Opinion Adam Goodes

Jun 4, 2008
Kardinya
I've gotta say, I'm really enjoying seeing the media pundits getting stuck into the West Coast Eagles supporters for being the mean-hearted, small-minded, hanging mob that they collectively are. I had a quick read of the West Coast board on the subject & the majority of posters fully support the booing after the event.

Whether or not you think Goodes is full of himself is hardly grounds for booing the bloke. You've got to admit that a player who has played as long as he has, in just about every position including ruck, & has won 2 Brownlows, deserves some respect. To me, the only reason for booing a player is where they have previously done or said something that injures or insults your club (eg. Boomer Harvey lying to get Crowley suspended).

The West Coast crowd have a nasty, sheep like herd mentality which not only targets unwitting opposition players like Goodes & Jobe Watson, but also against their own - Chris Judd & Tom Swift spring to mind.

They think they're a classy western suburbs based outfit associated with the top end of town, but in actual fact, as a supporter base they are no better than the often targeted supporters of Richmond & Collingwood.

I've gotta say, I'm really enjoying seeing the media pundits getting stuck into the West Coast Eagles supporters for being the mean-hearted, small-minded, hanging mob that they collectively are. I had a quick read of the West Coast board on the subject & the majority of posters fully support the booing after the event.

Whether or not you think Goodes is full of himself is hardly grounds for booing the bloke. You've got to admit that a player who has played as long as he has, in just about every position including ruck, & has won 2 Brownlows, deserves some respect. To me, the only reason for booing a player is where they have previously done or said something that injures or insults your club (eg. Boomer Harvey lying to get Crowley suspended).

The West Coast crowd have a nasty, sheep like herd mentality which not only targets unwitting opposition players like Goodes & Jobe Watson, but also against their own - Chris Judd & Tom Swift spring to mind.

They think they're a classy western suburbs based outfit associated with the top end of town, but in actual fact, as a supporter base they are no better than the often targeted supporters of Richmond & Collingwood.

And hasn't the fact that they will finish top 4 and play finals for the first time in 3 years really brought out the quality and class that goes with being a fair-weathered supporter that has jumped aboard their bandwagon juggernaut into the finals. That game was disgrace to watch, so well done to Priddis and Simpson for calling it unacceptable crowd behaviour too.

I don't think Lewis Jetta will be coming anywhere near the Eagles when he is out of contract now.

Whether or not you think Goodes is full of himself is hardly grounds for booing the bloke.

By that token we shouldn't boo Boomer for being a c***. We shouldn't boo Judd for being a dirty prick. Fans can boo whoever they want for whatever they want without f***wits in the media getting on their moral high horse. I would have booed him just to piss those people off. As much as I hate Eagles supporters, they had every right to boo him if they wanted.

There are people who boo Goodes because he is a pratt. There are people who boo Goodes because he is seen as a recipient of and spokesperson for "aboriginal privilege". So unless you think it's fine to be seen as supporting the latter don't do the former.

Even though your reasons may be genuine by joining in you are giving tacit approval to the racial overtones of the booing.

The Goodes issue has outgrown the pantomime booing that Boomer, Crowley et al get.

There are people who boo Goodes because he is a pratt. There are people who boo Goodes because he is seen as a recipient of and spokesperson for "aboriginal privilege". So unless you think it's fine to be seen as supporting the latter don't do the former.

Even though your reasons may be genuine by joining in you are giving tacit approval to the racial overtones of the booing.

The Goodes issue has outgrown the pantomime booing that Boomer, Crowley et al get.
Very well said.

Totally this.

I reckon an element of our club supporters would have done exactly the same as the Eagles crowd though. :(

I've sledged the likes of Boomer, Selwood, and Goodes before, for all their various antics. But the booing that Goodes receives overall is pretty over the top now. Yeah he's done some average stuff, but he's hardly a villain.

Yup. You don't get to 300-odd games without doing a few questionable things and making a few enemies

But the level of booing Goodes cops now is tiresome. I still don't think the majority of it is racist - for the most part it's just boos and there would be a few who would go too far and I hope we don't have many within our ranks who would (every club has them)

Totally this.

I reckon an element of our club supporters would have done exactly the same as the Eagles crowd though. :(
Oh for sure. And I can't think of one thing Goodes has done against Freo that would justify it. Nor most clubs. The only possible enmity I can think of is Port supporters and perhaps Essendon supporters.

