Catsmaninamerica

Cricket, Surfing
Week one of next years finals. No injuries. How does our best side look? For me it looks like this.

B: Enright, Lonergan, Bews
HB: Varcoe, Taylor, Rivers
C: Motlop, Hartman, Bundy
HF: Duncan, Vardy, Menzel
FF: SJ, Hawkins, Walker
R: Simpson, Selwood, Caddy
IB: Guthrie, Blitz, Stokes, Bartel

PLayers that could easily be best 22 by finals

Frawley (If he comes across)
  1. Murdoch. (I like him a lot. His pace and goal kicking. But i see Menzel taking his spot in a perfect world)
  2. GHS (He played better than i expected this year. but he remains slow and turns it over too often. And went missing too often. I dont see him getting a game above Caddy, Motlop, Bundy, etc, and honestly think Hartman will lepfrog him with another preseason. He is bigger, faster and harder and has better finishing.
  3. Smedts. (will we ever see the stuff they rave about?)
  4. Kersten. (His last month underwhelmed me massively. And Walkers finals series actually completely changed my feeling on him. Big pack marks and goals. He gave a target. Him + Hawkins + Vardy = scary. Walker could play the lead up role further up the ground. Hawkins deep and Vardy in between - in that scenario, no room for Kersten
  5. Mackie. ( I LOVE HIM. But I reckon Varcoe going back, Bews needs to play - Neil Balme said on SEN the other day that some senior players WILL play 2's next year. Mackie will be one of them i reckon)
  6. McCarthy - will play 1's and could easily be there at seasons end.
  7. Thurlow. Disappointing finals series. Still a way off imo.

Over to you...

I like your thinking with the three tall forwards...

Hawkins at full forward...
Vardy at half forward, pinch hitting in the ruck. Kurt Tippett kicked 4.1, took 9 marks and backed up Mike Pyke (30 hitouts) with 12 hitouts himself last night. If Vardy could play something close to that role in our side then I'd be very pleased.
Kersten/Walker as the third tall - I think we can be quietly confident that Kersten will perform to a much higher standard when he's not the key man down forward. He'd match up much better on the third best defender than he did against opponents this season. Walker's finals series definitely changed my mind on him - and he, like Vardy, gives us an extra option in the ruck - however I think he'll still have his work cut out for himself to cement a spot in the side over Kersten.

One of Giles(dreaming)/Ryder(definitely dreaming)/Leuenberger(if he hasn't retired injured mid season [dreaming])/McIntosh/Simpson in the ruck, with Blicavs as the backup.

Haven't thought of a full best 22 as yet but I'd love to see a forward line of

Motlop Walker Lang

Kersten/Brown Hawkins McCarthy

I'm not considering Vardy or Menz as I'd like to see a good block of games from them first and I see Vardy and Blitz competing for the 2nd ruck spot eventually.
It has plenty of speed and crumbing options and good marking power. I think we were one of the top teams for inside 50s but our delivery was very poor at times and we are too Hawk focused. Ideally the 3 talls are each a legit target and not just a decoy for Hawk. Makes it harder for teams to zone off if we don't use the same inside 50 option time and again. I would also like to see Hawk get fitter and lead more often, he's so hard to stop when he leads hard.

Plenty could role through also, could put Vardy/Blitz/New ruck for one of the smalls to really stretch opposition defence or rotate Sels, Caddy, Bartel, SJ, Jansen, Duncan, Menz?, Christensen, Hartman, Stokes, Smedts through there at various times so the backs don't get a chance to settle on matchups.
I see Murdoch and playing up on a wing to really utilise his pace and long kicking to really break lines and give the forwards more of a chance for 1v1.

It's more of a preseason forward line and there are still a lot of variables before next year but would love to see us like this early next year.

Haven't thought of a full best 22 as yet but I'd love to see a forward line of

Motlop Walker Lang

Kersten/Brown Hawkins McCarthy

I'm not considering Vardy or Menz as I'd like to see a good block of games from them first and I see Vardy and Blitz competing for the 2nd ruck spot eventually.
It has plenty of speed and crumbing options and good marking power. I think we were one of the top teams for inside 50s but our delivery was very poor at times and we are too Hawk focused. Ideally the 3 talls are each a legit target and not just a decoy for Hawk. Makes it harder for teams to zone off if we don't use the same inside 50 option time and again. I would also like to see Hawk get fitter and lead more often, he's so hard to stop when he leads hard.

Plenty could role through also, could put Vardy/Blitz/New ruck for one of the smalls to really stretch opposition defence or rotate Sels, Caddy, Bartel, SJ, Jansen, Duncan, Menz?, Christensen, Hartman, Stokes, Smedts through there at various times so the backs don't get a chance to settle on matchups.
I see Murdoch playing up on a wing to really utilise his pace and long kicking to really break lines and give the forwards more of a chance for 1v1.

It's more of a preseason forward line and there are still a lot of variables before next year but would love to see us like this early next year.

