Opinion Adam Goodes

I could have posted your whole post, but I'm not really required to respond to each and every one of your points if I don't feel like it.

Personally I think Goodes is hard done by on the MCG front. He was well within his rights to point out the spectator yelling abuse at him. It's not Goodes' fault that the security and police massively overreacted and ended up depriving a 13 year old girl of her liberty. That is the fault of the Victorian police force. Goodes was just doing what AFL players had been instructed to do in such an instance.

It's really his political grandstanding that gets him booed IMO. Being presented an Award on Australia Day and then shitting all over the concept of Australia day is not really something that appeals to most AFL fans. I think you'll find a lot more AFL fans prefer Australia day to Invasion day.

At the end of the day though, if you have strong political opinions and express them publicly, there are going to be people who disagree with it, no matter which way you lean. Imagine if Sam Newman was still playing after all the stupid things he's said? Do you think he'd get booed? Do you think it would be racist if he did?

Goodes is entitled to his opinion, but likewise people are allowed to express their disagreement with said opinion. And in a football stadium, booing is pretty much the only way they can express that. It's not like they can hold up a well-reasoned counter-argument on a whiteboard. Most AFL fans don't get the benefit of a national stage in which to voice their opinion on politics like Adam Goodes has had the benefit of on multiple occasions. They only get to boo people they don't like.

Each and all to there opinions, and like sheep the uneducated will follow, it takes people of character to make a stand, Goodes has done that.

Each and all to there opinions

There's the rub though. It seems is only one person is allowed to have an opinion: Adam Goodes. People expressing disagreement with his opinion are being vilified by the AFL to the point where they are talking about ejecting people for it.

The people that were ejected on Sunday were shouting out racist abuse towards him though. The AFL won't be able to eject people just for booing but for racism, that's entirely different.

The AFL, Sydney Swans and the AFLPA have all said this week that they consider anyone booing Goodes to be racist, so it can't be too far away.

Telling him to go back to the zoo is inappropriate.

I don't like Goodes, never have and never will.

But honestly.......... anyone making a "zoo" comment towards him deserves what they get for stupidity alone.

Is it that hard for people not to boo someone? If Goodes believes there are racial connotations to it then why would you boo, if its because he is a "flog" then why not Dustin Martin/Dane Swan and many others each week? If he snipes someone in a game then boo your heart out that day, but getting booed every week is plainly racially based.

Just don't do it, its really ****ing simple.

Are you suggesting that at me personally, or all the people that boo? Please answer that question!
if you were to boo Goodes at the next game then yes.

There is an element at games that boo Goodes because he is indigenous Australian who doesn't know his place. It is quite clear now that booing him is providing support to those views. You have a choice to reject those views. You may think he's a dirty sniper. You may think he should he booed. Fair enough your choice. But if you do even though it may not be your intention those actions throw you hat in with the rascist element and will be branded as one.

if you were to boo Goodes at the next game then yes.

There is an element at games that boo Goodes because he is indigenous Australian who doesn't know his place. It is quite clear now that booing him is providing support to those views. You have a choice to reject those views. You may think he's a dirty sniper. You may think he should he booed. Fair enough your choice. But if you do even though it may not be your intention those actions throw you hat in with the rascist element and will be branded as one.
If I were to boo Sam Mitchell, would I be racist against white people? I don't boo, but if I were to boo Goodes that in no way makes me a racist person. Believe it or not, you're allowed to dislike someone without racism being involved. We're going to agree to disagree. Don't accuse me of being racist either, I wont accept that, especially when you don't even know me personally!

No, but you're willing to allow yourself to be counted among unthinking morons and cowards. If you're happy with that, I don't have to know you personally.

You're just like this bloke:

The Swans’ press conference on Tuesday comes after it was revealed an Eagles fan booted from Sunday’s clash allegedly told Goodes to “get back to the zoo”. He denied the comment was racist.

The fan refused to be named, but says the comment was simply “off-the-cuff banter” and believes the outrage surrounding Goodes’ treatment is “political correctness gone mad”.

The man told The West Australian that the comment was made in the second quarter, with security alerted via Domain Stadium’s text-in line.

He was later ejected, as was another fan from the other side of the stadium.

“It was a flippant, off-the-cuff remark and the players would not have heard it for all the booing and banter coming from the crowd,” he told The West Australian.

“The whole world has gone too politically correct. It was just part of the banter of the game.

