Player Watch #33 Patrick Retschko

• Thread starter Thread starter prodigy

Their stocks of wingers didn't suddenly change in 1 year. Make no mistake, this was a very unusual move by the Cats given Retschko clearly has some traits worth working with and he is not known to be troublesome in any way.
Geelong cheating behind the scenes is well known in the AFL space but from what I have heard is that other clubs dont want to touch it because they dont want their potentially less than legal (in the AFL terms) dealings to be put up for scrutiny.

So unless Geelong do something absolutely stupid and sign like 5 players on 7 figures in the same year, then the other clubs wont bring it up

this was a very unusual move by the Cats
Not really mate. It's not like Geelong don't cut kids ever. Also he was taken in the rookie draft so it's not like he was their prime target or a piece they need. I'm all for a good Geelong conspiracy but it's really not that deep.

They do cut some other kids, but there is a major difference this time. Another club(us) stepped in immediately to snap the player up. And he looks like a decent prospect.

So the sequence is:

1. Cats rookie good runner from strong 2024 draft crop, aged 18.
2. Said player plays a promising first season at the Cats in their VFL team.
3. End of season Cats delist him.
4. Richmond swoops before he can even get his gear out of the locker and request Cats trade him rather than delist, because the Tigers think other clubs might be interested.
5. Cats of course oblige as it would be churlish not to.

Step 3 above already looks a little odd. Step 4 renders the whole thing extremely curious. If he turns out a spud, then fair enough, Cats have just identified a weakness that wasn't apparent before they drafted him, and Richmond has just made a bit of an error that costs no more than a list spot for a few years.

If he turns out a decent player, then it looks howler of a self own by the Cats. Which makes me think it is more likely something else is going on here, because the Cats just don't do things like that. So we are right to look for other explanations. Cats didn't need a winger doesn't cut it imo because they thought they needed one just 12 months earlier when they drafted him.

So who knows what the actual truth is, but it is a highly unusual case, that part is certain.

Geelong cheating behind the scenes is well known in the AFL space but from what I have heard is that other clubs dont want to touch it because they dont want their potentially less than legal (in the AFL terms) dealings to be put up for scrutiny.

So unless Geelong do something absolutely stupid and sign like 5 players on 7 figures in the same year, then the other clubs wont bring it up

Makes sense, but the Cats cheating seems to be highly organised and on an industrial scale. We know this because other clubs have lost players they would prefer to keep for purely salary cap reasons. Tigers lost a string of players like Chol, CCJ, Brandon Ellis, Conca, Butler, Higgins that were because we couldn't match offers they got elsewhere. The only players Cats seem to lose is the odd player disaffected due to not getting a consistent game, Jordan Clark, Ratugolea for eg. They seem to be reach satisfactory financial terms for every single player on their list. This is unique. I am sure other clubs are finding other inducements for maybe one star recruit, and another gun veteran or two. Cats seem to be doing it with every single automatically selected player.

Other clubs have already brought it up, as reported by Caro etc.

So my mind remains open to Cats being uncomfortable with Retschko for some reason nothing to do with his footy or his ability to get along with people. It is speculation, but there is a perfectly irregular void they have left for us to speculate into.

Animated GIF

They do cut some other kids, but there is a major difference this time. Another club(us) stepped in immediately to snap the player up. And he looks like a decent prospect.

So the sequence is:

1. Cats rookie good runner from strong 2024 draft crop, aged 18.
2. Said player plays a promising first season at the Cats in their VFL team.
3. End of season Cats delist him.
4. Richmond swoops before he can even get his gear out of the locker and request Cats trade him rather than delist, because the Tigers think other clubs might be interested.
5. Cats of course oblige as it would be churlish not to.

Step 3 above already looks a little odd. Step 4 renders the whole thing extremely curious. If he turns out a spud, then fair enough, Cats have just identified a weakness that wasn't apparent before they drafted him, and Richmond has just made a bit of an error that costs no more than a list spot for a few years.

If he turns out a decent player, then it looks howler of a self own by the Cats. Which makes me think it is more likely something else is going on here, because the Cats just don't do things like that. So we are right to look for other explanations. Cats didn't need a winger doesn't cut it imo because they thought they needed one just 12 months earlier when they drafted him.

So who knows what the actual truth is, but it is a highly unusual case, that part is certain.
Dunno bro, reckon you've smoked some shit that was laced or something.

We traded for him so he could join the group immediately rather than wait for whatever red tape bullshit we would've had to wait for otherwise. At least that's what was explained to me elsewhere when I asked the question.

They didn't need a winger, some picks are speculative and exploratory, especially if you have a spot free. We've taken plenty of those types.

As for promising VFL showings, not one person I talked to thought he was killing it. Not bad necessarily. Half the Geelong people I talked to didn't even know him.

They delist him because, as the cats have always done, they've planned ahead knowing they'd need a spot and Retch was bottom of their list and it wasn't imperative they keep him.

If he turns out great then sweet, Geelong aren't above making mistakes, but painting this as some super strange occurrence is a bit of a laugh.

We needed speed, a winger and he's a richmond supporter, of course we went for him.

They should have cut that dud Jhye Clarke

I'm glad he has a good size and isn't needing ten years in the gym
I'm just pleased that to date he can get his ass on the park.Bonus that he consistently impacts, that being ideal.
If he keeps a little chip of motivation that the pussies didn't really want him, it is only good for us.
May he receive many coaches votes over many seasons.