• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

Screenshot_20221210_184244_Facebook.jpg

Initial thoughts

The good:
  • Double-ups against North and Hawthorn
  • Finally a game in Sydney (personal win)
  • Five of the last seven at the 'G leading into finals
  • Three Friday night games of the 15 scheduled isn't awful
The bad:
  • Shithole Stadium against the Cats, yet again
  • That's a tough few weeks off the bat
  • The West Coast in Perth ludicrousness continues
  • Brisbane, Sydney, Richmond, Carlton as the remainder of the double-ups is challenging

playing games in Perth should be viewed as a win, in fact any interstate game should. Trying to get wins at the G is the difficult part.

Just sad :( :

Screen Shot 2022-12-10 at 7.30.52 pm.png

Yeah double ups will be tough as I expect blues and tigers in the finals with lions and swans near the top. A fair bit of travel as well.

Also I can’t believe we play Monday night Anzac eve then get scheduled to play a Saturday night game the next week.

Under Goody it's 50% winrate at the MCG and 65% winrate away , it's actually insane.
Hence why West Coast in Perth is such a waste. It's an inevitable win, I'd rather the heightened challenge of playing them at the G, give us Freo in Perth instead.

Clarry might break the all-time disposal record playing at his fortress (AO) against that midfield of jockeys that Essendon trots out

Hence why West Coast in Perth is such a waste. It's an inevitable win, I'd rather the heightened challenge of playing them at the G, give us Freo in Perth instead.
Yeah cos we play so well at Perth, I guess it's not the end of the world.
It's also that a points out how bizarre the fixture is.
Another example is Collingwood are hosting the Swans for the first time since 2013
How does that even happen.

Collingwood has 17 games in Melbourne :$

not their fault every Victorian club puts in a request for a home game against them. AFL just giving the clubs what they want.

Yep Collingwood are a big club, and teams playing big clubs play at the biggest stadium, that stadium is their home ground. For example if Anzac day game is Essendon’s home game they ain't playing that at Marvel it's a 90k plus crowd or same with Carlton. Just realised the post was about games in Melbourne not just mcg, I think it's a combo of Vic teams wanting to play the Pies and the Victorian team heavy afl. Last two months in Melbourne, with one interstate trip is pretty nice way to finish the season.

Because we're getting Freo's first rounder next season I thought I'd have a quick look at theirs. The teams they place twice:

Brisbane
WCE
Hawks
WBD

So similar to us in that they have 2 easy double ups in Hawks and WCE but then 4 hard double ups.

Weird fixture quirks continue. Haven’t played the Eagles in Melbourne or GWS at Giants Stadium since 2014.
I've got a close mate who's an Eagles fan and we haven't been to the footy together to watch our teams play in a match for a decade!! Wtf!? Why does this keep happening? Geelong in Geelong every single year! No one at the club has the balls to say this is f*d?

I reckon there's so much under the table stuff that goes on with fixturing. i.e we'll play Geel in Geel provided we only play them once. Surely it's no coincidence that we play the same team at the same venue for a decade.

If we are good enough it should not matter where you play them.

Playing Geelong in Geelong is considerably tougher than playing them at Marvel or the G. The real.bizarre one is WCE haven't played us here since 2014? How tf does this happen? Playing teams at their home grounds is always tougher. Even we still have a 50% win rate at home under Goody even though it feels like we've been woeful at home