Going against the grain here but I think Brown is the perfect 3rd tall or player to play the 'Gunstan Role'
He is a smart player, goes to the right spots and uses the ball well. Given I decent go (more than 3 games on end in the 1 position) I think he could be very good for us in that role

can't see him at the club next year.
I wouldn't be surprised if he is not either but I'd like to see him there and playing as the 3rd tall

Very early still but can only give it a crack
Bews Lonergan Rivers
Enright Taylor Guthrie
Duncan Horlin-Smith Murdoch
Motlop Vardy Johnson
Menzel Hawkins Bartel
Simpson Selwood Caddy
Blicavs Walker Stokes Varcoe

Last year for Menzel to come back, hard watching a player get injured and having hope for so long ala Egan. Guthrie should move to half back, don't rate his tagging but his ability in the back line will become a great asset in the future. Horlin-Smith, Murdoch to have a break out year (here's hoping). Johnson to move back to the forward line, no point having 30+ disposal games if 3/4 don't hit targets. Simpson over Macintosh was the hard choice, think he will be far better next year, if un injured.

Can see Frawley crying in the stands knowing he made a poor choice going to Fremantle then down the highway haha!

Would love to see more of a go with the young fellas but would give my left nut to see Dangerfield and Selwood together in the midfield... Come on Geelong make it happen!!

Very early still but can only give it a crack
Bews Lonergan Rivers
Enright Taylor Guthrie
Motlop Vardy Johnson
Menzel Hawkins Bartel
Simpson Selwood Caddy

Last year for Menzel to come back, hard watching a player get injured and having hope for so long ala Egan. Guthrie should move to half back, don't rate his tagging but his ability in the back line will become a great asset in the future. Horlin-Smith, Murdoch to have a break out year (here's hoping). Johnson to move back to the forward line, no point having 30+ disposal games if 3/4 don't hit targets. Simpson over Macintosh was the hard choice, think he will be far better next year, if un injured.

Can see Frawley crying in the stands knowing he made a poor choice going to Fremantle then down the highway haha!

Would love to see more of a go with the young fellas but would give my left nut to see Dangerfield and Selwood together in the midfield... Come on Geelong make it happen!!

Welcome.
But when doing these hypothetical teams, always check against the club website Senior Player List to see you haven't missed anyone, eg no. 28. ;)

Very early ill but can only give it a crack
Bews Lonergan Rivers
Enright Taylor Guthrie
Motlop Vardy Johnson
Menzel Hawkins Bartel
Simpson Selwood Caddy

Take out GHS for Bundy, Menzel for Lmac , cant see Menz making an impact next year.

I have thought we have quite a few players that can play on the wing(s).But next season Murder to a wing would be nice.But if Bundy back issues for are much for him to play inside he might be/could be moved to a wing use his pace and skills to set up goals.Hopefully he is fit and ready to play hes inside-outside role next season.

Very tough to pick a best 22, so many things to take into account.

Mine would be:

FB: Varcoe, Lonergan, Rivers
HB: Enright, Taylor, Mackie
C: Duncan, Horlin-Smith, Christensen
HF: Stevie J, Walker, Motlop
FF: McCarthy, Hawkins, Bartel
R: Simpson/Mcintosh, Selwood, Caddy
Int: Murdoch, Kelly, Blicavs, Stokes, Guthrie, Hartman, Lang, Thurlow, Kersten.

But if we continue to give younger guys chances I can see some senior players having weeks off or time in VFL:

Kelly / Bews at that small back role.
Enright / Thurlow / Mackie the half back roles.
Lang / Stokes the half forward, and go in middle role.
Kolodjashnij / Rivers / Lonergan the 2nd & 3rd tall defender roles.
Jansen / Stevie J centre role but can go forward and use height (JJ that is).
Kersten/ Bartel the other half forward role.
Smedts / McCarthy / Hartman small forward role who brings heaps of pressure in FWD50 depending on how their form is, only Smedts in FWD50 please MC!

Then throw in two x-factors when they are fit & in Vardy & Menzel and it's hard to fit them in but we know what they can bring and need to get AFL games into them to help them get used to AFL footy again. Menzel can be SUB for a few games next year to help get into the game but can't see Vardy being a SUB...

Either way, some guys who most likely deserve to be in the 22 will miss out at times next year...

Week one of next years finals. No injuries. How does our best side look? For me it looks like this.