“I was not leaning over the fence taunting anyone. There was swearing in the crowd that was much more offensive than what I said.

“But I was the one humiliated by the over-the-top security, ordered out of my seat, spoken to like I was a criminal.

“Then I was questioned by police on the way out.”

No, but you're willing to allow yourself to be counted among unthinking morons and cowards. If you're happy with that, I don't have to know you personally.

You're just like this bloke:
So because I get why some people boo him, without doing it myself, I'm just like an idiot who said 'get back to the zoo'? No, just no. So the majority of fans are 'morons, cowards and racist people?'

The Goodes issue has become convenient camouflage for those who wish to indulge in racism. The events at the MCG and his AOTY award have given cover for those who wish to yell abusive and racist things to an aboriginal man and have what they said lost in the crowd. "I boo but because I think he's a flog" is a lie. I'm sure the bloke who refuses to give his name to the papers is saying the same thing on here right now.

A footballer doesn't get booed for every possession unless he's done something especially egregious. But even then, there's been nothing like this. Carey never got booed like this, nor did Hall, nor did Matthews. Gary Ablett Senior is still revered in footy circles despite killing a young woman. Dane Swan gave a man brain damage. All did worse on and off the field.

So what has Goodes done?

The Goodes issue has become convenient camouflage for those who wish to indulge in racism. The events at the MCG and his AOTY award have given cover for those who wish to yell abusive and racist things to an aboriginal man and have what they said lost in the crowd. "I boo but because I think he's a flog" is a lie. I'm sure the bloke who refuses to give his name to the papers is saying the same thing on here right now.

A footballer doesn't get booed for every possession unless he's done something especially egregious. But even then, there's been nothing like this. Carey never got booed like this, nor did Hall, nor did Matthews. Gary Ablett Senior is still revered in footy circles despite killing a young woman. Dane Swan gave a man brain damage. All did worse on and off the field.

So what has Goodes done?
It's actually not a lie, people truly believe he is a flog. It started off being a few people, but then it gathered momentum, now people boo because other people think hes a flog. There are so many threads and people you can talk too in real life that would agree 100% with that. We're not going to agree on anything here mate and taking personal shots for no reason is uncalled for, especially when I actually like you as a poster. Why don't we just agree we share different views on this topic and move on?

WTF is a flog? Seriously. It's a term people are hiding behind. People don't have to answer for "I fink his a flog" because it's nebulous. They can boo him to their hearts content, yell out "go back to the zoo", have it lost in the crowd, then tell everyone they boo him because they just don't like him. And then tell everyone that they don't boo *insert black man's name* because they're not racist. Of course not. If you booed Lewis Jetta you'd have no "I fink his a flog" to hide behind (although now people do).

The worst thing he has done in footy is slide in with the knees a couple of times and feign for free kicks. That's a low bar for floggishness - why didn't people throw garbage at Wayne Carey? People may truly believe he's a flog, but to me that's just code for "I don't like political aborigines".

Players who I'd boo before I'd boo Goodes if I didn't think booing was stupid:
J. Riewoldt - sook
Cotchin - sniping
Hodge - repeat sniper
Mitchell - as above
Chicken-wing bros Selwood & Rioli
Franklin - bully
S. Johnson - no explanation needed
Hurley - as above
Gibbs - sniping
...and so on.
But Goodes? Hmmm, makes you wonder why?

Goodes gets booed because of his off-field behaviour, and it's every club in the competition that boos him, not just West Coast. It's just been more noticeable this week because West Coast supporters are the Harlem Globetrotters of booing.

I agree that WCE are the biggest boo-ers & in my opinion, meanest spirited supporter crowd in the AFL. You'd think that having that very full trophy cabinet they always boast about would make them a bit happier & generally nicer than they are. Just shows that nothing creates character like adversity.

As for Goodes being boo-ed because of his off-field behaviour - do you really think that's all it is? Harry O'Brien is as big a pontificating preacher as Goodes, but crowds don't boo him. I have a theory that a lot of the people booing Goodes would have been the same ones I recall begrudging Cathy Freeman getting Australian of the Year, saying it was political correctness gone mad.

I agree that WCE are the biggest boo-ers & in my opinion, meanest spirited supporter crowd in the AFL. You'd think that having that very full trophy cabinet they always boast about would make them a bit happier & generally nicer than they are. Just shows that nothing creates character like adversity.

