Analysis 2026 GWS Giants - Best 23, breakout player(s)

Codesports have now fired away with a best 23 for '26 and for starters have to say it's an interesting choice to have McMullin starting but having Brown as only being depth.

View attachment 2460293

Easy to argue that our depth goes much deeper than that.
We could be Geelong-like and 'manage' a few names on the F: line to keep them ready for finals.

Clarry has filled a void which makes our squad formidable. Losing Darcy hurts but return of Brent Daniels along with extra bench will help.

Harry Rowston will feature lot more imo.

Codesports have now fired away with a best 23 for '26 and for starters have to say it's an interesting choice to have McMullin starting but having Brown as only being depth.

View attachment 2460293

I reckon that is speaking to the coaching staff. The natural choice is clearly Brown over McMullen.
As I've said a few times, internally they are big on McMullen, reckon they have factored that in.

Where do you see Harrison Oliver in the pecking order? Did well at VFL level.
I am (personally) pretty strong on Harry. As you say, did well in VFL and improved across the course of the season. It will be hard for him to get above Lachie Ash and Lachie Whitfield - although the latter is now over 30 and has potential to decline - but the third small/medium defender spot could be winnable. During last season, Joe Fonti took it off Conor Stone who assumed it from Harry Perryman at the start of last season. I like what Joe did during the season, but I don't think he has it locked down. I like the balance that Harry brings to the small/medium defensive line - a strong defender as well as able to take intercepts, and then distribute the ball precisely. He can run, but that's not necessarily his #1 wood - which is fine, because it is for the two Lachies.

Bottom line, I'll be watching intently during the off-season for what's coming out of the club. An excellent position for the club if we have a couple of youngsters going hammer and tong for a spot in the AFL team.

We still have a number of guys who will make steps forward next year. These are the ones who I’m anticipating will continue to improve:
Cadman
Brown
Riccardi
Gothard
Hannaford
Thomas
Rowston
Angove
Leake
McMullin
Fonti
Madden
Gru
Aleer
Angwin

I think all of these guys can be an improved version of themselves by some margin… for different reasons.
For some it’s getting to the 50 odd games mark last year and then getting one more preseason in before they enter their prime next year.
For a guy like Ricca, he’s coming up to 100 games.. he’s 25, and finally found a role that suits him. I liked a lot of his work in that pinch hit ruck role. I think he has more in him… I noticed he leaned off a touch this year and wouldn’t be surprised if this continued next year with another preseason.
For other guys like Hannaford, he must be chomping at the bit to show his wares… someone like him could take major strides forward over the offseason. He just needs to build his repeat running… this takes time.

I am (personally) pretty strong on Harry. As you say, did well in VFL and improved across the course of the season. It will be hard for him to get above Lachie Ash and Lachie Whitfield - although the latter is now over 30 and has potential to decline - but the third small/medium defender spot could be winnable. During last season, Joe Fonti took it off Conor Stone who assumed it from Harry Perryman at the start of last season. I like what Joe did during the season, but I don't think he has it locked down. I like the balance that Harry brings to the small/medium defensive line - a strong defender as well as able to take intercepts, and then distribute the ball precisely. He can run, but that's not necessarily his #1 wood - which is fine, because it is for the two Lachies.

Bottom line, I'll be watching intently during the off-season for what's coming out of the club. An excellent position for the club if we have a couple of youngsters going hammer and tong for a spot in the AFL team.
Whitfield won’t be going backwards… he is in his prime… is the kind of guy who could play really strong for a few more years.
As for Fonti, he’s one of my favourites… has enormous ceiling. Poses such a threat for the oppo, is humble and loves to compete.

Where do you see Harrison Oliver in the pecking order? Did well at VFL level.
Looks a ripper to me, loads of competition for spots though. I reckon he is currently outside the top 22, but that could easily change between now and the end of next year.
I can see him going past Fonti, I think Fonti is a good player, but am more bullish on Oliver.
I suspect I'm in the minority on that one

Exactly how I see it.
Maybe I'm not in the minority.

