Embers

10k Posts
West Ham, Tony Pulis hat
Been rippping it up in the WAFL for a while now. I really rate him as a player but dont really see how he will get a spot in your forward line especially when Murphy is fit.

Whats his future

Trade delist retain for backup play or what?

He's got another year to run on his contract so he won't be delisted. He played one game this year, and only got about 4 touches. I just think at the moment there are too many in front of him. But he's a good player, pretty big, and certainly doesn't mind the tough stuff. He won't be traded as they've put 3 years into him and his trade value would be nil. Hopefully for him he'll get an opportunity next year.

I have seen a little of Campell lately, and generally liked what I saw. He doesn't always take the marks he should, but he never fails to make a contest and is quite good at buttering up for the second efforts. Particular impressed by the way he crashes packs, and brings the ball to ground in front of him for the crumbers.

Looking forward, I can definitely see a spot for him. With Murphy establishing himself at FF, and Pav roaming the HF flanks, Campell could be an option to hold down the true CHF possie that many have pencilled Polly in for. While he's not as good a mark as Polly, his second efforts are probably better, and he seems to have a bit more depth to his kicking. He does need to develop his engine a bit, but another preseason will show us if he's up to it. Definitely a keeper at this stage IMO.

Remember this chap is relatively new to the game and has improved in leaps and bounds over the last year. He is a goer and might add some grunt to our forward line when required.

He has not reached his best yet due to his late start, improvement still coming.

He looked a bit slow and out of place when he played earlier this year but could be the goods later as he develops.

hi,

hees our hamil in the making if we keep him

worth the investment i think.

kanabar said:
hi,

hees our hamil in the making if we keep him

worth the investment i think.

What, a player who plays a few games a year, doesn't do much except TRY to be physical and absolutely fail when it comes to the crunch in a final?

You guys are deluded if you think Campbell is ever going to make it at AFL level.....He is certainly not the hard nut you flogs make him out to be:rolleyes:

Couldn't fight his way out of a wet paper bag:thumbsu:

Junkie said:
You guys are deluded if you think Campbell is ever going to make it at AFL level.....He is certainly not the hard nut you flogs make him out to be:rolleyes:

Couldn't fight his way out of a wet paper bag:thumbsu:

Oooohhhhh, I just love an internet tough guy..... ;)

ImperialPurple said:
Oooohhhhh, I just love an internet tough guy..... ;)

No trying to be tough Knackers, in fact I never suggested I was tough.

Just pointing out that you and others overate Campbell dramatically:rolleyes:

Junkie said:
No trying to be tough Knackers, in fact I never suggested I was tough.

Just pointing out that you and others overate Campbell dramatically:rolleyes:

Agreed.

I see alot of West Perth and was very suprised when CC came out and started talking Campbell up as the tough enforcer type. I havent seen anything like that. He is hard but no harder than 80% of players on AFL lists. I just thought it was a funny thing to say before a guy makes his debut. Normally you try and keep the lid on things, let alone make statements which are stretching the truth alittle.

I saw him in the pre-season game at freo oval against port power. He did impress me in that game, he played a good game and was very aggressive at the ball. He did move really well in that game, reminded me a little of wayne carey. Has a really good overhead mark and knows how to take a hanger.

If he does play for us more in the future, I think it is as a forward pocket / Spare Ruckman.

Sorry guys but I reckon he will struggle.

Murphy, Polak and Longmuir are enough tall forwards - all have one or two outstanding qualities and experience under the belt. Medhurst would also be vying for the same forward pocket spot, and an in-form Medhurst is a lot better than Campbell.

Then there is Drum, who was playing well up forward before he was injured and significantly is faster and very skillful - I think he will cement his place there next season as that utility tallish forward/HFF.

docker_johnno said:
Mr Brent,

you would know campbell better than CC?

get a grip mate.

Firstly, I would be interested to know how many West Perth games CC has seen, let alone live.

Secondly, even if CC honestly thought Campbell was as tough as he said, I think it was a big call to make such a big deal about it. It basically made the headline, now all Docker supporters have this notion of him being some gorilla man monster. Most coaches go with the line "We will give the kid a run and see how he goes". CC went with "Adam is super hard at it, abit of an enforcer type" (something along those lines). He would have been better off playing it safe, and letting the supporters decide if he was 'tough'.

Ysaye said:
Murphy, Polak and Longmuir are enough tall forwards - all have one or two outstanding qualities and experience under the belt. Medhurst would also be vying for the same forward pocket spot, and an in-form Medhurst is a lot better than Campbell.

Then there is Drum, who was playing well up forward before he was injured and significantly is faster and very skillful - I think he will cement his place there next season as that utility tallish forward/HFF.

Pavlich?

and dont forget the 209 cm ruckman were grooming another tall forward in the making.

kanabar said:
and dont forget the 209 cm ruckman were grooming another tall forward in the making.

Warnock is looking good, but will spend at least another season at the Garlic Munchers scoffing hamburgers before Freo seriously look at giving him a go at the top level.

He has exceeded my expectations of a first year stick ruckman / forward.

I actually think he was only 205cm when last listed, but then he may have stretched further.

Re Warnock, I would think that he would get an opportunity to play an AFL game next year. Not to become a regular, but to get a taste of it. There is always a chance that one of Sandilands or Longmuir may go down with an injury, and Warnock is the back-up. An early game off the bench or in a forward pocket would be a good taster in case such a scenario occured.