The "because he's a flog" argument (more commonly typed "cos his a flog") doesn't really stand to reason. He's not even in the top 20 flogs in footy. If Goodes deserves booing for every possession, then Steve Johnson should be booed for every breath, on and off the field.

The timing is too coincidental for the "his just a flog" excuse. We all know when it started in earnest. Goodes is a bit of a flog, but is his floginess proportional to the level of booing and abuse he cops? As clogged said I can think of at least 20 more worthy of booing based solely on their flogitude.

I can think of 3 Hawks midfielders

Nope, please enlighten me.

So much to cover...

Basically defenders and attackers of the eagles home crowd.

A few people calling in saying that they are from other states and they reckon WC home crowd are the worst.. worse than Collingwood etc.

A few of callers have pointed out it wasn't as bad as when they booed Watson.

Freo got mentioned as booing loud (out of line?) the game Boomber Harvey played after the whole 1000 pinches Crowley incident

A Indigenous bloke is on the line at the moment stating (paraphrasing as I listen) that the racism is always subtle and thereabouts on the field/some portions of the crowd anyways.
Karl has mentioned that Goodes hasn't gone about things the best way (the war dance protest)

Some caller has questioned is the spear dance the same as throwing a bird at the crowd.

The subject is absolutely dominating nearly all calls.

A lot of discussion points.

Media logic - Ballantyne and Crowley get booed and it's funny and fine. Watson gets booed and it's simply not acceptable and disrespectful. Goodes gets booed and it apparently just has to be racist, completely ignore the fact that hes a sniper, it just has to be racism :drunk:
If it's a player the media loves it's not acceptable, but if it's Ballas/Crowley/Milne then it's hilarious and fine.

Media logic - Ballantyne and Crowley get booed and it's funny and fine. Watson gets booed and it's simply not acceptable and disrespectful. Goodes gets booed and it apparently just has to be racist, completely ignore the fact that hes a sniper, it just has to be racism :drunk:
If it's a player the media loves it's not acceptable, but if it's Ballas/Crowley/Milne then it's hilarious and fine.
Name one Freo player Goodes has "sniped".

As there is nobody on the list then there should be no booing.

Name an Eagle Goodes has sniped. One rough conduct charge in 2008. There are not sly punches ala Luke Hodge. No late spoils or dropping knees. While an unpleasant stager he is a minor part when it comes to sniping.

And it's now out there. The Indigenous players see booing Goodes as supporting racism. While you may not like Goodes deciding to boo him now is showing you have no respect for the Indigenous footballers.

So how many here would still boo Goodes the staging pillock. I know i won't.

Name one Freo player Goodes has "sniped".

As there is nobody on the list then there should be no booing.

Name an Eagle Goodes has sniped. One rough conduct charge in 2008. There are not sly punches ala Luke Hodge. No late spoils or dropping knees. While an unpleasant stager he is a minor part when it comes to sniping.

And it's now out there. The Indigenous players see booing Goodes as supporting racism. While you may not like Goodes deciding to boo him now is showing you have no respect for the Indigenous footballers.
So how many here would still boo Goodes the staging pillock. I know i won't.

Are you suggesting that at me personally, or all the people that boo? Please answer that question!

The teams of players he HAS sniped is completely irrelevant. Hes been a dirty sniper for years and should of been booed for that years ago. I thought Baker was a dirty dog before he put down Farmer. How many times has he gotten away with it, oh just every single time. I really couldn't give a stuff if Indigenous players think it's racist, do you see other Indigenous players getting booed? No? People are so stupid, they think everything is racist, Goodes would be getting booed regardless of skin tone, people plain and simply don't like him because hes a w***er. Half the people booing him are doing it because others are doing it, they don't even know why they're doing it. It has nothing in the slightest to do with racism, that's just media 2015 logic that complete morons continue to buy into. The media have made this a billion times worst by talking about it, all it's done is add fuel to the fire and reminds people that when Sydney is in town, Goodes will be out there. If we play Sydney in Perth, I'll have no problem if does or doesn't get booed, because the blokes a disgusting sniper, no racism in that at all. Although I get the feeling you're going to somehow call me a racist from all that.

Goodes gets booed because of his off-field behaviour, and it's every club in the competition that boos him, not just West Coast.

It's just been more noticeable this week because West Coast supporters are the Harlem Globetrotters of booing.

