you have never posted in the VAFA forum before, which says it all about your genuine non interest in our comp and board.

This behaviour is not within the spirit of what Big Footy is about, using it to make money, if I were a mod I would red card you forever.

Get over it,

Agreed, the people at Big Footy have a site and i pay them for the commercial use on big footy with my sports support account... where else would you advertise a local footy competition successfully...?!? Maybe SEN, MMM, The paper (stay tuned) - have a seperate account for personal use

every leauge and AFLVIC has been asked to be involved - last year individual clubs made money from every area of food and bar sales, some clubs involved increased their club sponsorship, leauges had every opportunity to be involved. YJFL even donated their profits to world vision i think - they ran the food.

We supported two charities "CALL TO ARMS" & The reach foundation. We will have two again

I can tell you the day is lucky to break even, so splitting dividends between 9 comps is a little hard considering last year ran at a marginal loss - It is however a opportunity for the business to do some promotions of divisions that can support clubs operations, save them time, money and, yes, help our business grow - So yes it is an idea that brings together the footy community so we can market our support. But at approx. 500 hours over 4 months for no income i'd say its more a hobby i like doing that may have some benifits in marketing...

I had VAFA supporters all over me last year too...?!? why the angst towards new concepts... Cardio will be at me soon i spose...

Spare me your gratuitous self-promotion. A poster implied that Collegians where perhaps not participating due to a sense of superiority. I took the opportunity to reply with my opinion, as that’s what this forum is all about. I don’t need a lesson in local football culture from someone running a commercial enterprise (which of course you are quite entitled to do and good luck in “breaking even”)

Don’t ever see you posting on the VAFA board until you are trying to promote your event so I doubt you really know much at all about our competition. And you should be happy that someone is talking about your event because the response to your promotions across various BF forums has been under whelming to say the least. (Having said that I still wish you and the competing clubs well on the day)

If you read my post I have stated that some players, not all, are overpaid. As an ammo club that loses players every year to paying comps I am constantly staggered by the amounts on offer. You can’t begrudge a top liner, say an ex AFL, VFL or even a well credentialed suburban/county player from getting a good earn but when an average, unproven young bloke gets lured away from his club for $1000 plus a game then we have completely lost the plot. Don’t know that your event does much to discourage that culture but that’s just my opinion. And to equate setting up a person in a career to paying over the odds to some football mercenary for 1 or 2 years service before he moves on to the next highest bidder is quite absurd.

Sadly in some suburban and county leagues the level of success depends on the size of your chequebook. There are a few exceptions of course but generally without a wealthy backer or benefactor then you are really up against it. Over the last 20 or so years an incredible number of clubs have been forced to merge or disappear altogether. I don’t believe that paying ridiculous amounts for over hyped suburban hacks is good for football in general. That’s just my opinion and of course you are entitled to yours.

And with all due respect I hardly think that the opportunity to represent the VAFA in a game against the EFL (with proceeds to charity rather than your hip pocket) is even remotely the same as playing in your event. The VAFA are very strong supporters of rep footy across various age groups, metro, country, interstate and even internationally but of course you would know that.

But as always being amateurs work, study, family etc will take precedence over playing football in the off season and so it should, even if you want to make light of it.

Bring on the real season

Mate, you taking me all wrong here... what is it with you ammo blokes...?!?

I've been a president of a low income, low paying, semi-successful (div 1 flags in the 90’s when there was little money floating around, a few Div. 2 flags since), local club on and off for the past 10 years - trust me I know how hard it is to retain players and the volunteer hours it takes to keep them.

I know quite a bit about ammo footy bud and have visited plenty of clubs over the past two years.

You started with the better things to do on Sunday - I replied with a genuine concern that you raised that people will have better things to do on a Sunday... I hope the EFL v VAFA game is a great success, I have a mate coaching the C/D side, i will be there and support the day... Mate there’s no need for the angst - It’s an organized practice match between premiers from around Victoria - just relax.