Totally agree - I used to work ground staff for both Freo and WC games and the WC crowd is smug, entitled, and grumpy. It got to the point that I dreaded working at WC games.

As for booing Goodes, I reckon there are about three types of people who boo him:
  1. People that genuinely don't like his staging etc (although this may be more about justification and rationalisation than reality);
  2. Sheep who do it because others are doing it; and,
  3. Racists.
The problem with being part of Group 1 (even if 100% genuine) is you are standing next to / assisting / shielding / condoning Group 3.

And being part of Group 2, geeezzz - it's just ignorant and foolish.

WTF is a flog? Seriously. It's a term people are hiding behind. People don't have to answer for "I fink his a flog" because it's nebulous. They can boo him to their hearts content, yell out "go back to the zoo", have it lost in the crowd, then tell everyone they boo him because they just don't like him. And then tell everyone that they don't boo *insert black man's name* because they're not racist. Of course not. If you booed Lewis Jetta you'd have no "I fink his a flog" to hide behind (although now people do).

The worst thing he has done in footy is slide in with the knees a couple of times and feign for free kicks. That's a low bar for floggishness - why didn't people throw garbage at Wayne Carey? People may truly believe he's a flog, but to me that's just code for "I don't like political aborigines".

"Why don't you like Adam Goodes?" "Because he's a flog" "why's that?" "Cause he's drawing attention to himself and having opinions and making noise and shit. What about my feels? He can't tell me things about white Australia and that's all history and nothing to do with me.,.and why doesn't he just shut up" Boooo

Out of curiosity, is anyone old enough to remember the reaction to Nicky Winmar's display of pride in his skin colour? I remember the act, and it is now folklore but I can't for the life of me remember Nicky being treated the way Adam Goodes is.

Does that mean we are less tolerant, more racist than we were 20 years ago?

Or did we consider Winmar's protest more "acceptable" than the stand(s) Goodes has taken.

Not being provocative, just interested in other people's views.

I bear no animosity towards Goodes, there have been times when he has done something on the field that has pissed me off, but as others have pointed out nothing like Harvey, Liberatore or a few others I could name. Looking at you "cheap shot" Mitchell.

Sam Mitchell is far more deserving of a boo.

When you have won 2 Brownlows, multiple flags, Australian of the Year* and have played a demanding sport at an elite level for as long as he has, then sure, cast the first stone. Unless you know him personally or have had some interaction with him to base your 'flog' comments on, stfu and crawl back into the bogan rednecked hole you came from.

Out of curiosity, is anyone old enough to remember the reaction to Nicky Winmar's display of pride in his skin colour? I remember the act, and it is now folklore but I can't for the life of me remember Nicky being treated the way Adam Goodes is.

Or did we consider Winmar's protest more "acceptable" than the stand(s) Goodes has taken.

I bear no animosity towards Goodes, there have been times when he has done something on the field that has pissed me off, but as others have pointed out nothing like Harvey, Liberatore or a few others I could name. Looking at you "cheap shot" Mitchell.

I am old enough to remember, but I remember it being presented as confined to Collingwood fans, so it was easier for everyone to sympathise with Winmar. McAllister's (Eddie mark 1) comments about aboriginal people; something like "they should behave like white people" have probably mixed up my memories.

Racist comments were distasteful to most people I knew, but also very commonplace and racist jokes were very widespread, and excused by most as being just a joke. Chris Lewis copped a huge amount of abuse from Victorians; players and crowds apparently. After Winmar's shirt lift, I remember that other players and public figures took up the fight and Winmar stayed quiet about it. There was also leadership from the AFL at the time. Perhaps having a widespread reaction rather than a focus on a single public figure (the action yes, but not the person) helped get a positive reaction from the public.

I think Jetta's reaction was excellent. I would be very proud if Fremantle players go the spear throw at the Eagles cheer squad in a few weeks time. Make the response to race inspired booing as widespread as possible. In fact, it would be great if Suns players this weekend and Cyril the week after do the same thing. Those booing Eagles fans need to understand the shame they have brought on the game.

Yes, I believe we are. Our society has been moving further and further to the right for a long time now. Our collective racism hides behind 'fear of terrorism' (ergo Muslims in general), but in reality it's more an intolerance of any non-whites. It's horrible.

I've haven't liked Goodes ever since he kicked eight goals on Chris Mayne in his first year and strutted around like it was the greatest game ever played, but that was more frustration at a close loss (so many in 2008) than any true dislike of him.