Ok then.

Which other AFL players have come out and made political statements that the majority of the country disagree with in the last, say, 10 years? Which other AFL player thinks they are important enough that they should recommend the re-writing of the Australian constitution?

There's nothing worse than sportspeople and musicians who spend all their time telling everyone their political views - but at least in the case of musicians, they can be reasonably assured that most of their fans will agree with them. But athletes have to realise that they are playing to a far more conservative audience, and if you want to be a left-wing politician, the smart thing to do is wait until you retire.

If Goodes didn't want to people to boo them then he shouldn't go around making extremely controversial political statements, end of.

Ok then.

Which other AFL players have come out and made political statements that the majority of the country disagree with in the last, say, 10 years? Which other AFL player thinks they are important enough that they should recommend the re-writing of the Australian constitution?

There's nothing worse than sportspeople and musicians who spend all their time telling everyone their political views - but at least in the case of musicians, they can be reasonably assured that most of their fans will agree with them. But athletes have to realise that they are playing to a far more conservative audience, and if you want to be a left-wing politician, the smart thing to do is wait until you retire.

If Goodes didn't want to people to boo them then he shouldn't go around making extremely controversial political statements, end of.

Reckon Casius Clay / Mohumad Ali made a few political statements in his time. Started by throwing his gold medal into the river, if Goodes wants to represent the aboriginal people he is quite entitled to.
Which poll do you get the majority of Australian from, I'm not even certain most in the afl would not agree with him. The mans won two Brownlows ,two premierships and has been a fantastic player, he is entitled to make a statement for his people.
By the way Mohumad is loved by one and all now.

Who has Goodes sniped?

He slid feet first a few times. He has played for frees a few times.

I think him being named Australian of the year in front of other people like Shane Crawford ruffled a few feathers.

I didn't mind the Hawks booing him but now it has got to the point where everyone club is doing it, and it is being driven by a racist small minority.

Titus O'Rielly saying it much better than I can. :)

http://titusoreily.com/the-monday-knee-jerk-reaction-afl-round-seventeen/

I get the Goodes thing, he does stage occasionally but there has been a heap of players that do that and even though they occasionally get booed, this is next level stuff.

The other problem is that why some people do it for what may be ‘pure’ intentions, there are an awful lot of racists overtones mixing in with this. That’s never a good sign.

It’s like if you have a long held opinion and then suddenly Brian Taylor starts saying the same thing. You start questioning your own thinking on the topic and you definitely stop expressing it publicly.

I’m not trying to be preachy, I’m just saying be careful who you stand near in life, it means people sometime confuse you for something you’re not.

The difference is that Ali didn't have a cry about it when people booed him. And they did Boo him. Especially after he refused the draft.

Well he got that right to. Just shows people will look back in time and Goodes will be correct as well.
You could have posted my whole post but it does not go well with the wrest of your point of view, that no sports people make stands for what they believe.

Well he got that right to. Just shows people will look back in time and Goodes will be correct as well.
You could have posted my whole post but it does not go well with the wrest of your point of view, that no sports people make stands for what they believe.

I could have posted your whole post, but I'm not really required to respond to each and every one of your points if I don't feel like it.

Personally I think Goodes is hard done by on the MCG front. He was well within his rights to point out the spectator yelling abuse at him. It's not Goodes' fault that the security and police massively overreacted and ended up depriving a 13 year old girl of her liberty. That is the fault of the Victorian police force. Goodes was just doing what AFL players had been instructed to do in such an instance.

It's really his political grandstanding that gets him booed IMO. Being presented an Award on Australia Day and then shitting all over the concept of Australia day is not really something that appeals to most AFL fans. I think you'll find a lot more AFL fans prefer Australia day to Invasion day.

At the end of the day though, if you have strong political opinions and express them publicly, there are going to be people who disagree with it, no matter which way you lean. Imagine if Sam Newman was still playing after all the stupid things he's said? Do you think he'd get booed? Do you think it would be racist if he did?

Goodes is entitled to his opinion, but likewise people are allowed to express their disagreement with said opinion. And in a football stadium, booing is pretty much the only way they can express that. It's not like they can hold up a well-reasoned counter-argument on a whiteboard. Most AFL fans don't get the benefit of a national stage in which to voice their opinion on politics like Adam Goodes has had the benefit of on multiple occasions. They only get to boo people they don't like.