Get over it,

Agreed, the people at Big Footy have a site and i pay them for the commercial use on big footy with my sports support account... where else would you advertise a local footy competition successfully...?!? Maybe SEN, MMM, The paper (stay tuned) - have a seperate account for personal use

every leauge and AFLVIC has been asked to be involved - last year individual clubs made money from every area of food and bar sales, some clubs involved increased their club sponsorship, leauges had every opportunity to be involved. YJFL even donated their profits to world vision i think - they ran the food.

We supported two charities "CALL TO ARMS" & The reach foundation. We will have two again

I can tell you the day is lucky to break even, so splitting dividends between 9 comps is a little hard considering last year ran at a marginal loss - It is however a opportunity for the business to do some promotions of divisions that can support clubs operations, save them time, money and, yes, help our business grow - So yes it is an idea that brings together the footy community so we can market our support. But at approx. 500 hours over 4 months for no income i'd say its more a hobby i like doing that may have some benifits in marketing...

I had VAFA supporters all over me last year too...?!? why the angst towards new concepts... Cardio will be at me soon i spose...

No, not this year as your paying your way and not a fly-by-nighter and prepared to constructively table your objectives, strategies and funding.

Saw a couple of games last year on albeit crap grounds but credit where credit is due - will be watching a couple again this year as well - all the best for this year (just get the chip off your shoulder)

Cheers

CC

No, not this year as your paying your way and not a fly-by-nighter and prepared to constructively table your objectives, strategies and funding.

Saw a couple of games last year on albeit crap grounds but credit where credit is due - will be watching a couple again this year as well - all the best for this year (just get the chip off your shoulder)

Cheers

CC

Thanks Cardio Carl - disappointed you didn't find me mate, would have liked to say g'day and shout you a beer...

Very hard to find 3 grounds as conveinent in Melbourne - Glad you came out though... hopefully we can turn on the weather again...

Thanks Cardio Carl - disappointed you didn't find me mate, would have liked to say g'day and shout you a beer...

Very hard to find 3 grounds as conveinent in Melbourne - Glad you came out though... hopefully we can turn on the weather again...

You did find me and we had a chat - remember? and I declined the beer as i don't drink the Boags Crap...oooppps sorry, are they sponsors again this year??

Yeah, they are continuing to support local footy... Maybe even your club...???

You'll have to find me again and jog my memory, I'll have Mickey mouse ears on again.... Ha

Having read the above collegians have a fair reason for not participating in the gig. But I would like to pose another question re paying players there is huge amounts on offer for most first division clubs in suburban leagues I know that to be competitive in div 1 edfl the club will need a budget of $300K plus .Also the VFL sides are losing players to the suburban leagues as they don’t have the cash and have salary caps in place well below most div one clubs. I fear for the future of our grass root game because of the ludicrous amount of cash that is been thrown at suburban and country footballers how can this expenditure be sustained in the long term
and when you see how much the junior subs are at theses clubs at some its $250 plus a year that will make it harder for parents to justify letting their kids play football

Having read the above collegians have a fair reason for not participating in the gig. But I would like to pose another question re paying players there is huge amounts on offer for most first division clubs in suburban leagues I know that to be competitive in div 1 edfl the club will need a budget of $300K plus .Also the VFL sides are losing players to the suburban leagues as they don’t have the cash and have salary caps in place well below most div one clubs. I fear for the future of our grass root game because of the ludicrous amount of cash that is been thrown at suburban and country footballers how can this expenditure be sustained in the long term
and when you see how much the junior subs are at theses clubs at some its $250 plus a year that will make it harder for parents to justify letting their kids play football

Ay majicjman - Glad you posted yesterday and agree with just about everything above... here's a post from early last year that is more along the lines of what you’re talking about http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=797028

This tread has become more about the money in local footy - Not really the champions cup... We would have loved Collegians to play as VAFA makes up a huge part of suburban footy but, we respected their preparation concerns due to their guys having different lead-up responsibilities.

Let’s hope we can makes 2013's date fits in with a VAFA representative...?!?

