Accomodation Questions

• Thread starter Thread starter RoyalBlue

Hey guys and girls!

I'm looking at going to the GoldCoast for one of the games, I know there is a lot of accom there, but is there anything that people recommend in particular?

Depends on how long you plan to stay there and how you are getting there. If you are from Melbourne you have a great chance of any special packages that could be on offer. Log onto Flight Centre/Virgin/Jetstar and register to receive emailed newsletters from them. If you are planning on getting the skinny dog (greyhound) there it takes at least 24 hours from Melb (last time i did that a 100 years ago the bus went via brisbane but things could have changed- check out their website)Also, keep eyes peeled on the Herald Sun for any special deals. I'd recommend finding accommo around Broadbeach/Burleigh areas. The Gold Coast Hwy is littered with average type Motels/apartments/resorts etc while beach side has average/upmarket and super upmarket accommo. Check out Wotif.com.au/Best Beds or any of the other accommo sites. Also, after the school hols finish in January there are usually heaps of specials on offer so look out for them.

I'd daresay the NMFC will have some packages on offer - check what they have. If you decide to go independantly I've found in the past that contact the club to arrange pick up from nearby accommo to get to game - it used to be like that when i went to sydney games.

phew a bit of a ramble by me

GOOD LUCK

I called Jetset/Kanga Travel during the week and was told that the packages will be out and available before Xmas.

Main Beach has the nicest apartments IMO, but I think most of them are residential. There's some great low-rise buildings in Surfers Paradise though. they're also right by the main bus terminal which makes travelling easy.

It depends on what you want to do on the Gold Coast (other than footy). If you like the beaches and night clubs, go to Surfers Paradise. If you like fine dining and pubs, go to Main Beach. Or if you like the Casino, go to Broadbeach. All three suburbs are right near each other though. So you'll be able to everything if that's what you're planning for.

Gold Coast is a big tourist destination, so there will be plenty of different packages available. :cool:

Got too good a deal thru work yesterday (one of those must be staff to get cheap rate things) so have booked an apartment for a week for April game - right on the beach half way between surfers and broadbeach. Only costing $200.00 for the week and if pals from Melb rock up cost will be less. :thumbsu:

If you don't have transport, stay in Broadbeach. You can get a shuttle bus from Pac Fair to the game and they have great dining, night clubs, close to the beach etc. Don't need to think....just eat, drink and hopefully enjoy a win.

Thanks for the advice guys.

I'll probably stay in Broadbeach.

Im thinking I'll be there for the Carlton match in late April.

Assuming Arden wont get us all kicked out, should we have a BF catch up pre, during or post game?

Is it my older eyes but don't we play brisbane 21 april and carlton around about 18 or 19 May?

Yep Broadbeach is the goer IMO - FYI I've been told the Northcliffe Surf Club (i think that's it's name) isnt a bad place to imbibe a few Coronas/XXXX/VB/Bundies etc etc. I'm staying a couple of hundred metres north of it right on the beach in April.

If Arden's reading these posts - what's the social club situation going to be like at Carrara - from past experience on i'sate trips it's been get together with North people for a few "sherbets" then move on to other venue etc.

I think a BF catch up with all our GC and remaining Qld posters should be on the cards.

Any1 got any ideas of a venue 2 catch up.

I'm unsure what i'll be doing next year with Uni and all and working out the appropriate time to get up there, but will be a very good chance 2 get up there.

How far is Broadbeach from Carrara?

Also looking forward 2 catching up with Arden?

Cheers

Yeah Lions match, April 21.

Need some contenants for that apartment Gabbie? ;)

Take a number :)

I know it's 4 months away but one must plan and i'm a bit pi$$ed off with a couple of people who are still humming and hawwing about going. I'm planning on booking my airfares for April & May games in the new year - pays to get paid monthly 15th of the month.

See you all on Sunday at the Northcliffe surf club for bacon and eggs etc etc:thumbsu:

tho i reckon the Qld Roos will probably have something similar planned for the sunday as they did last year when we played brisbane at the gabba.
It's all good and we'll just have to wait and see.

I think a BF catch up with all our GC and remaining Qld posters should be on the cards.

Any1 got any ideas of a venue 2 catch up.

I'm unsure what i'll be doing next year with Uni and all and working out the appropriate time to get up there, but will be a very good chance 2 get up there.

How far is Broadbeach from Carrara?

Also looking forward 2 catching up with Arden?

Cheers

Broadbeach isn't that far from Carrara - as someone has said on other threads there will be bus shuttle service from Pacific Fair shopping Centre - it's across the GC Hwy opposite Jupiters there abouts.

I reckon just keep eyes open on any info on NMFC site for transport etc.

May19 for the Cororoo tribe.....

Have not made a decision on accommodation but plan to be on the GC from the preceeding Monday allowing for plenty of time in the Theme Parks.Sounds like the Griswald's going to Wallyworld doesn't it?

Decided to lash out and stay at the Radisson at Carrara for the May game. Got a good deal and as staying with a friend it halves the expense. Said friend has stayed there before and her other half LOVED it as it has a GOLF club so if you have the dosh for a long weekend it has been highly recommended and not toooooo far from the ground.

I made an enquiry through the Club's Jetstar Travel Agency in Nth Melbourne about the May game.

Their advice was very handy. The players are staying at the Crowne Plaza for that match and as we intend to make a little holiday out of the trip they suggested we look at a fully self equipped apartment near by the Crowne Plaza. The travel agancy can arrange tranfers from and to the airport, from the Crowne Plaza to the game and from where ever you stay to the theme parks etc that might be of interest.

Good stuff no need to hire a car.:thumbsu: