North Melbourne (18th)

Happy with:
- No trip to Geelong
- No double up v Dees and Richmond
- Carlton/Saints/North/Essendon/Dees/Dogs being Melbourne games are favourable
- Double dip to Perth instead of Brisbane at Gabba
- TAS game
- Geelong/Richmond at SCG
- The last 5 rounds; Adelaide at home, Giants at home, North at Marvel, Pies at home, Saints at Marvel. Should provide a good platform for finals
- ANZAC day

Not happy with:
- Round 2 should be v Hawthorn
- Port in Adelaide 4 years in a row
- Dogs double up again

All in all, losing that final definitely resulted in a better fixture.

Happy with:
- No trip to Geelong
- No double up v Dees and Richmond
- Carlton/Saints/North/Essendon/Dees/Dogs being Melbourne games are favourable
- Double dip to Perth instead of Brisbane at Gabba
- TAS game
- Geelong/Richmond at SCG
- The last 5 rounds; Adelaide at home, Giants at home, North at Marvel, Pies at home, Saints at Marvel. Should provide a good platform for finals
- ANZAC day

Not happy with:
- Dogs double up again

I'm not so sure about that.
No trip to Geelong is probably a bad thing. We tend to win there more than not.
A 2/2/1 split which could have and probably would have been exactly the same had we finished in the top 6.
In the end, of the five double ups we have, four of them have been finalists over the past 2 years. I haven't analysed all teams as yet, but I'm sure some of the others in the middle 6 have fared far better than us. Richmond certainly have. Then again, that's not surprising.
Just goes to show again the love the AFL have for us. :mad:

Gives goes to show again the love the AFL have for us. :mad:

6 games in metro melbourne, 4 of them we will go in as favourites, a tassie game which is just about a home game, 2 games in sydney to kick off the season and buddy 1000 most likely on home deck, no geelong trip, and those last 5 games.....I think the AFL have done okay with us this time.

Still reckon the whole comp is wrong. Should be three conferences. Example:
1WA 1SA 3Vic 1NSW
1WA 4Vic 1Qld
1SA 3Vic 1NSW 1Qld
Each team in the conference plays the other teams home and away = 10 games
Each team plays the other 12 conference teams once = 12 games
Rotate home and away every year.
Play top 6 (top 2 from each conference) plus wild cards (2 play off games of the next 4 on pts and %)
Introduce a round robin interconference series instead of Origin or AA.
Plenty to keep TV happy.
100% fair every year.

Still reckon the whole comp is wrong. Should be three conferences. Example:
1WA 1SA 3Vic 1NSW
1WA 4Vic 1Qld
1SA 3Vic 1NSW 1Qld
Each team in the conference plays the other teams home and away = 10 games
Each team plays the other 12 conference teams once = 12 games
Rotate home and away every year.
Play top 6 (top 2 from each conference) plus wild cards (2 play off games of the next 4 on pts and %)
Introduce a round robin interconference series instead of Origin or AA.
Plenty to keep TV happy.
100% fair every year.

would all have to change anyway when Tassie enter the comp

The article on the AFL site about which clubs you play twice has so many errors.
It shows the dogs playing Adelaide, Freo, Geelong, Gold Coast and Richmond. When I saw that I thought "you can't be serious".
I'm pleased to see that in reality it is Melb, Geelong, Giants, Sydney and Hawks. That is a tough draw.

We'll likely end up playing 3 games against GWS in a row. Assuming they only do one official pre-season match (and as usual it's against GWS), we'd probably schedule an unofficial hit-out like we did this year (and as usual it's easiest to organise with GWS). And then we'll open our season in round 1 against GWS. After ending our season this year against GWS.

I am sick to death of playing GWS, can they just **** off

We'll likely end up playing 3 games against GWS in a row. Assuming they only do one official pre-season match (and as usual it's against GWS), we'd probably schedule an unofficial hit-out like we did this year (and as usual it's easiest to organise with GWS). And then we'll open our season in round 1 against GWS. After ending our season this year against GWS.

With all of that in mind, I feel the AFL will roster us against some other team in the official practice match. I did hear a week or so ago that there may be two official practice matches next year.

Hawthorn fans will be hoping Buddy kicks his 1000th against Geelong

Not happy with:
- Dogs double up again

For selfish reasons, I'm bloody stoked with Port at Adel oval. It works perfectly for me & is the highlight of my footy year... long may it continue!

Yeah, I get that, just like Perth folk will be stoked with the two games next season. But in terms of team success...
Port at home is a great challenge. Bring on the best of our competitors on their home decks. Anyone. Anywhere. Anytime.

It's great we've got an SA game, not always guaranteed. Think it was 2018 we missed out completely, and then the Crows game in 2020 was played to an empty stadium. That said, I'd have preferred the Crows - they're ripe for beating (especially later on in the season) and they're my most disliked team.

I have a feeling that our club is quite unhappy with the Crows over Dawson. The relationship with Port over Aliir and Ladhams appeared all on the up and up. Tough negotiation but all above board. No problem.
But right from the get go Charlie was giving the Crows the evil eye.

I have a feeling that our club is quite unhappy with the Crows over Dawson. The relationship with Port over Aliir and Ladhams appeared all on the up and up. Tough negotiation but all above board. No problem.
But right from the get go Charlie was giving the Crows the evil eye.
Oh I just dislike the Crows, nothing really to do with Dawson. Seeing us beat the Crows live is the best (2012 QF, 2013 flogging, 2017 nailbiter etc). It wasn't a fair trade, but I could see where they were coming from. Year on year of losing upcoming or good players interstate and finally they had the chance to twist the knife themselves. We were just unlucky it was us. I mean, it fits with my view of the Crows, but that view was pre-existing.

Just 2 of the 6 Melbourne games are at the G (unless I misread) which is rough. The more exposure our youngsters get to the G the better IMO.

The G is also way more friendly for oldies or folk with disability than Docklands.

Yes, I know we enjoy a good record at the latter but the more experience we get at the G the better.

The Perth and Tas games in succession is also a tough ask.

And of all the teams for you to watch play the Swans in Perth and it was bloody GWS!!!