marcy8811

Just wandering what everyones opinion was on staging for free kicks. Was watching 110% last night and saw some footage of Loyd trying to suck the ump into awarding him a free kick during a scuffle between the players. What happens if the guy gets reported after an incident like this? It was funny stuff but I think it is a bit uncalled for. My question was, what would u think if the AFL introduced some laws to stamp this sort of acting out.
Loyd is a great player but I think everyone finds the acting (by him or any other player) a bit annoying.

I recall in the Japan/Korea world cup, one guy actually got fined or suspended for some acting that could have influenced the final result. Could we introduce fines to the AFL in this kind of matter?

Originally posted by marcy8811
I recall in the Japan/Korea world cup, one guy actually got fined or suspended for some acting that could have influenced the final result. Could we introduce fines to the AFL in this kind of matter?

As an avid soccer follower and being Portuguese I will watch the Primeira ( Portuguese premeir league ) & I assurethe acting you see in that particular is the best that goes around . You only had to hear Alex Fergusons last week whingeing & The Celtic manager after the Uefa Cup Final last season ( I forget his name ) have a cry about the Portuguese acting as FC Porto gave prime examples of there expertise besides playing soccer. At the end of the day , you love it if your team gets away with it , your furious when the shoe is on the other foot ;)

BTW marcy8811 the player your talking about is Rivaldo of Brasil when they played Turkey , Rivaldo's acting resulted in a Turkish guy getting sent off.

It's easy to stop, you just don't give free kicks to players who are known stagers. It's why Medhurst took until about round 20 to get a free kick last season.

I don't know exactly why Lloyd keeps getting frees, the umpires are either too thick or just want to keep on his good side. Given how often he takes a dive, i'd want to see at least some blood from the throat before I would even consider giving him a free kick.

Originally posted by Rob
It's easy to stop, you just don't give free kicks to players who are known stagers. It's why Medhurst took until about round 20 to get a free kick last season.

I don't know exactly why Lloyd keeps getting frees, the umpires are either too thick or just want to keep on his good side. Given how often he takes a dive, i'd want to see at least some blood from the throat before I would even consider giving him a free kick.

Lloyd is in the club of the untouchables. Players in that club enjoy free kicks when they snap there fingers & only get reported if there is a public outcry and they will only get done by T.B.V its another matter id they get rubbed out or not.

Re: Re: acting

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
As an avid soccer follower and being Portuguese I will watch the Primeira ( Portuguese premeir league ) & I assurethe acting you see in that particular is the best that goes around . You only had to hear Alex Fergusons last week whingeing & The Celtic manager after the Uefa Cup Final last season ( I forget his name ) have a cry about the Portuguese acting as FC Porto gave prime examples of there expertise besides playing soccer. At the end of the day , you love it if your team gets away with it , your furious when the shoe is on the other foot ;)

BTW marcy8811 the player your talking about is Rivaldo of Brasil when they played Turkey , Rivaldo's acting resulted in a Turkish guy getting sent off.

Aren't all soccer players actors?seems to me that they start at an early age and just get better as they get older.Probably one of the main reasons why most Australians,particularly Aussie Rules followers reckon it's a game for ****!

Re: Re: Re: acting

Originally posted by mick ryan
Aren't all soccer players actors?seems to me that they start at an early age and just get better as they get older.Probably one of the main reasons why most Australians,particularly Aussie Rules followers reckon it's a game for ****!

Just go back to bashing your missus. Your views are those that were the norm in the 50's

Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

Just go back to bashing your missus. Your views are those that were the norm in the 50's

Had a feeling that comment would hit the right nerve, what I should have said was "a game for ****, easily excitable ethnics and pommy thugs".

As for bashing your missus I reckon that's something that would sit fairly comfortably with someone who sees fit to call himself Freo Hitman. Do yourself a favour sunshine put an S in front of it, probably a more apt description.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

Had a feeling that comment would hit the right nerve, what I should have said was "a game for ****, easily excitable ethnics and pommy thugs".

As for bashing your missus I reckon that's something that would sit fairly comfortably with someone who sees fit to call himself Freo Hitman. Do yourself a favour sunshine put an S in front of it, probably a more apt description.

Did you take some angry pills this morning Mick? Missing the military or something maybe?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

Originally posted by ImperialPurple
Did you take some angry pills this morning Mick? Missing the military or something maybe?

No not at all IP but thanks for your concern it's always reassuring to know that someone cares.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

IP - you might need to go back and read freohitmans typically childish comments to mick ryan.

Freohitman is a idiot of the highest order. He is a knob here on these boards and no doubt a knob in his ***** weak existence of a life.

And by the way - soccer is a p00f's game !!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
IP - you might need to go back and read freohitmans typically childish comments to mick ryan.

Freohitman is a idiot of the highest order. He is a knob here on these boards and no doubt a knob in his ***** weak existence of a life.

And by the way - soccer is a p00f's game !!

I know where you are coming form Au with regards to Hitman... he has his opinions and shares them openly (;) ), but I also think that some people here tend to over react to some of the things he says. They look for the aggression in his answers - and as they say "seek and ye shall find".

I thought this one was fine - he gave an example of soccer acting (brought up by someone else), and gave the balanced view that fans are fine with it when it's their team that gets away with it, but furious if it's in the opposition who benefits.

Steggles throws his arms out, gets given a free and you blokes all go..."gee he was lucky with that one" *nudge, nudge, wink, wink* (and same goes for us with Medders or Our Jeffrey), but you're playing against Essendon and Lloyd does the same thing - and gets rewarded - and you want the umpires hung, drawn and quartered. It's only natural.