Thanks sports support i too would like to see the best ammo side play in this comp and for them to do well as i think it would show the ammos in a new light as a good competion that we know it is .
But i think the ammos might be in trouble attaching players if the finacial inducments keep going up in dollar value.
The club i have been involved with has lost several good players over the last three years to the almighty $ and i think this is a bigger problem for the lower grades from C grade down .
If you have a good player they will come to the attention and be chased hard by the paying clubs. Its hard to blame a bloke for getting money if hes good enough.

A massive BigFooty thanks for your input over the past few months – I must say the build-up to this year’s event has been amazing – SEN coverage will really start ramping up over the next few weeks so stay tuned for interviews, input and updates coming through from time to time.

Alan Eskander and the guys from BetStar have listened to you, the “informed local footy fan” and have framed a market - LIVE BETTING on the BetStar Champions Cup is now available & is exclusive to www.betstar.com.au – Check out who BetStar think is the favourite – There are some very generous odds available so if your not already - become a member, it only takes 3 minutes and get on your tip.

If you not fully across the teams – SEN have helped the local footy fan have a clearer insight into the 9 premier teams playing from around Victoria - check out the Tranzworks pre-view show hosted by Nathan Thompson & Terry Wallace is available on Sports Support T.V. – Head to www.sportssupport.com.au and click on the plasma screen to get all the info on the day, who’s playing when and the STARS that will be out there on the day.

AND CONGRATULATIONS TO - tige19 – For being the winner of the BetStar POST competition & a $500 FREE BET on any BetStar market available.
2nd prize - a club pack valued at $ 300 goes to Don Draper and the 2 V.I.P. tickets are for tim finnigan – We’ll highlight the Bundoora schedule for you mate and point them out to you on the day… haha

If the winners could email me at ben@sportssupport.com.au with their postal details I’d be happy to send out the prizes

Correct me if I'm wrong, but was there a similar comp like this in 1992 called the Premier's Cup, featuring not just the teams that won premierships in country & metro Victorian football, but also the then VFA premiers Dandenong? I think the comp was axed by the then Kennett Government when it came to office, because it said 'it was a waste of taxpayers money'.

You are absolutely correcet Jas, it was the top two teams from all metro comps. Two of my mates who were playing with De La at the time played in it. As I recall Dandenong and Willy represented the VFA and De La and NOBS represented the VAFA.
It was a knock-out comp and De La lost to Dandenong in the semi after leading the whole day. It was quite funny that as soon as Dandenong hit the front, the siren went!!
Winner got $20K if I remember correctly.

You are absolutely correcet Jas, it was the top two teams from all metro comps. Two of my mates who were playing with De La at the time played in it. As I recall Dandenong and Willy represented the VFA and De La and NOBS represented the VAFA.
It was a knock-out comp and De La lost to Dandenong in the semi after leading the whole day. It was quite funny that as soon as Dandenong hit the front, the siren went!!
Winner got $20K if I remember correctly.

You got to bear in mind that comp was played during a time when Victoria was in grave financial trouble. While the concept was good, it came at the wrong time. When the then Kennett government took office in 1992, the Premier's Cup was one of the first things on the hitlist. As I said before, the Minister for Sport said at the time explaining why the Premier's Cup had to go, "We totally support community football, but we feel this is a waste of taxpayers money."

The Premier's Cup came about after Hawthorn knocked off West Coast in the 1991 AFL Grand Final. The then premier, Joan Kirner thought it was a good idea to bring together the best teams from metro & country Victoria. The final was played at the MCG, prior to the Melbourne-Geelong game.

It's unfortunate that we don't have a VAFA side in this years tournament but the day is really about local footy coming together on one day

We’re proud to present the 2012 BetStar Champions Cup - This Sunday 18th of March @ Bulleen Park - I can tell you if i was paying wages to get this thing up and running I'd like a little government funding... ha ha - Bring back Joan

Check out http://www.sportssupport.com.au/vid_001.html to see what chance have BetStar given to the very best from local Victoria.

Be great to get some VAFA support so we can hopefully secure a representative in 2013...