Teams 2019 Rate My Pre-Season Team

• Thread starter Thread starter Spacedog

Got drunk last night. Woke up to this. think im going to roll with it because mid price madness has to come good eventually. Not going to ask for suggestions, because I know how risky this strat is. I need all the mid prices players to do well or early or it will be season over by rd3. that said, if they all nail it.....

View attachment 638646
You have to get of Big Cox, I would downgrade Smith to Collins, they will score simularly. Then upgrade Cox.

Sweet merciful crap! My team...
0BuOwIf.png

Good news everyone. I've discovered a hot tip the SuperCoach experts don't want you to know. The key is to accept your inevitably underwhelming top 20% at best finish and make all the god awful selections your heart desires. I'm not sure what to do with my surplus cash. I really like my premo and mid-priced midfielders, I see best 3 defenders being potential keepers, and there's not really anyone I can upgrade Greene to.

Anyone want to talk me out of my stupidity or encourage me to be even more stupid? Harris Andrews is another POD I wanted, but I don't know if I can fit him in.

Sweet merciful crap! My team...
0BuOwIf.png

Good news everyone. I've discovered a hot tip the SuperCoach experts don't want you to know. The key is to accept your inevitably underwhelming top 20% at best finish and make all the god awful selections your heart desires. I'm not sure what to do with my surplus cash. I really like my premo and mid-priced midfielders, I see best 3 defenders being potential keepers, and there's not really anyone I can upgrade Greene to.

Anyone want to talk me out of my stupidity or encourage me to be even more stupid? Harris Andrews is another POD I wanted, but I don't know if I can fit him in.
Nice team mate.

"Lack of competent rookies"
I really don't like that comment because we honestly don't know what's going to happen with rookies. Drew could keep his spot and be a key figure in the Port midfield, he's in his 3rd or 4th year now. Petruccelle could grab Lecras spot and do well. Balta could stay in until Grigg returns and score like he did in that JLT match. Constable and Scott could be dropped in round 2 or 3.

Anyway I get your point, team 2 is a lot safer and more balanced. I personally don't see much difference between guys like Constable, Butters, Scott and the cheap def and fwd rookies
Yeah that's fair, I was extrapolating based off information which we know - which is all we can really do at this stage of the year.

IMO starting teams should have as little risk as possible (within reason), because if you screw if up you're playing catch-up all year. If you have the choice of starting or not starting rookies with questionable job security, the latter does seem to be the most logical.

legend :thumbsu:
a little outside the box as always.
some serious value shopping in that midfield but the thing that intrigues me the most is no Heeney...do you know something the rest of us dont?
Was him or dunks.
Went dunks based on mid time

Was wondering the same thing. i looked at no heeney but then thought he's a Monty to be top 6 and i have small ? over dunkley who i would bring inn. what's your rationale Toxic?

Think dunk may end up r2 for dogs

Just a hunch

Being a staunch GnR man, I can’t believe I’m actually going through with this MPM. Always thought in the back of my head I’d revert last minute but F it. As I said before, I gotta try a different strategy after some poor results in previous years.

2019 CarnThePies

Backs:
By far my weakest and riskiest line. I’ve reluctantly skipped all the heavy hitters here and gone with ZWilliams as my D1. Will be a ball hog across HB and should rack up good numbers. Same expected of BSmith. Pierce Hanley @ D3 is risky AF but I’ve had a good gut feel about him for months now. If he can stay healthy he’ll give me great value as a prolific and clean ball user for GC. Could be a real surprise POD and I’m quietly confident he’ll deliver. Ms Darcy D4 I’ve spoken about in other threads. Love the new SC friendly role but I’m praying he doesn’t get hurt. Clark Duursma round out the backline as my rookies.
DF84E129-EDBE-4BD8-B117-1DB1A6160DEB.jpeg