B: Enright, Lonergan, Bews
HB: Varcoe, Taylor, Rivers
C: Motlop, Hartman, Bundy
HF: Duncan, Vardy, Menzel
FF: SJ, Hawkins, Walker
R: Simpson, Selwood, Caddy
IB: Guthrie, Blitz, Stokes, Bartel

PLayers that could easily be best 22 by finals

Frawley (If he comes across)
  1. Murdoch. (I like him a lot. His pace and goal kicking. But i see Menzel taking his spot in a perfect world)
  2. GHS (He played better than i expected this year. but he remains slow and turns it over too often. And went missing too often. I dont see him getting a game above Caddy, Motlop, Bundy, etc, and honestly think Hartman will lepfrog him with another preseason. He is bigger, faster and harder and has better finishing.
  3. Smedts. (will we ever see the stuff they rave about?)
  4. Kersten. (His last month underwhelmed me massively. And Walkers finals series actually completely changed my feeling on him. Big pack marks and goals. He gave a target. Him + Hawkins + Vardy = scary. Walker could play the lead up role further up the ground. Hawkins deep and Vardy in between - in that scenario, no room for Kersten
  5. Mackie. ( I LOVE HIM. But I reckon Varcoe going back, Bews needs to play - Neil Balme said on SEN the other day that some senior players WILL play 2's next year. Mackie will be one of them i reckon)
  6. McCarthy - will play 1's and could easily be there at seasons end.
  7. Thurlow. Disappointing finals series. Still a way off imo.

Over to you...
I like it but good backlines will waltz out of that very slow forward line, needs Lang/McCarthy up there to provide some forward pressure.

Kolo Lonergan Kelly
Enright Frawley Rivers
Blitz Caddy Bundy
Motlop Vardy H Taylor
SJ Hawkins McCarthy
Simpson Bartel Selwood
Guthrie Murdoch Duncan GHS

bye to Mackie (ret,) Cowan, Schroder (trade for Giles?), Brown, T Hunt, Sheringham and Stringer

In Frawley and hopefully Giles. Draft another ruckman for the love of the Gods!

What I'd love to see, however, I don't think it will turn out this way:

Bews Lonergan Rivers
Mackie Frawley Enright
Duncan Hyphen Christensen
Johnson Vardy Motlop
McCarthy Hawk Taylor

McIntosh Selwood Caddy

Guthrie Blitz Stokes Bartel

Those who will certainly play games if not retired, injured or traded: Kelly, Varcoe, Thurlow, Kersten, Hartman, Lang, Jansen, Walker, Burbs, Hunt, Kolo, Menzel, Smedts, Brown, Dawson, Murdoch

Some thoughts:

If Enright had retired this year, it would be a lot easier to transition in a younger player. He's a favourite player of mine but I see his retention keeping Thurlow in the reserves for another year. I almost wish that he retired this year.
Kersten: I love the look of Kersten, I really do. And I fully expect him to succeed as a 3rd key forward type. However, if we do successfully land Frawley this year, we can suppose Lonergan has one more before retirement, I would like to see us attempt a 3 (very) big man forward line; Hawk, Taylor and Vardy (and failing that Taylor goes back again and one or Lonergan/Frawley/Rivers dropped or rotated). As well as this, I'd love to see 2 pressure forwards and one mid sized forward to complement this structure. I really admire Chris Scott but I think we need to restructure things up forward a bit - how easily did the ball waltz out of our forwardline this year? Hence, I'd like to see a midsize forward (Jeez Menzel would be perfect...) such as SJ or Bartel, complemented by McCarthy in a forward pocket and well, perhaps Varcoe. Can anyone see him returning to his 2007 version of stay at home, full time fires sure forward role? I'd love to, but I don't suppose it will happen.

If all of that does not work, I'd like to see either Kersten or Bartel played as a 3rd a Key Forward. But for Bartel, as a full time forward, that does not venture past CHF. This year he was played as a forward but not in that manner.

I can't believe all the Hatin' on Stokes, Mackie and Kelly. Stokes up until the half point of the year will just about be B&F. Mackie is still a gun (the problem is his errors are always glaringly large errors). Kelly for me is an interesting one. When I read other peoples teams, I couldn't believe he had been left out. But I did the same. Up until very late in the year, I thought his move back was a wonderful move. But he's just too slow and his disposal can let him down. He will frequent the seniors more often than not this year but I'm sure it'll be as a sub in the midfield quite a bit (Wouldn't he be great at it!). Regardless, I think he'll be top 10 in the B&F such was the great start to his year.

Murdoch: I suspect he will be like Taylor hunt this year. Dropped and left out. I don't trust him as a player, and I feel the same about Smedts. They're both like rabbits in headlights with the ball and go in and out of games. I don't agree with all of the hype on Murdoch (and the hype on Smedts seems to have evaporated).

Simpson/McIntosh: I would like to get Giles, but provided both of these guys are actually fit and firing (I know), then I'll be content. They're both good enough to at least break even with most rucks

The back line will be old but I expect Thurlow, Hamling, Kolo, etc to be played through

I'd love to see this side take the field one week:

B: Bews, Frawley, Kolodjashnij
HB: Thurlow, Taylor, Guthrie
C: Motlop, Jansen, Duncan
HF: Lang, Vardy, Christensen
F: McCarthy, Hawkins, Kersten

Foll: Giles, Selwood, Caddy

Int: Blicavs, Hartman, SJ, Bartel

Note: the Giles/Frawley inclusions are a bit of dreamin'