Now far be it from me to stick up for Hitman - he doesn't need me for one... plus the fact that I tend to disagree quite strongly with his approach and beliefs (apart from the one where we both agree the purple RULES!!!), but I thought he played quite within the rules on that one!!

By the way - I agree that soccer is for p00fs. Want a real game... play rugby. ;)

(Kidding :) )

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: acting

I know where you are coming form Au with regards to Hitman... he has his opinions and shares them openly (;) ), but I also think that some people here tend to over react to some of the things he says. They look for the aggression in his answers - and as they say "seek and ye shall find".

I thought this one was fine - he gave an example of soccer acting (brought up by someone else), and gave the balanced view that fans are fine with it when it's their team that gets away with it, but furious if it's in the opposition who benefits.

Steggles throws his arms out, gets given a free and you blokes all go..."gee he was lucky with that one" *nudge, nudge, wink, wink* (and same goes for us with Medders or Our Jeffrey), but you're playing against Essendon and Lloyd does the same thing - and gets rewarded - and you want the umpires hung, drawn and quartered. It's only natural.

Now far be it from me to stick up for Hitman - he doesn't need me for one... plus the fact that I tend to disagree quite strongly with his approach and beliefs (apart from the one where we both agree the purple RULES!!!), but I thought he played quite within the rules on that one!!

By the way - I agree that soccer is for p00fs. Want a real game... play rugby. ;)

(Kidding :) )

Fair enough IP. Im a big fan of rooservelt's " speak with soft words but carry a big stick " - I love the banter between people like yourself, ripper and kenny, but I cannot suffer fools.

And the subject is the biggest of them all !!

Mick Ryan , AU Blue ( Youve backed up what Ive said before - you call me a troller , but its you who always turns up to start the sheet , always. ) & IP , you views on acting & soccer are all your own- if you think its a game for the gay community so be it , the game has never taken off in Australia cause there aint really any good soccer players here( Harry Kewell is an average player IMO , He has his days though ) the NT is joke and the domestic league is a disgrace.
Mick Ryan if you dont like acting or soccer dont watch & really you shouldnt call them ****s cause I bet they pull in the chicks more than you ever have & about bashing my missus - never has & never will happen and thats for all women in general.
AU Blue your a basket case
IP- I know I aint the most even tempered person going around but atleast you know my heart is in the right spot

I know that Hitters... :D

PS - my thing with soccer has nothing to do with it being for (or not for) the gay community.... that would be the least of my issues with it anyhow. I just find a game that can go for 90+ minutes and end in a nil-all draw just a tad tedious....:o

I know I aint the most even tempered person going around but atleast you know my heart is in the right spot

I never doubted for one minute that your heart wasn't in the right spot it's just that you're a bit gullible.

One important factor you forgot to mention re the non success of soccer in Australia and that is the morons that have been involved with administering it over the years.

Ha ha Amen! Mind you there are some corkers, did any of you guys over there see that Man city game a couple of weeks ago where they came from three nil down to win 4 3 in the last minute. Fabulous!

I know that Hitters... :D

PS - my thing with soccer has nothing to do with it being for (or not for) the gay community.... that would be the least of my issues with it anyhow. I just find a game that can go for 90+ minutes and end in a nil-all draw just a tad tedious....:o

Mate you do get tedious games but sometimes them games prodec 5-3 scorelines. Best Game I have ever seen was a 0-0 result but that was the result of brilliant keeping. 1- game that springs to mind was a EPL game last season between Liverpool & Sunderland Liverpool belted the living bejesus out of Sunderland and totally dominated the game but lost 1-0 . 22 shots on goal and still Liverpool couldnt breach the keeper Sunderland went for their 1st attack late in the game , won a corner only to see Hyypia header the ball past his own keeper !!! The drab tedious soccer is what you see in Italy. Any game involving an Italian team avoid at all costs.

I never doubted for one minute that your heart wasn't in the right spot it's just that you're a bit gullible.

One important factor you forgot to mention re the non success of soccer in Australia and that is the morons that have been involved with administering it over the years.

Gullible?? maybe....... at times I admit it ;)
Administration at all levels of soccer in Australia is ****house. Thats because there is too many know alls and too many diffrent ways of thinking of the ethnic groups which gains power in there little division , then there is the other ethnic groups all too ready too undermine them and this happens all the way to the very top.

Mick Ryan , AU Blue ( Youve backed up what Ive said before - you call me a troller , but its you who always turns up to start the sheet , always. ) & IP , you views on acting & soccer are all your own- if you think its a game for the gay community so be it , the game has never taken off in Australia cause there aint really any good soccer players here( Harry Kewell is an average player IMO , He has his days though ) the NT is joke and the domestic league is a disgrace.
Mick Ryan if you dont like acting or soccer dont watch & really you shouldnt call them ****s cause I bet they pull in the chicks more than you ever have & about bashing my missus - never has & never will happen and thats for all women in general.
AU Blue your a basket case

you're an idiot

Gullible?? maybe....... at times I admit it ;)
Administration at all levels of soccer in Australia is ****house. Thats because there is too many know alls and too many diffrent ways of thinking of the ethnic groups which gains power in there little division , then there is the other ethnic groups all too ready too undermine them and this happens all the way to the very top.

Agree 100%. I was only winding you up but we agree in many ways.

Have a good day