Aaron Lord

hawfawnchick

Upon deciding not to spend $26 in order to pay off Jack's stand on Saturday, I listened to the hawks inflict some serious damage to the blues on 3LO. When SOS crashed into the point post and was lying on the ground, the commentators automatically were asking where lord was, convinced that he had once again worked his magic on another behind the play incident. When it was revealed that SOS was just a clumsy oaf that doesn't have a brain on his head - otherwise he would have realised that hey, there's a point post right there - 3LO carried on as if they hadn't just performed a character assassination on lord....No apology, no nothing. So thank you 3LO for admitting you were wrong and assuming that one of our players had the intention of cleaning up SOS......The only cleaning up we did was on the scoreboard....And wasn't Tim Lane upset about that!!

I think SOS mistook the point post for Jason Dunstall when he wrapped himself round it.

And by the way its $32 to get in now - and I spent another $30 on grog! all worth it though - the carltonites were like stunned Mullets !

Originally posted by Pessimistic:
I think SOS mistook the point post for Jason Dunstall when he wrapped himself round it.

And by the way its $32 to get in now - and I spent another $30 on grog! all worth it though - the carltonites were like stunned Mullets !

Ah im proud of you Pess, i couldnt bring myself to go to that pissy little oval (was ok when they had decent standing room!) but i live to regret my decision, what a great win, how cocky would the Blues supporters been after the first 15 minutes. LOL

I only got in for the last quarter - I wasn't paying $32.80 a throw to sit in that hovel, but I made up for it with a sterling last quarter performance. Sadly, most of the Blues' fans were heading out of the ground when I was going in, but I was kind enough to point out to some of them that there was still a quarter to go.

Hey hawfawnchick,

I think you'll find the commentators were looking for Lord because they thought it was he, and not Lekkas, that kicked the goal after the Carlton numbskull careered out of control.

This is not to suggest that Lane and Co were fair to the Hawkers. Such was Tim Lane's one-eyed carry-on that he should be banned from commentating his own team until he restrains himself. He was close to tears when we started our premature keepings-off phase.

------------------
You only have one year to prove yourself.

I was there front row in the AFL members wearing my Hawthorn jumper amongst a sea of navy blue. Luckily through contacts I secured free tickets, like hell I'm paying to go there.

Great day though. The panic in their voices as it all unravelled was hilarious. A special mention to the Carlton moron (tautology?) who sat behind me continually yelling "Get it out of there Blues" every time we had the ball in our forward half. For some reason he didn't like it when Crawf kicked his goal from outside 50 and I looked at him and said "Well that's got it out of there, it's back in the centre now."

------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

How lucky I am. I payed $2.20 as a child and after walking around for about 10 mins managed to find a seat and was ready for the match to start. I was one of the lucky ones but I still thought the ground was absolutely terrible and I will never go there again, what a hole!!!!. Dimboola thirds probably have a better ground!!

------------------
Go Harf, Go Smithy, Go Dutchy, Go Hawks! http://robshawks.virtualave.net

I'll probably get howled down here but I don't mind the joint.

Dont get me wrong,I hate what they've done with the seating/prices etc. I refuse to pay that sort of money to go to the footy anywhere...so I dont !
I have an 18 game member's ticket and I stand up. I go early,get a spot on the railing on the wing....good elevation,good view of both ends,still close to the action...and enough Carlton idiots to argue with.

I gotta say though...the result sure helped !!!

-Rico

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
Sadly, most of the Blues' fans were heading out of the ground when I was going in, but I was kind enough to point out to some of them that there was still a quarter to go.

It's that sort of public spirited attitude that we don't see enough of in today's society.

Optus Oval is a hovel. I managed to pay a mere $17.95 to get in (which is sounding more of a bargain than it did at the time - no discount for away members? What's that all about?) But I didn't think it was a patch on the way it use to be a mere five years ago. I reckon if they're going to treat their crowds like scum, they ought to do it properly and make them stand. I'd be more than happy to crowd in behind the goals instead of scrabbling about for a seat so as not to place myself in the path of people coming and going.

But just on Lord, and the media. I don't particularly care what they say about us. They can slag Aaron Lord off all they like. Just as long as we win. I don't need my victories blessed by Tim Lane. As long as our supporters don't turn on the team, I'm happy.

Just on the away members thing. Don't just put Optus Oval in that category. In a very sneaky piece of marketing by the AFL the away member discount no longer exists. What did we get in return for this you ask? An upgrade from a discounted Ansett Cup game to a free Ansett Cup game! Bastards!

Everyone knows the Ansett Cup doesn't mean anything unless you win it
wink.gif
Seriously though it does devalue the eleven game membership and I'm surprised it hasn't got more coverage. Obviously the clubs haven't gone out of their way to advertise it but I would have thought thought some media would have picked up on it.

------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.