We still have a number of guys who will make steps forward next year. These are the ones who I’m anticipating will continue to improve:
Cadman
Brown
Riccardi
Gothard
Hannaford
Thomas
Rowston
Angove
Leake
McMullin
Fonti
Madden
Gru
Aleer
Angwin

I think all of these guys can be an improved version of themselves by some margin… for different reasons.
For some it’s getting to the 50 odd games mark last year and then getting one more preseason in before they enter their prime next year.
For a guy like Ricca, he’s coming up to 100 games.. he’s 25, and finally found a role that suits him. I liked a lot of his work in that pinch hit ruck role. I think he has more in him… I noticed he leaned off a touch this year and wouldn’t be surprised if this continued next year with another preseason.
For other guys like Hannaford, he must be chomping at the bit to show his wares… someone like him could take major strides forward over the offseason. He just needs to build his repeat running… this takes time.
I agree, Finn, Ash and Green are probably at an age where are still on the up too
We are a much younger team than the media portrays
This is the most depth we've had since 2017

Whitfield won’t be going backwards… he is in his prime… is the kind of guy who could play really strong for a few more years.
As for Fonti, he’s one of my favourites… has enormous ceiling. Poses such a threat for the oppo, is humble and loves to compete.
I agree on both …. Whits can have zorko-like longevity and Fonti is gonna blossom this year

Rule changes for the 2026 season.

The change to the stand rule should impact us quite a bit as we pretty much always try to retreat 'outside 5'.

The ruck rule change is going to negatively affect Briggs a lot. Crossing the centre line and engaging with his opponent is pretty much his entire ruck strategy.

Rule changes for the 2026 season.

The change to the stand rule should impact us quite a bit as we pretty much always try to retreat 'outside 5'.

The ruck rule change is going to negatively affect Briggs a lot. Crossing the centre line and engaging with his opponent is pretty much his entire ruck strategy.
I don’t think the center bounce changes will be very impactful …

You don't?

Briggs crosses the centre line to wrestle with his opponent at literally every centre bounce. That will now be a free kick against.

This rule change is going to greatly favor the high-leaping tap ruckmen and disadvantage the rucks who rely on brute strength and engaging with their opponent. First and foremost of those would be Briggs.

You don't?

Briggs crosses the centre line to wrestle with his opponent at literally every centre bounce. This rule change is going to greatly favor the high-leaping tap ruckmen and disadvantage the rucks who rely on brute strength and engaging with their opponent. First and foremost of those would be Briggs.
It will affect other rucks just as much apart from the real lespers and there are few of them

Xerri and Darcy will be impacted most you’d think

Briggs crosses the centre line to wrestle with his opponent at literally every centre bounce. That will now be a free kick against.

This rule change is going to greatly favor the high-leaping tap ruckmen and disadvantage the rucks who rely on brute strength and engaging with their opponent. First and foremost of those would be Briggs.
I agree, so he will have to learn new skills. It might actually make Nick Madden and then Logan Smith more attractive ruck options.

Giants’ burning question: Is the midfield fast enough after Oliver addition?

The Giants sat fifth-last in the competition for centre-clearance differential this season, and they added former Melbourne ball-winner Clayton Oliver to address that need. But while they got the 2021 flag-winner on the cheap, he still comes with an element of risk and simply mightn’t be an elite starting midfielder anymore. Further, he’ll be lining up next to Tom Green — not exactly the paciest pair running around — with Finn Callaghan adding the speed dimension to the unit. Will they struggle to keep up with some of the faster engine rooms next year? And there’s a question over whether the Giants lack a proper centre-forward player, with Brent Daniels — who played that role for a while — missing a lot of footy and slated to play more in the forward half next year with Darcy Jones sidelined by his knee reconstruction.

Analysis 2026 GWS Giants - Best 23, breakout player(s)