Mids:
I’ve loaded up here to offset the backs. Macrae M1 is the obvious Tich replacement for me and an absolute pig. His ceiling is phenomenal and I’ve no doubt he’ll be top 3 scorer in entire comp. Cripps is a just a genuine gun and an automatic selection. Fyfe flies under the radar because of no JLT and the inflamed elbow. Make no mistake, he’s primed for a massive year and at only 23% ownership he’s a serious POD considering his status. Dusty is another I expect to bounce back after a somewhat sluggish year. Seemed to switch on/off at times. Recently come out with news of battling depression which explains the body language he showed at times. Reached the peak of success with a premiership and Brownlow and then lost motivation. I think that back now. The 6/6/6 rule will suit contested beasts like him in the middle and with the Tigers loading up forward, he should more involved around the guts. Sloane is a favorite of mine and has shown in the past he’s a big scorer. I’m a firm believer he struggled with tags because of the foot injury. He’s healthy now, captain of the side and had solid support in the Crouch Bros. Reckon he’ll break out again this year into SP mode again. Rocky is my dark horse. Is the pig really back? He’s had a super PS and looks fit AF. Like others I’ve been burnt multiple times by this kent but after the JLT series I’m hooked again and taking the punt at M6 as another potential super POD. If he flames I intend to downgrade him and shore up the backs. Rookies Walsh Scott KentStable Atkins and slow burner Gibbons round out the mids as my cows. Keen on Butters but can’t squeeze him in.
59D259AF-0E61-43A3-93EE-DD2831FD14B8.jpeg

Rucks:
Going all out for the best two ruck man. Both a clear tier above the rest and solid captain options. Bines is my captains loophole.
EA626273-147C-483D-B833-795089E1EC01.jpeg

Forwards:
Danger needs no explanation as does Heeney. The best 2 forwards by majority consensus. Dunkley im bullish on especially now that word is McLean will play predominantly forward. His numbers on the back half of last year are outstanding. A solid F3. Greene is a risk and despite the poor PS I can’t ignore the price and he potentially brings. My expectations are low and I’m ready to turf if he gives me shits. Anything great from him will be considered a bonus and could be a keeper. Rookies Setterfield Drew will play on field for me with Balta and Parker on the bench. Considered Petrucelle but don’t like his JS. Will monitor and correct if needed.
370508D3-0F24-4D62-9289-B44BBA577406.jpeg

Obviously the backs holding up early will determine if I have a good year. I hope those fellas repay the faith I painstakingly put into them after many sleepless hours.

Good luck all and cheers to another eventful SC season ahead.

toxic, Andrew Birch and gutsroy please post teams.
enquiring minds want to copy know.

also is it enquire or inquire?
G'day mate, will do, have only locked in Carl / Rich blokes thus far, but reckon I'll lock the rest in tonight and be done with it.
Reckon tox and Birchdog will have me covered, though, they've got a fair few more runs on the board between them.
En- forms go back to the old French, In- forms are kind of relatinized versions of those, I think, so either fine. Maybe slightly more Enquiring here as more asking / curious, inquiring more associated with a formal investigation in some contexts.
What do you know, the linguistics studies for a while over here weren't completely for the crapper after all lol

300k left, Dangerfield in the mids, no Grundy, a 180k rookie on the bench...rules are made to be broken!

The idea being that I`d quickly target a mid to replace Danger once the price changes come in, Kent is a 6 round option (he`s a win if he can stay fit for 6 weeks), he or Drew will likely be the first upgrade to a mid.

Attachments

• Screenshot_2019-03-21-19-17-55.png
    Screenshot_2019-03-21-19-17-55.png
    421 KB · Views: 247
  • Screenshot_2019-03-21-19-18-00.png
    Screenshot_2019-03-21-19-18-00.png
    414.1 KB · Views: 261

This is what I'm going with. Won't be making any more changes.

Balta at F6 tonight deflated the shit out of me and I'm pretty much ready to quit for the year and just enjoy the footy.

Def and Fwds are an absolute joke, but meh, I got all the players I want in. I'll be sensible and won't trade next week.

1553168723512.png

Good luck lads! I bloody hope somebody from BF wins the $50k.

I'm off to cry myself to sleep...

Balta at F6 tonight deflated the shit out of me and I'm pretty much ready to quit for the year and just enjoy the footy.

Def and Fwds are an absolute joke, but meh, I got all the players I want in. I'll be sensible and won't trade next week.

View attachment 639034

chin up bro. its a long season and that one move probably only cost you 40 points (or less)...i'm sure you'll make far bigger **** ups as the season progresses.
you knew F6 was a weakness going in anyway. the strategy is to make up for it in other spots so at least wait till the end of round 1 to see if that strategy pays off.

View attachment 639034

Lol u think thats bad. Last year rnd 1 Zerrett LDU and Naughton all sub 30 and on field. Tellys 100 on the bench.
Ranking 75k. Finished the year at 10k