ACC Vs APS Who would win?

I think ACC would defeat APS in a close one... but it could go either way.. dont be fooled just because most APS schools "buy" their players thus therefore have better players which means it must have a better team.. a lot of players from ACC schools turn down scholarships etc all the time from APS schools because they want to stay with their mates, that they play in a VERY good football schooling comp and most ACC schools have an affiliation with AFL clubs anyways. Its always known ACC footy teams will go the 110% to succeed for their school because they play for pride and not scholarships. Hence why most years in the shield ACC teams are usually the dominant ones. Its like comparing St Kilda to Sydney... St Kilda is a team of champions, like the APS who "buy" all their top players.. and Sydney is a champion team, like the ACC who have highly skilled players playing for each other and pride.

FootyStar06 said:
I think ACC would defeat APS in a close one... but it could go either way.. dont be fooled just because most APS schools "buy" their players thus therefore have better players which means it must have a better team.. a lot of players from ACC schools turn down scholarships etc all the time from APS schools because they want to stay with their mates, that they play in a VERY good football schooling comp and most ACC schools have an affiliation with AFL clubs anyways. Its always known ACC footy teams will go the 110% to succeed for their school because they play for pride and not scholarships. Hence why most years in the shield ACC teams are usually the dominant ones. Its like comparing St Kilda to Sydney... St Kilda is a team of champions, like the APS who "buy" all their top players.. and Sydney is a champion team, like the ACC who have highly skilled players playing for each other and pride.

Massive generalisations. It is well known by everyone that Haileybury are the only team who "buys" their players.

All other schools, except Haileybury, play for the pride in their school and the comparison of ACC vs APS pride in their own school/school competition is very hard to comprehensively examine, as you can't quantify pride.

You talk as though the ACC has only a champion team, this implying they have no stand-out players. The APS would have a champion team, playing for the greatest schoolboy football competition in the world, including the names of future AFL stars, such as Ellis, Hawkins, Sheldon, Rioli, etc.

To win a game of this standard, you'd need a team with superstars as well as other good players, and i believe the APS has the right mix and thus would annihilate a ACC team.

You must be kidding me, there are more players playing AFL football past and present, that have been produced by ACC schools than that of APS, Marc Murphy one prime example. Half of Essondon went to St. Bernards

APS would win hands down, the amount of talent in the APS at the moment is unbelieveable, i would say that aps would win by over 5 goals. Players who do not dominate APS but are good players from teams such as Scotch, Haileybury, Melbourne would walk straight into ACC teams and dominate their league

This year I reckon APS would probably get up, talent pool of ACC doesn't appear to be that great.

However in the previous 3 years the ACC would have won by a considerable margin.

this argument is the same as comparing the vfl to the sanfl, both would be even. its a load of crap sayin tht a player from the aps could walk into any acc team. there are many good acc teams as there are also many sh*t ones, the aps are the same as their are good teams and there are sh*t ones to.

aps vs acc, lets just say it would be a very good game and it would be good if it was allowed to happen.

i would like to know how many of the people who write on these forums even play school footy.

APS has a number of quality players and are strong, especially thanks to the amount of scholarshipped players they have. I'm not sure who they ACC have but I haven't heard of any stars in that competition. Perhaps someone would post some names of who would be in their best 22..

For starters:

APS: Hawkins, Ellis, Smith, Rioli, Djerrkura, Rockerfeller, Kennedy, Tregear, Suckling

Nandoz said:
what he said ^

this year, APS in a close one

but over the past 5 years, ACC by a street

ur kidding yourself

remember

judd, ball, goddard, watson, richards are all aps players

sps88 said:
ur kidding yourself

remember

judd, ball, goddard, watson, richards are all aps players

And Lloyd, Lucas, Black, Giansiracusa, Caracella, Hamill, B.Johnson, Smith, Croad, Jude Bolton and Marc Murphy are just some of the current ACC players...

hahaha said:
And Lloyd, Lucas, Black, Giansiracusa, Caracella, Hamill, B.Johnson, Smith, Croad, Jude Bolton and Marc Murphy are just some of the current ACC players...
add Ling, Maxwell, Bartel, Reynolds (who were all in the same team for st joeys), Higgins, Stanley, Tim Sheringham and matty scarlett.

aps in a close one is a good tip, josh kennedy from xavier is a super player, will be at hawthorn next year, will tear apart ACC

nudgep said:
aps in a close one is a good tip, josh kennedy from xavier is a super player, will be at hawthorn next year, will tear apart ACC
i dunno how anyone can say acc or aps would win, they have never played against each other. Would be really good game. ACC: horne, daniher, sherringham, williams, couch, meese, vaspremis, varsermakis james. just to name a few.....wouldnt be the walkover everyone has been saying

horne and vespremi and vasermakis are all really good...

hawkins and ellis and both probably better

a lot are probably similar

i think due to the amount of aps contributors to this forum it will always be biased. Because they never play eachother it's difficult to tell (do the schools ever play praccy's against eachother?).

PLUS in those games, anything can happen because the team has ONE training session together before playing and anything can happen as they do in all representative games. The last two years at the U18 National Champs Vic Metro haven't been backed at all and they've come away with it.

unfortunately for us in the AGSV, you'd most likely both kill us. (if only Assumption gave out as many scholarships as they use to :D

chooker said:
Massive generalisations. It is well known by everyone that Haileybury are the only team who "buys" their players.

All other schools, except Haileybury, play for the pride in their school and the comparison of ACC vs APS pride in their own school/school competition is very hard to comprehensively examine, as you can't quantify pride.

You talk as though the ACC has only a champion team, this implying they have no stand-out players. The APS would have a champion team, playing for the greatest schoolboy football competition in the world, including the names of future AFL stars, such as Ellis, Hawkins, Sheldon, Rioli, etc.

To win a game of this standard, you'd need a team with superstars as well as other good players, and i believe the APS has the right mix and thus would annihilate a ACC team.

For all you APS kids out there... schools awarding scholarships is the same as buying players... and to answer another question.. Yes ACC and APS schools do play each other in practice matches... I played for De La Salle in 2003 and we beat scotch at their homeground by 5 goals... and both teams fielded close to their stongest teams because a mate of mine played for scotch and we discussed the game after it was played.

ACC Vs APS Who would win?